We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Palomar Chicago - You Won't Be Disappointed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   505 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654 (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct: Get 20% Off!
Ranked #9 of 179 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Palomar Chicago - You Won't Be Disappointed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I had a conference in downtown Chicago and stayed at the Palomar. What a wonderful experience the hotel was!!! The staff was very warm and welcoming, always greeting you with a smile. The lobby, although small, was very nice, modern and clean (and it smells really good too). The room was lovely – clean, comfortably modern, and compared to some hotel rooms in Chicago, spacious. Loved the barn door to the bathroom and enjoyed the sinker tub and great shower. The restaurant on the ground level, Sable Kitchen & Bar, is absolutely delicious and they make excellent drinks! This was a fantastic location too. Easy access to all of the great downtown Chicago activities, and right next to a subway stop (the “El”). The area was buzzing with life and energy. I’d definitely recommend staying at the Palomar for your next Chicago visit – you won’t be disappointed!

Green Features: They use nontoxic cleaning supplies, recycle, and serve organic coffee.
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,943 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,459
    406
    59
    14
    5
See reviews for
434
710
100
363
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (452)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I stayed at this hotel while visiting Chicago for a wedding. It was recommended to me by a Chicago native. It is centrally located - you can easily decide to walk to Willis Tower or hop on the public transportation at a stop that is less than a block away. It was also easy to get from the airport to the hotel. Like all Kimpton Hotels, the rooms are gorgeous! Palomar was friendly and helpful when it came to recommending places to eat and things to do!

Room Tip: Sign up for Kimpton Rewards Program before making reservation
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I travel to Chicago frequently for business and I always stay at the Palomar. The location is great -- just a few blocks off Michigan Avenue. And the staff has always been welcoming and wonderful. There are several good places to eat nearby, and I've never felt unsafe walking around the neighborhood. That said, I've often ordered room service and have never been disappointed with in-room dining.

Room Tip: Rooms further away from the elevator are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Palomar for a romantic Memorial Day weekend trip to Chicago. it was perfect! We stayed on the 17th floor, which had a beautiful pool and outside terrace with a great city view. The River North location was great! Good neighborhood feel, and accessible to restaurants, shopping and the L. The staff was attentive, but not intrusive. We will definitely stay at the Palomar for our next Chicago trip. Love the wine hour and morning coffee at the Kimpton Hotels.

Room Tip: We always request a room away from the elevator and ice machine and on a high floor to minimize city...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashington, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

A great hotel group but they are all only as good as the staff. This place has no worries, great attentive staff that couldn't do enough for you. The Kimpton chain has so many little extras in your room or there just for the asking. A happy hour too. A call into the sitting room 5-6.00pm will get you a complimentary glass of wine, and you're not limited to just one, even a cup of complimentary coffee in the mornings. There was a steady stream up and down in the lift with folk taking their partners a coffee.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milw., WI
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Having stayed at the Palomar previously 3 years ago, the hotel was somewhat new and fresh back then. At that time I gave the property a 5 star rating. My wife and I just returned from the Memorial Day weekend for two nights in a King room.

In only 3 years, time had already begun to take its toll on our room. The mattress felt worn out and the pillows were small and also uncomfortable. We both struggled to get a good night’s sleep and woke up unrefreshed in the morning. In addition, there was a lot of noise that night from traffic and sirens (no fault of the hotel) but you would figure that if you were on the 14th floor it wouldn't be so bad.

The next day we requested some additional pillows and they were promptly delivered in less than 5 minutes to our room. The bathroom faucet leaked unless you fiddled with it, and there was only one towel bar in the room and that's in the shower. The extra pillows helped a little, but we still didn't get a good night’s sleep.

The valet parking is up to $68 with in and out privileges , but you can go just one block and self-park for $43 for 24 hours at the public ramp for the Jewel food store if you want to save a few bucks. You also have to pay for wifi.

On a bright note, customer service was great, and the vibe is good here. The complimentary wine from 5 to 6pm is nice, and the hotel is in a great location in the heart of the loop.

All in all, even if there were no problems I would still have to give 4 stars because once you stay at the ultra-posh Langham just a few blocks away, there would be no way to say they are both similar 5 star experiences.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear DSchrute,

I thank you for your review and comments from your recent stay - and I thank you for your return visits and loyalty to our hotel while here in Chicago. I certainly apologize that you felt your recent visit was lacking compared to your previous stays, and I thank you for your constructive feedback and your praise of our staff and services, in spite of the challenges you encountered with regards to bedding and noise levels around the hotel. I must politely correct two of the details listed in your review that are incorrect and/or not fully accurate. 1) Our overnight parking cost is $58/night rather than $68/night, with full in/out privileges throughout your stay (which is actually 5% lower than the average parking costs amongst our neighboring hotels in downtown Chicago). And regarding the Self Park option you mentioned, please know that the facility does not offer in/out privileges for that cost. 2) Our wifi service is actually offered complimentary to our Kimpton Karma Loyalty Program members, which is completely free to join, and gains instant access to the wifi of ours, and any Kimpton Hotel for future travels. Again, I thank you for your comments and appreciate your honest feedback. I wish you safe and happy travels always, and I thank you for your business.

Sincerely,

Adam Gurgiolo
AGM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Very accommodating, friendly, front desk staff, good restaurant and clean airy rooms. Dogs were allowed but I wouldn't have known if I hadn't seen them in the elevators with their owners....meaning, no animal smell in the hotel. Kimpton Hotels are always FABULOUS!! You can't asked for a better location. It is smack in the middle of the city and a short block from Nordstrom and Michigan Avenue's Miracle Mile. Parking is expensive. We opted to take the subway (the "L") from the airport and the exit was next to the hotel. Easy walk to the Pier and various other activities.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 505 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 179 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palomar is a luxury, boutique hotel in Chicago's River North surrounded by the city's top attractions, restaurants & destinations. Guestrooms offer stunning contemporary decor and hotel guests enjoy the 17th floor pool & terrace with workout facilities. Guests also delight in the Sable Kitchen & Bar featuring new American cuisine, one of the city's hottest bars and a popular weekend brunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.