We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay and a great value for Chicago.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   505 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654 (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 15%
Ranked #8 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
“Amazing stay and a great value for Chicago.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Had a wonderful girls weekend in Chicago! Made that much more amazing by the wonderful people at Palomar. Loved the wine at 5:00 and sitting outside. Front desk service amazing thanks to Ben for dinner reservations on a busy friday night. And always felt like coming home with warm welcome.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,342
    368
    49
    13
    5
See reviews for
396
655
93
323
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I love that this four-star hotel offers personal touches like a hand written note with fresh fruit upon checkin. The hotel is cool and on point with downtown Chicago. I plan to stay here not only for business but for personal trips as well. They offer quick service if you forget something and the food at Sable is fantastic (try the corn creme brulee, please).

Room Tip: Higher floors offer great city experience and I found it very quiet.
See more room tips
Green Features: Green seal and recycling are part of the hotel's charter and this makes me feel good.
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I love the Palomar Chicago. It is such a great hotel. The location is awesome and the staff are friendly. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Chicago! Kimpton hotels are some of my favorite across the US, but the ones in Chicago are all amazing. For me, the Palomar is my first choice.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Illinois
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The Palomar was an awesome place for our family to stay this past weekend for a mini-Christmas vacay. The first thing that stood out to us was how good the service was! We have young children and had a few needs for them, and the staff was very accommodating and helpful.
The place was very clean, had a great pool, great view, quiet rooms, great decor, plenty of space in the room. Free coffee and hot chocolate all day. Lots of nice little perks (also see Tip # 2 below).
Another awesome thing is the LOCATION. No more than a 15 min walk to Water Tower, Macy's on State, Christkindlmarket, theater district, etc, with tons of great restaurants within 5 minutes. We were able to get just about everything by walking.
We just LOVED this place and will definitely be staying there again when we're in town.
TIP # 1: If you are not wanting to pay $50+ a night for the valet parking, I'd recommend using ParkWhiz.com and using the Grand Plaza Garage. Only about 1 1/2 blocks away and got it for a little over $20 a night (usually can find a coupon code available via RetailMeNot).
TIP # 2: If you haven't already, sign up for the Kimpton Rewards program. Right off the bat, it gives you free Wi-Fi in your room and a $10 credit towards the bar or mini-bar. More great perks!

Room Tip: TIP # 1: For cheaper parking, use the Grand Plaza Garage via ParkWhiz. TIP # 2: Sign up for the Ki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Josh B, We love that YOU love this place! Thank you so much for such a kind and informative review of our property! As a courtesy to our potential guests, I would like to mention that the $10 credit is only available if the Kimpton Karma Rewards account is created prior to arrival. Otherwise our guests can still enjoy the complimentary wifi, and will be eligible for the credit on their next stay.

I’m so happy that it sounds like you enjoyed your time with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Happy Holidays!

Joseph Eames
Front Office Manager – Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millburn, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for one night on business, and enjoyed the stay. Free Happy Hour was a nice touch. the staff was very accommodating. The room was nice and quiet, which allowed for a good night sleep. I would stay again at a Kimpton, as the location was good, and the price was reasonable, in addition to the nice staff.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Lori A, Welcome to the Kimpton Family! I’m so happy to hear that you were able to join us for our wine hour, definitely one of our favorite offerings here at Palomar Chicago. I thank you for your business, and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Happy holidays!

Joseph Eames
Front Office Manager – Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed in the Palomar on a Saturday and Sunday night earlier this month (Dec 2014). It was a great all-around experience. Easy location that is close to a lot of bars and restaurants, right around the corner from Nordstrom, a Starbucks on seemingly every block, walkable to all sorts of things. The hotel itself is pretty quiet and very well kept. Gym and pool looked lovely (although do not plan on swimming laps, it's a short pool that will require a lot of turns...) I'm a Kimpton Rewards customer and they upgraded me to a very spacious 1 bedroom suite that felt just like home. $10 raid the minibar is a bonus (although it's $15 at other Kimpton hotels, just curious as to why...) I didn't try the restaurant but it looks great. No complaints here, I'd stay at the Hotel Palomar again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: The elevators are a bit slow in heavy traffic so maybe a lower floor is faster?
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Inkylunasea, Thank you so much for such a great review! I’m so happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us! To answer your question about the Raid the Bar discrepancies, we place a higher value on this perk in a few cities like New York, where the prices on just about everything are a little higher. Thank you once again for staying with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Happy holidays!

Joseph Eames
Front Office Manager – Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Meeting a group of friends to enjoy good food, libations, and the One of A Kind Show. Palomar's staff is incredible. No matter time of day or where you were, the staff asked if there was anything they could assist with or was there anything to make your stay more enjoyable. Very accommodating with our large group. The daily wine hour in the living room is a great way to begin an evening. Rooms are very comfortable, and it is quiet, and LOVE the room darkening drapes! We will return!

Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Kimmydlig, Thank you so much for the kind words. We are certainly lucky to have the staff we do, and I'm so happy to hear that you and your group enjoyed your visit as a result. As always, we thank you for your patronage, and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Happy Holidays!

Joseph Eames
Front Office Manager - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 505 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palomar is a luxury, boutique hotel in Chicago's River North surrounded by the city's top attractions, restaurants & destinations. Guestrooms offer stunning contemporary decor and hotel guests enjoy the 17th floor pool & terrace with workout facilities. Guests also delight in the Sable Kitchen & Bar featuring new American cuisine, one of the city's hottest bars and a popular weekend brunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.