We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location and great restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   505 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654 (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 15%
Ranked #8 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersSilver level
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Convenient location and great restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I stayed at the Palomar for one night on a business trip. The location of the hotel is great, just a couple of blocks away from Michigan Avenue and close to many restaurants. The hotel has a great restuarant, Sable, which serves a great breakfast/brunch and has a very lively bar at night. The staff was very friendly and the decor of this hotel, as many Kimpton hotels was great!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Aggiecane:

Thank you for the recent review you posted - we appreciate it and look forward to welcoming you back to thd Palomar in the near future.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,344
    373
    49
    13
    5
See reviews for
399
659
93
323
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
JAMESTOWN
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed for 2 days prior to July 4. Had large amount of luggage including golf clubs; both arrival & departure were efficient & smooth; valet , bell staff & front desk staff friendly & efficient. Rooms modern, functional & ample space. Afternoon wine hour very nice. Front desk staff (Colin) knowledgeable aboout local restaurants & transportation using CTA. Very pleased with this property!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Weller03 :

Thank you so much for reviewing our hotel and for giving a shout our to Colin, our front desk agent - he is a real advocate of local things to do in Chicago.

Take care and we hope to see you again soon.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

My first stay at a Kimpton Hotel and I am very impressed. Wonderful front desk crew, amazing corner room, and all other amenities.. A couple of unique items - robes that are not your standard white, but all forms of animal prints, slipper socks and even a yoga mat in your room to encourage some Zen-time .. okay plus the cocktail hour at 5-6 pm.. Coffee included in the lobby in the morning and lemon-water and iced tea in the afternoon.. Terrific first nite stay!

Room Tip: We are in a corner room on the 16th floor and love the view of Chicago skyline in two directions...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Laurie H:

Well, what can I say - you summarized so wonderfully what makes this place so unique - we pride ourselves on doing things a little bit differently and to really engane with our guests. I am so glad that you had a chacne to experience that.

We hope to see you again soon.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I can honestly say that my husband and I had one of our best hotel experiences at Palomar!

From the moment we checked in, the Palomar set the stage for great service. After a hectic trip our plan was to check in and get straight up to the room and just relax. Upon check-in Colin urged us to take advantage of the free cocktails in the lobby before we went up. We were not disappointed that we took him up on that. We were greeted with the most delicious complimentary Sangria and wine offerings in a cozy lobby room just of the check in area.

When we did get upstairs we were excited to find our room not only clean and sharply decorated, but huge with an amazing view of all the action below, provided by the floor to ceiling windows. The linens and bed were so comfy, the walk in shower (more accurately described as a human carwash!) and huge bathroom were very luxurious. The finishing touch on the room came later that evening while we were at dinner. My husband had asked the hotel staff to provide us with one of their more quirky amenities, a companion goldfish for the room. The idea is so out of the box, I loved it.

The staff was so friendly, informative and inviting- special mention to Colin at the front desk and Luke at the front door!

We found the location of the hotel to be perfect. Plenty of great food and shopping just out the door, just a couple blocks from Magnificent Mile. There is also a free shuttle stop to the corner of the hotel that will take you as far as Navy Pier.

I really can't say enough about the hotel, all I know is I wouldn't stay anywhere else when in Chicago!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Nicole D:

Thank you for posting such a great review - sounds like you had a lot of fun in Chicago. To top it off with a companion goldfish, is always the way to go.

We aprreciate you giving a shout out to Colin and Luke - they are newer members of our team, but doing an amazing job.

We hope to see you again soon.

