We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely art deco experience near Magnificent Mile” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   505 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654 (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 15%
Ranked #8 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersSilver level
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
“lovely art deco experience near Magnificent Mile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

Lovely modern art deco decor hotel (new) very close to Magnificent Mile. Spacious rooms with very clearn modern baths and very comfortable beds. Has that special touch vibe of Kimpton hotels--sumptuous towels, animal print terry robes, free wine tasting happy hour. Super friendly yet sophisticated service; conceriege was very helpful in identifying eating, directions, etc.. Did not eat in restaurant but specialty cocktails were great. Great spot to view 2K point of Chicago marathon.

Somewhat small lobby but large sitting room adjacent lobby with Chicago art books to brows through.

Not a bargain hotel but great value for the atmosphere.

Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,343
    371
    49
    13
    5
See reviews for
397
658
93
323
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
136 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

Brilliant hotel with attractive rooms, modern decor, greta fitness center (including rowing machine). Expensive but will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

I booked at the Palomar because of the great reviews I saw online. Unfortunately, the trip did not live up to expectations. A few days before the trip, I received an email from the concierge asking us whether we were celebrating anything special and if we needed any services (e.g. restaurant reservations, etc.) I responded that I was with my best friend celebrating our mutual 40th birthdays and that we would like reservations at a particular restaurant. I did not hear back before my arrival but assumed that something would be communicated when checking in. At check in, we were told that we could have a corner room on the 5th floor (with the benefits of windows on both sides of the room) or a room higher up. We chose the room with more windows and were disappointed when we arrived on the 5th floor to see that it was the same floor as the conference center where an event had taken place earlier in the day - something that we were not informed of. The floor was not clean, with linens, empty glasses, etc. strewn about.. We then called down to the front desk to ask about our reservations to the requested resaurant to learn that there was nothing on record regarding our request. Why send such an email if it will just be ignored? The room was indeed on the corner, but not with enough windows to make up for the fact that we shared it with a conference floor, and there were cigarette butts and a dirty rag on the ledge outside our room door. To make matters worse, there was not an actual bathroom door, but a sliding door to the bathroom, which did not shut all the way. OK because we were best friends, but would have been most uncomforable if I had been with a significant other. We visited the bar downstairs (Sable) for a drink, and had a very unpleasant bartender - a rude bald man with a beard who basically ignored us. Luckily, a nice female bartender took pity on us and took our order. In short, I was not impressed with my stay at the Palomar which was unfortunate because I have had such great experiences with the hotel in San Francisco and Kimpton hotels in general.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
open2travel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

Beautiful brand new boutique hotel. Make sure to sign up for Kimpton Hotel's "In Touch" Program online before your stay---you'll get free wifi and ten dollars worth of snacks from the minibar.

Standard rooms are pretty small because they contain 2 queen beds...I really don't know where they would have set up a massage table if I had ordered one.

Also, the bathroom doors are right off the room and do not close fully in the standard queen room, but they are working on the problem. It's already fixed in the more expensive rooms, so before you go find out if they fixed the problem (if you care about your privacy).

Staff is amazing, gym open 24 hours. Fast elevators and clean rooms. An easy walk to lots of attractions and shopping.

All in all, it was a great trip and the hotel is really superb, with small customer service touches that make you feel welcome.

P.S.---hotel parking is pricey, so think twice before renting a car, or get a special hotel deal of room & parking together.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indy, IN
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

From the moment we arrived at the hotel, I knew this would be a fantastic trip. We were tired from the drive and just wanted to valet our car (at $50 a night) just so we wouldn't have to deal with Chicago traffic and trying to find a cheaper place to park. The valet totally surprised me. He asked if we would be needing our car during our stay. I told him no. He then suggested we park literally across the street for only $25 a night. How cool is that?! That type of service continued throughout our 2 night stay. The front desk attendants directed us to the complimentary Arnold Palmers that afternoon and the complimentary wine hour around 5:00 p.m. Mark, our concierge, was incredibly helpful with advanced tickets, directions, suggestions, etc. Overall fantastic experience and would definitely recommend this hotel to all of my friends and colleagues.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vegas, nv
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

Nice, clean hotel right in the middle of downtown. Right across the street from the red line Grand Station. Everyone from the front desk to the valet attendants were extremely friendly and helpful everytime we walked in or out of the hotel. We asked to change room types in the middle of the stay due to having an extra 2 people staying with us and they were able to switch our room from a king bed to a 2 queen bed room. Great evening reception with complimentary wine and lemonade. They always had bottled water on your way out the door in the morning along with the usual coffee (iced cofee too), and tea. The only thing I would change about the hotel is the bathroom door. It is a sliding door like the kind on a bedroom closet. It has a space on each side of the door which takes away some privacy. I would definitely stay here again for a good price.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

We have stayed at the Palomar on three occasions since it opened in April and can't wait to go back again. The rooms are large, customer service is outstanding and employees make an effort to call you by your name. Hotel is very pet friendly. This has become our favorite Chicago hotel!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 505 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palomar is a luxury, boutique hotel in Chicago's River North surrounded by the city's top attractions, restaurants & destinations. Guestrooms offer stunning contemporary decor and hotel guests enjoy the 17th floor pool & terrace with workout facilities. Guests also delight in the Sable Kitchen & Bar featuring new American cuisine, one of the city's hottest bars and a popular weekend brunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.