We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a wonderful city!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   505 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654 (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct: Get 20% Off!
Ranked #10 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sussex
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a wonderful city!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Another wonderful trip to Chicago staying at Palomar for around the 4th time. Hotel perfectly located for all central attractions. Staff very friendly and helpful especially James (one of the porters) who remembers our names and makes us feel so welcome. The free wine reception at 1700 is most welcome!

Room Tip: Upper floors a little quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear Anderida,

We appreciate your top rating and very kind review! Thank you very much for sharing your experience. A special thank you for mentioning our bellman, James - he is a wonderful member of our team and truly aims to please. We hope to see you on your next journey to Chicago.

Best,

Adam Gurgiolo
AGM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,434
    399
    58
    14
    5
See reviews for
426
698
99
356
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
KY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We choose Palomar as a central location for our Mom/Daughter girls weekend. Could not have been better! All food eaten here was great, Sunday brunch especially!
Only comment, two actually, water/shower pressure was weak and the shower head was high on the wall so by the time it reached you water was cold and not hotels fault but very rude guests in 701 yelling at their friends in another room about midnight. Not cool !
Will stay here again

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear ccallen,

Thank you for choosing us for your girls weekend here in Chicago! We were happy to have you with us and great to know you enjoyed your visit. So sorry for your noisy neighbors, and I thank you for letting us know about your shower experience. Your feedback is very much appreciated, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Adam Gurgiolo
AGM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, VA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The hotel is supremely located! We walked almost everywhere, the few times we took a cab it was roughly $10. The staff was awesome! Especially the concierges Bobby and Mark as well as Adam the Hotel Manager. A valuable item was lost during our stay (child's precious sleep blanket) and while it hasn't been found as of yet the entire staff knew about it and was looking. The rooms were clean and the view gorgeous. The girls enjoyed the pool and we moms enjoyed the morning coffee and wine hour. I would recommended this hotel each time you visit Chicago!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear redsoxfan4life,

I want to thank you for your very kind comments and mentioning Bobby and Mark and the entire team here in your review. We were glad to have you and your family with us and, except for the blanket going missing (of which we are still hopeful and looking for everyday), it's nice to know that you did have a wonderful time with us. Thank you again and we will certainly keep in touch when you plan your next trip here to Chicago.

Sincerely,

Adam Gurgiolo
AGM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

we've got a full tank of gas, half a pack of cigarettes, its dark and we're wearing sunglasses. Hit it ! ! !. . . " The Blue Brothers
And then from another great scholar... "Chicago is never the Chicago you saw when you passed through last time." . . . Mark Twain.
Truly two quotes that represent this great city and if you are from Europe, Asia, Africa, Antarctica, South America and surfing the web for destinations in USA, absolutely Chicago must be on that list of travel destinations.
I see no better place to stay for the money than right here at the Palomar Hotel, 505 North State Street.
Very friendly staff that are well trained, two excellent concierges to guide you around, proximity to all the must see venues, clean and quiet rooms and a Happy Hour from 5 to 6 pm that rivals any at the bars but its price is right--FREE!.
Highly recommend this hotel and thank you for the hospitality.

Room Tip: Higher the better. Some street noise will filter through even on top floors. Elevators were very fas...
See more room tips
Green Features: Liked the separate trash bins in the room for recycle and regular trash items. I could see an effort on management to conserve our natural resources.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Studio69,

While I certainly appreciate ALL of our guests' wonderful reviews - I must say, this is probably my favorite that I have ever read for our hotel! You can never go wrong with a "Blues Brothers" reference when in, or disucssing Chicago! Thank you so much for this gracious and fun review and for sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor community. We strive, everyday, to welcome our guests and make everyone feel at home, and we utilize all feedback to continuously grow and learn how to provide the best service for our patrons. I guess you could say, as Jake and Elwood so eloquently put it..."We're on a mission from God...!" Have a wonderful Summer and we hope to see you again soon.

Adam Gurgiolo
AGM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We arrived late in the evening but were thrilled with the comfort of our room and beds as a good night sleep was in order! Room service for breakfast was fantastic as well. Room was very nice as was the service etc. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear tjw1974,

Thank you for your review and thank you for choosing the Palomar Chicago for your girls weekend! Great to hear that you had a fantastic visit and we certainly hope to see you again very soon.

Best regards,

Adam Gurgiolo
AGM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I stayed for one night and wish I could have stayed longer. In addition to being a great value, and in the perfect location, the hotel pays attention to the details. From a warm greeting upon check-in, to excellent recognition of being a Kimpton Karma rewards member, this hotel strives to exceed its guests’ expectations.
For Inner Circle members this hotel provided a great room upgrade (Spa suite is amazing) and the best welcome amenity I have ever received at a Kimpton (which is saying something)

Green Features: Great hotel for those that care for the environment
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear John J,

Thank you so much for your generous comments as well as the survey you submitted through our internal system. We greatly appreciate your praise and are very happy that you truly enjoy your amenities here at the Palomar Chicago. Our concierges were thrilled to read your comments and we all thank you for your continued loyalty to Kimpton Hotels. We look forward to your next visit!

Kind regards,

Adam Gurgiolo
AGM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

My 11 year old daughter and I had 3 nights in Chicago for a mother/daughter trip.
We found the hotel to have all the amenities we needed - nice clean room, great staff, a wonderful location for everything off of the Mag Mile, even a nice pool and patio on top of the hotel which we were able to spend a little time enjoying. The design of the hotel is European decor, and it clearly attracts visitors from "The Continent" who all seemed happy to be there.

Although the attached restaurant - Sable - is really not what I'd call a "family" place for dinner, we did have 1 late dinner and it was just fine (she was the only child in the restaurant at that time). But I could see why it is highly rated.

The complimentary coffee in the lobby area and iced water were nice touches (and they also have a very nice complimentary happy hour in the lounge).

The only downside to the whole experience is just the street noise at night (due to the wonderful location of being in the center of North Riverside).

Would definitely recommend the hotel to those looking for a nice place in a great location.

Room Tip: request a high floor to escape some of the street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear suzerd,

I want to thank you for your very kind and honest review. Such feedback is wonderful to read and great informative details about our hotel and surrounding area. We hope to see you again for your next Mother/Daughter trip to Chicago, and I thank you for your business!

Best regards,

Adam Gurgiolo
AGM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 505 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palomar is a luxury, boutique hotel in Chicago's River North surrounded by the city's top attractions, restaurants & destinations. Guestrooms offer stunning contemporary decor and hotel guests enjoy the 17th floor pool & terrace with workout facilities. Guests also delight in the Sable Kitchen & Bar featuring new American cuisine, one of the city's hottest bars and a popular weekend brunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.