We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Palomar- An Outstanding Choice!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   505 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654 (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct: Get 20% Off!
Ranked #9 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
“Palomar- An Outstanding Choice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I chose this hotel based on reviews and was not disappointed! First thing I noticed was staff was super friendly. They made you feel welcome and engaged in conversation while providing a quick and easy check in. I had requested an early check in, and our room was available when we arrived! The room was extremely clean, and I loved the floor to ceiling windows, providing a stunning view below. It was fairly spacious for a city hotel room. I also loved that while the bathroom wasn't huge, the vanity provided ample counter space for one's personal belongings- it even had a ledge above to store extra items, which I found to be very useful.

The hotel is in a great location- walkable to Michigan Ave, and many other great attractions/restaurants nearby. Elevator was speedy and never had to wait that long. Doormen and housekeeping staff were all very friendly, too! :) Loved this place- would highly recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,912 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,436
    399
    58
    14
    5
See reviews for
426
699
99
356
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Irving, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I spent the weekend in Chicago for my 30th Birthday with some girlfriends. We all flew in fro different places. The Palomar has an ideal location in Chicago, which was the main reason we decided to book.

The hotel was gorgeous. Our room was perfect. The bathroom door is a little heavy to slide close, but we all just had a good laugh at it.

The staff though...they MADE this hotel. From Aaron at the front desk who checked us in to Miles with the Valet staff who took his time to recommend breakfast sports while checking in our luggage. They were AMAZING. Every interaction was personalized and thoughtful

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashotah, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Spent two Saturday night stays at the Palomar in Chicago in the last month and I couldn't be more pleased with the location, staff, property, and amenities. I can't wait to return to this fabulous hotel!

Room Tip: Best location and staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We picked this hotel based on TA reviews and were very happy with our choice. The check-in process was smooth. We arrived early and there were no rooms yet, but they called us as soon as a room was ready. The receptionist suggested some local restaurants that turned out to be fantastic. We enjoyed the free morning coffee as well as the evening wine (though on Friday the wine happy hour is a bit crowded!). Rooms were good size and well-appointed. I had to deal with the reception on one billing issue that they handled very well (and truth be told it was my mistake to begin with). We enjoyed a nice drink at their very popular bar one evening. Great location so you can walk to Magnificent Mile and the Millennium Park area as well the Lake shore. Good access to public transportation and plenty of local restaurants. Didn't use the gym facilities but had a look and they were fine as well. I don't see how you could go wrong with this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Great location in the middle of the city. Spacious oversized room, clean, and quieter than expected for its location. Lobby can be crowded, but the bar is nice, and the service was great. Walking distance to the trendiest restaurants and bars, even in the winter. Can take some time for them to retrieve your car, so plan ahead. And as with all Kimpton Hotels, a nice glass of wine on the house next to the lobby, giving you a chance to meet other guests if you so desire.

Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mesa, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

From check-in to check-out the staff couldn't have been nicer or more accommodating. The rooms and bathrooms are a bit on the small side but well laid out, very clean and comfortable. The location can't be beat, walking distance to many downtown destinations and close the red line and other public transportation. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estoril, Portugal
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Great location, rooms and staff make the difference for this hotel.

Metro station two steps from the hotel.

By the way, I stayed at room 1601 and the views are spectacular.

There is one downsize I can't help mention: it receives a lot of noise from the streets! Chicago is night life is awesome and you will discover the room's acoustic insulation could be much better.

Buffet breakfast is good but the brunch looked a little bit overpriced.

I would definitely stay again BUT, would pick a room not facing the streets and have breakfast at one of the fast food around.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the streets have beautiful views but with more street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 505 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palomar is a luxury, boutique hotel in Chicago's River North surrounded by the city's top attractions, restaurants & destinations. Guestrooms offer stunning contemporary decor and hotel guests enjoy the 17th floor pool & terrace with workout facilities. Guests also delight in the Sable Kitchen & Bar featuring new American cuisine, one of the city's hottest bars and a popular weekend brunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Amex, Hotels.com, Priceline, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.