We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful family stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   505 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654 (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct: Get 20% Off!
Ranked #8 of 178 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Westfield, IN
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful family stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

My wife and I traveled with our three elementary-school-aged children for Spring Break. We ended up at the Palomar because of the excellent "grand opening" rates which allowed us to book a suite rather than two separate rooms.

Simply put: we had a wonderful stay. From the bellman to the room service waiter, every member of the staff was exceedingly kind, courteous, and worked hard to please. Chic "boutique hotels" can be a bit intimidating for families, especially those with small children, but everyone made us feel like we were the "coolest" of their "cool" guests.

The suite room was spotless, hip-ly furnished, and huge. The similarly ample bath with marble shower and jetted soaking tub was fantastic. We ate breakfast at the hotel restaurant, and again, the staff was incredibly friendly and accommodating, especially our waiter. The food was excellent. We ate other meals out, as the hotel is located in the middle of some of the best restaurant territory in Chicago.

There were some "grand opening" glitches, that really do not merit mention. The fire extinguishers were still wore their the construction dust covers. Construction dust and dirt bubbled up in the soaking tub (at least I hope it was construction dust!) Room service brought meals without any silverware. There were no pillows or blankets for the kids' pull-out bed. All of these problems were quickly and efficiently remedied with a call to the reception desk.

All in all, we will definitely consider returning to the Palomar at our next opportunity.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,052 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,538
    426
    67
    15
    6
See reviews for
464
750
102
385
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (480)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

We grabbed the introductory rate of $89 for a night here, and felt like we were the smartest people in Chicago. The hotel is in a great location, right next to the Red Line, and an easy walk to Michigan Avenue. The staff was extremely helpful. Printed our boarding passes for us. They are still getting up and running, making sure TVs work, etc. The room was comfortable. One thing to note: the bathroom door is a sliding one, and leaves a small opening just big enough for kids to annoy one another.... Our kids enjoyed the pool, but I imagine it might get crowded quickly once the hotel fills up. Night views from the rooftop terrace were beautiful. Evening wine, morning coffee, daytime jellybeans in the lobby were all nice touches. Do join the Kimpton rewards program before you go for the free wireless and complimentary items from the minibar. We would like to come back again, but it may be out of our price range now....

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2010

I spent one night in Chicago at the end of a busineess trip, on my one dime. When in DC, I usually stay at either the Hotel Palomar (always great) or the Hotel Medera (Getting very tired), so I thought I'd check out the brand new Hotel Palomar in Chicago. The hotel just opened two week ago and is still in its soft opening. I grabbed a chance to stay for $107! WOW waht a deal! It was worth $250!

The lobby is an amazingly confortable and chic place of course. It is not big, but a spot to relax and read coffee table books and enjoy a glass of wine. The Staff was young and full of energy, and committed to my satisfaction. The highlight was the room. BIG and furnished comfortably with attention to details like lighting and queen sized beds.

Only a couple of negitives. One, my room looked into another building and ATT service was not available (booster?) and second, the smoking area is outside the front door and you have to walk thru a crowd of smokers to get in the door ( move it! ) .

Overall a 10!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston, MI
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2010

This is a brand new hotel downtown Chicago; when we arrived we were met by a very friendly bell man. We nearly fell to the floor when we were told that our parking was going to be $46. The staff inside told us that the other parking facilities would charge the same maybe a couple dollars less; but another guest told us that there were cheaper parking (of course by this time we had given the car to valet). We were able to find parking just down the street for only 34.00 (so shop around). The staff were great and really went out of their way to make the stay pleasurable. The hotel is located just a few blocks off Michigan Avenue; and everything is brand new.

I think that the Kimpton Brand hotels are the best out there for their STAFF and the amenities they provide. For example, if you sign up for their membership, you will recieve a welcome beverage (or snack) coupon which I think rocks after travelling. We got our bed turned down, and ice placed into the ice bucket (which is totally wonderful), the maid also noticed that the tv was not working (sound but no video) and she told us that she had already called someone to come and fix it...and no kidding he showed up several minutes later...great service!!! In the morning, the hotel had cold water to go which was complimentary. I really do think that its the little things that matter, and this hotel understands this. That is the exact reason we booked an anniversary party at this hotel. This visit was to ensure everything will run smoothly for the actual event.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
170 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

We stayed at the Palomar a week and a half after they opened. We got a great opening deal and became members of the Klimpton program before our stay.

