We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another wonderful Chicago Kimpton Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   505 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654 (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 15%
Ranked #8 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersSilver level
Portsmouth, Ohio
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Another wonderful Chicago Kimpton Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2010

My husband and I had stayed at Kimpton's Hotel Monaco (loved it btw) last year, so we thought we'd try out the new Kimpton in town this trip. We loved our stay at Palomar.
First, Rachel, at the front desk was very kind and helpful, I give her and A+ for service. On that same note, everyone at the front desk was always kind and very friendly when we stopped by or called down for anything.
Our room was fantastic! We had a suite. The soaking tub was wonderful for relaxing after a long day exploring the city. The bed was super comfy. Our only negative comment would be if you are a very light sleeper be a little weary because you are in the middle of downtown chicago and the city can be a bit noisy at night (there is a fire station not too many blocks away). We had no trouble sleeping but it was noisy during the day, so I imagine it could be at night as well.
One afternoon we went down to Sable for an appetizer and drinks late one afternoon and were very happy with the food. We had the pork belly flatbread and highly recommend it.
Overall we highly recommend Hotel Palomar to anyone who wants a relaxing and enjoyable place to stay. It is near everything downtown and couldn't provide a better experience.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,343
    371
    49
    13
    5
See reviews for
397
658
93
323
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2010

I am a fan of the Kimpton Properties. They are a top notch company. Their staff is experienced, cordial and helpful. Their hotels are meticulously clean and the bedding, unfortunately, makes you want to sleep in on vacation! The hotel is steps to the metro and 1 block to the bus.
I would recommend this hotel highly.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, ON
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2010

What an amazing experience - the Bell Man/Door man "D" was the best there is. All the staff at this new Kimpton hotel were top notch. We loved the wine reception in the evening. Loved the robes and bath products. The hotel is closely situated to the Magnificant Mile and many restaurants. The restaurant was great and quick for breakast. Will definitely return!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Absecon, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

What a wonderful experience at the Hotel Palomar this past weekend! My daughter and I visited Chicago for the first time, and stayed at the newly opened Hotel Palomar, and we are smitten with both.
The location is great, blocks from the Ford Theater, where we saw Billy Eliot, a couple more blocks to Millenium park.
All the staff truly seemed happy to be working at this new stylish Kimpton hotel. As a new convert to the Kimpton boutique experience, I was impressed with the chilled water bottles in the copper ice bucket for guests on their way out. We appreciated the complimentary umbrellas for guests which were in umbrella stands by the front door.
The zebra/ leopard striped bathrobes were as comfy as they are stylish. The slippers were not used (ewwwww)
The rooms were plush, on the small side (double queen). Upscale designs, especially the lighted cabinets holding the flat screen TV.
Did not like the sliding door for the bathroom, which had about a one inch gap, not so great for privacy. Strange design.

I must compliment Jason, from the front desk, who went out of his way to assist me in my apartment hunting for my son. He printed out several pages of information, and maps, and highlighted pertinent details. Jason, it's people like you, who really made our Hotel Palomar stay so amazing.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, IN
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

My wife and I traveled with our three elementary-school-aged children for Spring Break. We ended up at the Palomar because of the excellent "grand opening" rates which allowed us to book a suite rather than two separate rooms.

Simply put: we had a wonderful stay. From the bellman to the room service waiter, every member of the staff was exceedingly kind, courteous, and worked hard to please. Chic "boutique hotels" can be a bit intimidating for families, especially those with small children, but everyone made us feel like we were the "coolest" of their "cool" guests.

The suite room was spotless, hip-ly furnished, and huge. The similarly ample bath with marble shower and jetted soaking tub was fantastic. We ate breakfast at the hotel restaurant, and again, the staff was incredibly friendly and accommodating, especially our waiter. The food was excellent. We ate other meals out, as the hotel is located in the middle of some of the best restaurant territory in Chicago.

There were some "grand opening" glitches, that really do not merit mention. The fire extinguishers were still wore their the construction dust covers. Construction dust and dirt bubbled up in the soaking tub (at least I hope it was construction dust!) Room service brought meals without any silverware. There were no pillows or blankets for the kids' pull-out bed. All of these problems were quickly and efficiently remedied with a call to the reception desk.

All in all, we will definitely consider returning to the Palomar at our next opportunity.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

We grabbed the introductory rate of $89 for a night here, and felt like we were the smartest people in Chicago. The hotel is in a great location, right next to the Red Line, and an easy walk to Michigan Avenue. The staff was extremely helpful. Printed our boarding passes for us. They are still getting up and running, making sure TVs work, etc. The room was comfortable. One thing to note: the bathroom door is a sliding one, and leaves a small opening just big enough for kids to annoy one another.... Our kids enjoyed the pool, but I imagine it might get crowded quickly once the hotel fills up. Night views from the rooftop terrace were beautiful. Evening wine, morning coffee, daytime jellybeans in the lobby were all nice touches. Do join the Kimpton rewards program before you go for the free wireless and complimentary items from the minibar. We would like to come back again, but it may be out of our price range now....

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2010

I spent one night in Chicago at the end of a busineess trip, on my one dime. When in DC, I usually stay at either the Hotel Palomar (always great) or the Hotel Medera (Getting very tired), so I thought I'd check out the brand new Hotel Palomar in Chicago. The hotel just opened two week ago and is still in its soft opening. I grabbed a chance to stay for $107! WOW waht a deal! It was worth $250!

The lobby is an amazingly confortable and chic place of course. It is not big, but a spot to relax and read coffee table books and enjoy a glass of wine. The Staff was young and full of energy, and committed to my satisfaction. The highlight was the room. BIG and furnished comfortably with attention to details like lighting and queen sized beds.

Only a couple of negitives. One, my room looked into another building and ATT service was not available (booster?) and second, the smoking area is outside the front door and you have to walk thru a crowd of smokers to get in the door ( move it! ) .

Overall a 10!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 505 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palomar is a luxury, boutique hotel in Chicago's River North surrounded by the city's top attractions, restaurants & destinations. Guestrooms offer stunning contemporary decor and hotel guests enjoy the 17th floor pool & terrace with workout facilities. Guests also delight in the Sable Kitchen & Bar featuring new American cuisine, one of the city's hottest bars and a popular weekend brunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.