We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite hotel in Chicago....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   505 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654 (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$50 Per Day Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 167 hotels in Chicago
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
“Our favorite hotel in Chicago....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We just returned from a three night stay at the Hotel Palomar and will definitely be back! Our room (junior suite) was spacious, modern and super clean. The large bath (huge shower and incredible fuji tub) was an unexpected treat but the best part of the Palomar is the staff and service. From Bleu, the bellman extraordinaire to Mark, our concierge, we have to say they have cornered the market on hospitality. The location is superb - we will be back. Thank you Palomar!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Margaret A:

We are so honored to be your favorite hotel in Chicago. Thank you for that. We also appreciate you calling out our awesome employees Bleu an Mark - they have both been here for a long time and are part of what makes this hotel so much fun.

We hope to see you again soon.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar CHhicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,634 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,229
    343
    44
    14
    4
See reviews for
364
601
84
293
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in April after flying in from Vegas. We arrived in the evening during the floods and after a long cab ride from the airport we were feeling jaded. Check in was swift and polite and the room was very clean and comfortable. We stayed only for two nights but all desk staff were of the upmost quality. They assisted us in all information and organisation from tours, meals to bars to visit. This is what makes your great hotel a memorable hotel. Your staff. Thank you

Room Tip: Great staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Jack123Australia:

Thank you so much for the wonderful review - we are thrilled that you enjoyed connecting with our staff - I could not agree more - they are the lifeline of this amazing property.

We hope to see you again one day soon.

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Girls weekend - friends since college. Goal was relaxing and fun - Palomar did it again for me. We booked the Artist Suite - bigger than the luxury King suite - with the addition of a half bath and a dining table and chairs. The room size is amazing for a Chicago hotel - 860 sq feet. And at a cost of under $400 per night - there is nothing that compares. Floor to ceiling view of the city. Relaxed on the terrace on the roof with wine and great views. My girl friends had never stayed there and both said they'd bring their families back when they 'staycation' in the City. Love Hotel Palomar in Chicago.

Green Features: Love the fact that they offer recycling options in the room for trash.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear moxie529:

We could not be more thrilled about your review. Thank you for sharing. Sounds like you and the ladies had a fun time in Chicago and in the Artist Suite.

We hope to see you all again soon for your Staycations.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We have stayed at other Kimpton properties and the one in Chicago did not disappoint. The location is North of the river and near the Red line, great restaurants and public transportation on State Street. We had a corner room on the 15th floor with views of Lake Michigan and Chicago River. The room is modern with great lighting, bedding and bathroom. And the staff went the extra mile to assure we had a wonderful stay. My 11 year old even requested a gold fish to watch during our stay and it was promptly delivered. It is a first rate hotel in a first rate location in a great city. It also has a beautiful lap pool on the 17th floor.

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear StaceyAN:

Thank you so much for the review you posted.I am so glad we could take such good care of your son and family.

We hope to do it all again soon.

Take care.

Nabil Mouabyed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I was excited to stay here, I paid extra than comparable properties to stay at the Palomar. The experience was a bit lackluster.
Location is great a couple of block from Michigan Ave. with a ton of restaurants around.
Parking is challenging there is a half circle in front of the hotel that can fit three cars tops and is usually full. Since State street is very busy this makes for a stressful arrival.
Check in was smooth and friendly.
The bellman brought the wrong bags to our room which was remedied quick yet without apology.
The room was the highlight, it was clean and modern. The views were very good. The only issue with the room was the minibar fridge was warm, since we were only staying one night I didn't complain.
The evening wine reception was crowded so I didn't enjoy that as much as I expected.
The pool and the terrace on the 17th floor were very nice.
We ate at their restaurant Sable and the food was amazing.
We stayed for only one night only and check out was at noon, by 11 am housekeeping had came by three time to see if we were gone so they could clean the room. This was a highly frustrating issue that I mentioned at check out.
The Kimpton rewards card is nice as you get $10 raid the minibar credit, they keep you preferences on file among other benefits. I will give the Kimpton brand another try unfortunately I will likely stay elsewhere in Chicago with so many options.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Blain80:

Thank you for reviewing our property. Although you did give us a below than average score, from the description of what you wrote it seems you were happy with more than the majority of the hotel and restaurant interactions.

I apologize that you did have a few things that did not go so well.

Arrival experience - on a busy street such as State street and in the heart of River North, arguably the most dynamic area of downtown Chicago, the arrival / drop off experience can sometimes be difficult to manage - we are actually lucky that the City granted us a driveway when we opened the hotel three years ago, albeit a small driveway, and so we do our best to keep it clear and available to our guests with cars and taxis to use.

The evening wine reception is a very popular amenity amongst our guests, so it can get crowded at times, which is why we added outdoor seating so that our guests can use as much space as possible and also allow our incoming guests the ability to have a glass of wine and a snack from Sable. I am sorry if it seemed too crowded for your pleasure, the hotel was sold out during your visit.

Lastly, we will certainly address the issue with housekeeping knocking on your door so many times before 11 a.m. - typically a Do Not Disturb sign is the best way to avoid having any one check if your room is vacant. Housekeeping will often do so mainly because a lot of guests leave the hotel without officially "checking out", which makes it difficult for our staff to clean and turn around all the rooms to be ready for incoming guests, many of whom want to check in early.

Thank you once again for all of your comments, I hope I have been able to clarify a few things, and I hope you will give us or another Kimpton Hotel in Chicago another try.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, VA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Ever wonder what is must be like to stay at a hotel where the concierge gets you dinner reservations at the hot spot in town, or tickets to the show, or tells you the real insider secrets of the town? Well stay here and if you are lucky to be there when Bobby is working, you'll know. The hotel is good. Nice big rooms. Nice lounge. Very fun attached bar. But the service is excellent ( really the whole staff was exceptional) and makes you feel like a VIP.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear travelchica18:

Thank you for such a kind review - and for calling out Bobby - our star concierge - he truly knows Chicago very well and enjoys steering our guests towards very local experiences if that is what they are looking for.

We hope to see you again soon.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We had a suite, which was very comfortable. Our 13 year old slept on a pull out that was a memory foam type mattress he loved. Bathroom had great shower. Friendly, helpful staff. Very nice restaurant in a wonderful location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Greg B:

Thank you so much for the review - we really do appreciate it - and we are so glad you and the family had a good time.

See you again soon.

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 505 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 167 hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palomar is a luxury, boutique hotel in Chicago's River North surrounded by the city's top attractions, restaurants & destinations. Guestrooms offer stunning contemporary decor and hotel guests enjoy the 17th floor pool & terrace with workout facilities. Guests also delight in the Sable Kitchen & Bar featuring new American cuisine, one of the city's hottest bars and a popular weekend brunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Jetsetter, HotelsClick and Agoda so you can book your Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.