The hotel is beautiful. The staff was very friendly and constantly asking what they could do to help. The lobby is lovely and there is a living room with couches and chairs where they have evening wine service for guests from 5-6 and also coffee in the mornings. Door and front desk staff were so welcoming.

I think we may have been the first to stay in our room, so of course it was very clean, but even after it was serviced it was great. The robes were cute and the bath products were very nice. There was one small issue with an electrical outlet that was immediately resolved when we mentioned it to housekeeping. We also had free Wifi, which worked well in the room, lobby and at the pool.

The pool is also gorgeous. It is not large or deep but it is nicely lit and the outdoor terrace is amazing. It has an incredible view day and night. One afternoon we spent an hour up there reading and it was wonderful.

The hotel's location can't be beat. It is near some great restaurants and very close to shopping. There is a Red Line stop just outside the door but cabs are also reasonably priced if travelling to other neighbourhoods. The only negative about the location is it is a block from the fire station so we heard sirens from the street now and then. Light sleepers might want earplugs.

We loved this hotel and look forward to returning!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

This hotel just opened about a week and a half ago. Absolutely amazing experience. Right when we got there, valet service taking care of you. You get cocktails on arrival and the atmosphere was amazing! Most comfortable beds, 42 inch flat screens in bedrooms and also free earphones if you asked!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lexington, kentucky
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights with our 10 year old son. The nicest people on the staff were the valets and the outside crew. They were so warm and made us feel at home and welcome. The hotel decor is modern and upscale without being pretentious. The rooms were spacious with extras such as cool zebra striped robes. Make sure you sign up to be a Kimpton member which is free. You will get free internet and $10 worth of free goodies to take from the honor bar. With the incredible rate of $95 a night (it was called the sweet deal rate) we received a free continental breakfast for 2 each morning. That was a little disappointing. You get coffee, juice and toast, bagel,croissant, or muffin. The toast was overly dry, the muffins were dry and didn't taste fresh, and, you guessed it, the bagel was on the stale side. Didn't try the croissant. The coffee and juice were good and the restaurant was pretty. Every afternoon, in the lobby, there were huge jars of jelly bellys to help yourself. We did! That was great. Every evening there was a wine reception, which was very nice, they have sodas for the kids. Yes, the pool was small. The hotel was only a few blocks from Michigan Ave. and there are tons of shops, food, grocery stores right there. That's especially nice when you're traveling with kids. We walked to the Oriental Theatre to see "Billy Elliot" (which was fantastic) and it only took us 10 minutes. We walked back after the show, it was after 11pm, and my son was hungry, there is a Subway (food) right next store. We got subs and brought them up to the room. The parking is really expensive, $46 a night. There are some other garages right around the block if you want to save arount $8 a night. The only negative thing that I can say is that when I was making the reservation the woman on the phone wanted to know how old my son was because they like to have something special for the kids when we check in. I thought that was so nice, but it never came to fruition. Oh well, with the Lego store 2 blocks away, he got his share and more! Hope this helped. We go to Chicago every year. We've stayed at a lot of different hotels, and I'm really picky, and I have to say that I liked this one the best for the price range that it is in. We will be back.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#1 of 178 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 stars 1,180 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#9 of 178 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 2,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#2 of 178 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 1,830 reviews
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#19 of 178 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 1,867 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 505 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 178 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palomar is a luxury, boutique hotel in Chicago's River North surrounded by the city's top attractions, restaurants & destinations. Guestrooms offer stunning contemporary decor and hotel guests enjoy the 17th floor pool & terrace with workout facilities. Guests also delight in the Sable Kitchen & Bar featuring new American cuisine, one of the city's hottest bars and a popular weekend brunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Otel, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.