We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, great area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   505 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654 (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hollywood, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, great area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Spent one night at Palomar Chicago. Front desk staff and manager were extremely nice. Rooms are very stylish, floor to ceiling windows offer great views, bathroom fixtures and toiletries are very upscale. Many perks for being a Kimpton Rewards member. Rooftop gym was adequate enough. Artwork throughout was really neat. Morning coffee as at all Kimpton properties is top shelf. Perfect location to walk anywhere in River North, Michigan Ave and the Loop. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear mekogan,

Thank you for your kind survey and thank you for your choice to return for future visits to Chicago. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed all things Hotel Palomar Chicago and that you are a true Kimpton fan! Enjoy the rest of your Summer.

Adam Gurgiolo

AGM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,852 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,389
    388
    56
    14
    5
See reviews for
414
679
99
337
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

I have no idea why this hotel is rated so highly. It's location is fantastic for getting around the city, but it is right around the corner from the fire department, so we had sirens going all night, all weekend!! Not relaxing. Also I paid for an upgraded "city view" and it faced west giving us a view of a half dozen barren rooftops. Again not pretty. The hotel was expensive so I assumed the rooms would be spacious but ours was small (adequate, but small). The HVAC was noisy and the toilet ran for 10 minutes every time you flushed. I would not stay here again unless I got a really great deal.

Room Tip: rooms on the northeast side would probably be quieter because you are further from the fire station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear shouse333,

So sorry to hear that you had a less than wonderful visit - and do not understand why we are rated so high amongst our peers. Please accept my apology for the issues that you experienced and know that we work tirelessly to accommodate all of our guests in the best possible manner by offering the best possible service. I do thank you for your feedback and hope that you would consider us one more time in the future.

Safe travels always,

Adam Gurgiolo
AGM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

I stayed the weekend of 7/25-7/27/2014 and would definitely return. It was a bit overpriced, but the location is perfect, the room I stayed in was spacious, the restaurant, Sable, was excellent, the gym was serviceable, and the complementary afternoon cocktail hour was wonderful. That they are enthusiastically pet-friendly here makes this boutique hotel even more of a gem -- if I come back to Chicago I may take my little dog along just so we'll have to stay here again.

As other reviewers mentioned, definitely join the hotel's rewards program, as it gives you free wi-fi in your room right off the bat.

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Carol B,

Thank you for your praise and wonderful comments about your recent visit. We would certainly love to have you back and definitely bring your little dog along for the trip! Great recommendation on joining Kimpton Karma - is definitely a wonderful program with attractive perks, including the complimentary wifi as you mentioned!

Very best,

Adam Gurgiolo
AGM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We were lucky to book this room on short notice. This weekend was especially busy in the city ( Lolla '14). It was clean and spacious. We enjoyed the location as well being in the middle of the action. We don't stay downtown a lot, but the Palomar was worth it.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Amie L,

We appreciate your review and kind comments. Happy to know that you enjoyed your visit and I wish you a wonderful remainder of the Summer season.

Kind regards,

Adam Gurgiolo
AGM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful decor, well located, friendly staff that goes out if their way for you, reasonably priced, complimentary cocktails in the lobby every evening is fun, whatever you need they have it or will find it for you. They even put a yoga mat in our room!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear joanne p,

Thank you for your note and recommendations of our Hotel Palomar and your recent visit! Glad to hear you enjoyed the yoga mat and that your overall stay was pleasant and memorable. We look forward to your return visit!

Best,

Adam Gurgiolo
AGM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We got a reasonably good deal on this hotel thru one of the websites. There were a lot of decent deals out there at other comperable hotels, so I am not sure this was any better than the other guys.

It is a great location, just a short walk to the river and the heart of mag mile. The room was nice: current decor, plenty big enough. Sheets were comfy. There was not much in the way of an information book. Very nice water pressure in the shower. That matters for some doesn't mean anything for others; you know who you are.

Kimpton does have a nice Happy Hour from 5 to 6 if you happen to be around for that. That is worth something. Don't know anything about the restaurant because there are thousands of other places to try. Pool was very standard, so was mini-fitness center.

Personally, if the deal was the same I would book it again but if there was something else out there at the same price for roughly the same location I would probably try that first.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear DCPaul1,

I thank you for sharing your feedback from your recent visit with us. I do appreciate your giving us a try here at the Palomar, and although it does not sound like you would, I do hope that you would consider staying with us again so that we can have the opportunity to welcome you back. I wish you safe travels always, and a wonderful remainder of the Summer season.

Kindest regards,

Adam Gurgiolo
AGM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This was my second trip to Chicago. This hotel was amazing. I signed up for their rewards program (just by entering my email) and they ask you all sorts of questions about what makes you happy when you stay. I asked for a high floor, they put me on their top floor! They asked me all sorts of questions that I didn't even know existed- for example what kind of pillow I wanted? Each room came with a yoga mat, they even do running with the manager once a week! The pool was on the roof (I didn't use it but it was a pretty cool view). The customer service was incredible. I had an early morning meeting and needed a good breakfast. I asked them to deliver the breakfast to me at 7am because I had to leave at 7:30am (keeping in mind that the earliest they claimed to deliver was 7:30am). The food, to my surprise, was delivered by 6:58am! Way exceeding my expectations and the breakfast was actually really good. Overall awesome experience. Awesome location- I stayed for 3 nights and spent each night just walking around the hotel because there were so many shops and restaurants around it was fun to see everything. Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Amanda D,

Thank you for such a wonderful review and I am very happy to know that you enjoyed all things Kimpton, during your stay! Thank you also for joining Kimpton Karma Rewards, and sharing with the community the wonderful perks and benefits to becoming a member. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to our Palomar Chicago, as well as any of your future Kimpton Hotel stays!

Best regards,

Adam Gurgiolo
AGM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 505 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palomar is a luxury, boutique hotel in Chicago's River North surrounded by the city's top attractions, restaurants & destinations. Guestrooms offer stunning contemporary decor and hotel guests enjoy the 17th floor pool & terrace with workout facilities. Guests also delight in the Sable Kitchen & Bar featuring new American cuisine, one of the city's hottest bars and a popular weekend brunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Amex, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Otel, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.