We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   505 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654 (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 15%
Ranked #8 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We found this hotel on Trip Advisor and decided to book because of all the positive feedbacks we read. It was my wife's birthday and the Sari and Sam looked after us. We received an upgrade for our room and was pleasantly surprise to see a bottle of bubbly and strawberries with chocolate when we walked into our room. The room was huge, clean and modern. Throughout our stay, Sari took care of us and made us feel at home. Thanks go out to James, the concierge for handling our bags, providing direction and advice on where to eat. The attention to detail here made our vacation experience a memorable one.

Thanks Palomar.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear GCC_Toronto,

First off, allow me to wish your wife Happy belated Birthday! I am happy to hear you chose to celebrate it here with us at the Palomar and that your visit was a success. Thanks for mentioning Sam, Sari, and James as well. They were thrilled to read this and we all thank you for taking time to share your feedback. Feel free to make your wife's birthday an annual weekend visit here at the Palomar!...see you next year?

Kind regards,

Adam Gurgiolo

AGM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,344
    372
    49
    13
    5
See reviews for
399
658
93
323
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Friendly, clean, spacious room, nice pool and interesting bar. You can even get a free drink and a delicious free pizza at the end of the afternoon in the lobby. I don't see how they could improve. This is perfect. Thank you.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear mbordui,

Great to see that you had a nice time while you were here! Definitely sounds like you were able to relax and enjoy our amenities. Our team members are always here to help and make sure our guests are well taken care of...We hope to see you again and I thank you for sharing your review!

Sincerely,

Adam Gurgiolo

AGM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We spent 5 nights at the Palomar this past week, and enjoyed every part of our visit. We found that the hotel delivered in all ways - very nice and helpful staff, a great atmosphere and clean and well appointed rooms. Love the Kimpton approach to making guests feel welcome - we had our two kids with us and took advantage of the full kid package, a goldfish in the room, kid sized robes, and use the pool every day.

Special mention is due to Sara at the front desk who ensured that we found everything that we were after and to Mark for making it easy to set up our days. This hotel continued to surprise as the days went on, we had a problem with our bar fridge, which they were quick to replace, and even Mark the maintenance guy was very friendly and helpful.

Obviously this was one place that we will return to, a great visit overall.

Room Tip: Higher floors are good, as there is street noise in Chicago.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear 123Fraz,

Thank you for such wonderful comments about your stay! So glad that your kids enjoyed our fun "perks" and that Sara, and both Marks you encountered were helpful and friendly. We would love to have you back with us soon and I wish you a wonderful remainder of the season with safe travels always.

Kind regards,

Adam Gurgiolo

AGM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edina, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

The Palomar is an excellent hotel located in the block of 500 North State in Chicago. The staff is very committed to service, and the concierge team of Bobby and Mark are very welcoming and knowledgeable. Easy walk to the Museums and Michigan Avenue. Our one bedroom suite was great...Sable is a very solid restaurant, and the bar is fantastic, fun and quite lively. Palomar works for business as well, as access to the Loop is very easy. Definitely will stay here again...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear DanS,

Very nice review and we are very grateful for your taking the time to share! Mark and Bobby are certainly commtied to service, as you mentioned, and I am glad you were able to work with them both. Thank you for recognizing them here! Agreed on Sable and I know Chef Heather is very appreciative of such praise as well. Your business is much appreciated and we hope to have you as our guest again soon!

Thank you,

Adam Gurgiolo

AGM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sevenoaks
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Booked this hotel as stayed in Kimpton hitel in San Francisco and San Diego and had a great time. We were not disappointed. I was travelling with my daughter who had recently celebrated her 21 st birthday. They made a real fuss of her and left a handwritten birthday card and chocolates along with some drinks for her. Staff are fantastic. Nothing is too much trouble. The position of this hotel is also great. If you want to avoid the traffic jams the blue line train that goes from the airport is efficient and simple to use. You get off at Lake and either walk for 10 mins or grab a taxi to the hotel.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are probably better as there is some road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear cazzieash,

Thank you for submitting your gracious review to the Trip Advisor community. First and foremost, allow me to wish your daughter a Happy 21st Birthday! Glad to hear you all spent it here in Chicago and I hope you had a wonderful time. Great recommendation on the blue line access to our hotel from O'Hare Airport. Happy to hear that this was an easy and convenient mode of transport for your stay. I thank you, sincerely for choosing to stay with us based on your Kimpton experiences in California, and I hope that you have joined our Kimpton InTouch loyalty program to reap those benefits. We hope to see you again soon!

Best regards,

Adam Gurgiolo

AGM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We've really enjoyed this hotel. It is well locate, you can go on foot to almost every where, and the rooms are awesome! The staff is very good to, very polite and always trying to help. Our flight was canceled and we called there asking if there was anything we could do with our reservation that was nonrefundable. They didn't charge us for that night! Totally recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Maira_fernandes,

We are very grateful for such a wonderful review! I hope that you will choose to stay with us for future visits to Chicago and I am happy that we were able to accommodate your flight cancellation hotel needs. We really do thank you for your business and I wish you safe travels always!

Sincerely,

Adam Gurgiolo

AGM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I stayed at this hotel this past weekend for business and, as usual, was very happy with my Kimpton choice. The staff was welcoming and accommodating. I had some boxes that needed to be shipped back to my office after I had checked out. The front desk/concierge handled the shipment and even called to let me know that they had been picked up. The restaurant "Sable" is amazing! We had breakfast & dinner at the hotel and were very pleased with all of the food. The menu is a little eclectic but take a chance and try a small plate of something different. I promise it won't disappoint. I highly recommend checking out the Lincoln Park Zoo & Bobby's Bike Tours. Both were surprisingly better than I anticipated.

Room Tip: I would recommend a high floor away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear mdirenzo2,

Thank you so much for sharing your review of your recent stay. Great to hear that all was pleasant and enjoyable during your visit. Our team works hard to accommodate our guests' needs in any way they can, so nice to see we were able to assist with your shipping needs, etc...And I must agree with you that Sable is amazing! One of my favorite restaurants - bar none! Please know that we rely heavily on our guests' feedback and I thank you again for your review. We always strive for 5 star reviews, so if there is something specific on which we can improve which would earn such a rating for your next stay, please reach out to let me know what that may be so that we can better our services and/or hotel.

Safe travels to/from London!

Adam Gurgiolo

AGM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 505 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palomar is a luxury, boutique hotel in Chicago's River North surrounded by the city's top attractions, restaurants & destinations. Guestrooms offer stunning contemporary decor and hotel guests enjoy the 17th floor pool & terrace with workout facilities. Guests also delight in the Sable Kitchen & Bar featuring new American cuisine, one of the city's hottest bars and a popular weekend brunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.