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orillia, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We selected the Palomar Chicago to celebrate our anniversary, largely based on reviews of other trip advisor members. We were not disappointed!
Chicago is a tremendous city and the hotel staff go out of their way to make sure that you enjoy every moment while you are there. We love exploring a city for a weekend and the location made exploring the shopping and attractions on both the north adn south sides of the river very easy.
The manager sent a bottle of wine to the room for our anniversary, which was an unexpected treat; the room itself was very well decorated and with a great view. We used the pool once and the small sundeck was a great place to spend a few minutes with a glass of the manager's wine; both nice public spaces.
We took advantage of the manager's run one morning, where a hotel manager leads a group of dedicated (crazy?) guests on a nice 6 am run out to the lakefront via the river; it was a wonderful start to the day, despite the late Chicago night hours before! She had lots of suggestions of things to see and do and places to eat while on the run and meeting the other running guests was great.
The wine social hour is a Kimpton thing and it is well received, almost too many people but we grabbed a glass one evening and went out to the front of the hotel on a beautiful sunny hot day and enjoyed some people watching.
And we would be remiss if we ignored the Sable, our anniversary dinner there had to be the highlight of the many fun things we experienced while in the city. The food, the service and the atmosphere were all wonderful and should not be missed if you have time.
This was a five star weekend experience in a great hotel in a great city, with even better staff!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear hockeyfamily9:

Thank you for spending your anniversary with us - what an honor to have you here in Chicago and I am so glad you had a fun time. It looks like you took advantage of all of the unique things to do in the hotel as well as in the City.

We hope to see you again soon.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar CHicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwall
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Hoped for the best with so many hotels in the Chicago area and we got it. Arrived early due to our flight and the front desk staff offered to keep our bags for us and he would call us when the room was ready. We went for a quick bite at the Weber restaurant across the street (good food) and within 30 minutes our room was ready well ahead of schedule.

The luxury suite room was fantastic. Main area with double doors, bathroom in the middle and bedroom with double doors. Style of the room was modern. LCD TV's in the main room and bedroom. Great view of the State St./Grand Ave. corner and three windows of which to watch the view. I called downstairs right off the bat because for some reason the safe was locked from the prior guest and of course I didn't have the passcode. The front desk woman was responsive and said they would send someone from Engineering up. She also said she noticed how my daughter really liked the gold fish in the lobby and asked me if we wanted one for the stay. We actually have some fish we left behind and my daughter was very pleased with her substitute pet. It was a real cool touch and pretty much exemplifies the type of character the employees of the hotel maintain. The woman who offered the fish, you know who you are, should be specifically mentioned because she was great! The front desk group also offered assistance if needed and printed my boarding passes for my trip back. Overall, fantastic.

The location is great. We walked to the Pier, when on a boat tour, and otherwise utilized taxis. There's a Jewel grocery store a block away that was great for buying some last minute things to use at the room.

The pool was just a rectangle and only had as depth of 3'7", but it worked out just fine. There's a great view outside the pool area too where one could look right off the 17th floor of the building over at the river and other areas of the city.

The Wi-fi was superb. Great signal and no complaints. Nice $10 mini-bar credit was a good touch too.

I didn't really have any negatives about the hotel. I suppose the fees with room service seemed a bit steep (20% plus $3 charge). Room service food was good though. Elevators were busier than what I expected, but for floors over the fifth, there's only two elevators available so what can you do?

The place is great. I'll definitely put it on the top of my list for my next visit to the wonderful Chicago area. Kudos to the Palomar!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Eric C:

I can't thank you enough for taking the time to give us such a detailed review. It truly means a lot to us that you shared such great advice with the TA community.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you as our guests in the near future.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Another winning Kimpton hotel in a great location. The stylish modern room strikes just the right balance of chic, modern elements to offer a welcoming and very comfortable space. The indoor pool is a nice attraction, though its size and shape weren't optimal for the number of young kids and families wanting to swim and play. Great food at the onsite restaurant, and a great, walkable location in the city.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear PickEpickE:

Thank you for the great review - and sorry about the busy pool area - at this time of year we have a huge amount of families visiting which means the pool area does get busy at times.

We appreciate your feedback.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 505 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palomar is a luxury, boutique hotel in Chicago's River North surrounded by the city's top attractions, restaurants & destinations. Guestrooms offer stunning contemporary decor and hotel guests enjoy the 17th floor pool & terrace with workout facilities. Guests also delight in the Sable Kitchen & Bar featuring new American cuisine, one of the city's hottest bars and a popular weekend brunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.