We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quality hotel, good location, just a tad noisy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   505 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654 (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 15%
Ranked #8 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersSilver level
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
434 helpful votes 434 helpful votes
“quality hotel, good location, just a tad noisy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We picked this hotel because it is a Kimpton and for the location. There was a problem when we arrived saying that there had been a computer glitch and there wasn't a room for us our first night. Not the news we wanted to hear after a long flight but these things can happen and they managed it all very professionally and we were put into a tower apartment next door the first night, then back to Palomar and upgraded to a lovely suite for the rest of the stay. The thoughtful fitout and luxurious quality of the room, together with the friendly helpful staff, was to the expected high Kimpton standards. The 20's referencing in the decor gives a welcome touch of difference. We enjoyed the wine hour one night in the welcoming lounge, and the loaner bikes were a great innovation. There was a permanent noise in both the rooms we stayed in, which takes away a star from my rating. The noise is similar to a street sweeper and seems to emanate from the climate control system. I had to use ear plugs to get to sleep. (There was a also bit of street noise from time to time but this is to be expected staying in the city centre, although Chicago emergency services do seem to have their sirens set at the highest volume I've ever heard). The front entrance before you enter the lobby could do with a little work too; it smelt a bit sewer-like and it seems somewhat unfinished as if the pot plants are a barrier not a feature.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear galtons:

Thank you for your review - we appreciate the feedback and do apologize that we were not able to accommodate you the first night that you were here. Luckily we have a great partnership with our condo building above us.

Sorry about the noise issue - not sure exactly the problem was, we don't typically have any in-room noise issues - but we will take another look.

We hope to see you again soon.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,344
    372
    49
    13
    5
See reviews for
399
658
93
323
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Second time staying at Palomar, Chicago; both during big conferences; first stay was excellent, nothing major to report; this time however I experienced glitches with my reservation. Upon arrival, I was told that they had overbooked and my room was not available; after negotiations (to put it nicely), I was placed in a suite which was much nicer than my original reservation but I was still annoyed. HOWEVER I must say that the staff was very attentive and they tried very hard to make up for the inconvenience, which I appreciate it; other hotels wouldn't care as much. The only reason why I don't give the Palomar an excellent review is because I had to change rooms the next day, although it was an upgrade, it was a bit of a hassle. But if in Chicago again, I will come back to the Palomar.

Room Tip: A city view room is nice to have
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear jarlette s:

Thank you so much for your review and so sorry about the minor glitches - we always try to avoid these situations - thank you for being understanding.

We hope to see you again soon.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Great hotel, nice staff, friendly. Beautiful rooms, spacious and with your one pilatus mat in ech room! Nice (small) swimmingpool, roofterrace and gym. Fantastic restaurant and bar. Happy hour every day with free wine. I can recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear kilidoc:

Thank you so much for coming to the Palomar to stay with us - we truly appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Stayed here from 25th. May to 1st. June. My wife and I had a lovely time. The hotel is in a great situation near lots of attractions and good restaurants. Very helpful, friendly, knowledgeable,efficient staff. Large comfortable rooms and a great restaurant, good for dinner, ate here twice and breakfast, ate here most mornings. The room we had was disabled friendly as my wife uses a wheelchair and walking sticks,we found the room very suitable. We would like to return sometime.
B.T.Glasgow.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear scottboy60:

Thank you so much for your great review and for staying with us. We truly appreciate it and hope that you will come back soon - Sable would love to have you.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed in January to celebrate our 10 yr anniversary (Chicago style)! We absolutely loved the hotel and service. Champagne was chilling in our room with a lovely note! These little touches are so wonderful. We enjoyed the wine hour, pool and coffee, tea and hot cocoa in the AM (especially in the middle of winter). We will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear toeknee1:

Thank you for posting this review and for celebrating your anniversary with us. We are honored. We hope to make it a tradition!

Take care.

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Hotel is just off the Mag. Mile and centrally located to restaurants and a great night life. Decor. etc. were fantastic and just the type of boutique we like to stay. The concierge: Hard to get in to all the detail of our trip and the special requests that we had of the hotel. What I can say though is that the hotel went above and beyond in everything we asked making it an extra special b-Day long weekend for my wife. Mark knows the city inside and out and was able to quickly recommend places/activities that would suit our what we were looking for. Bobby was able to make excellent recommendations for someone to enjoy the Chicago night life. Special thanks to the two of them for making this an extra special trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Rob A:

Thank you so much for the great review, we truly appreciate it.

Also, thank you for calling out Mark and Bobby - they really are two of the best concierges in town.

We look forward to seeing you again.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Enjoyed our stay at the Palomar. Great location for the touristy part of Chicago (River North), but also close to Lincoln Park and business Chicago. Well-designed and furnished rooms, helpful service, not crawling with kids like so many River North locations. Reasonably priced with AAA discount.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear hoosiervinophile:

Thank you for your review and for calling us a top location with top service - that means a lot.

We hope to see you again soon.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 505 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palomar is a luxury, boutique hotel in Chicago's River North surrounded by the city's top attractions, restaurants & destinations. Guestrooms offer stunning contemporary decor and hotel guests enjoy the 17th floor pool & terrace with workout facilities. Guests also delight in the Sable Kitchen & Bar featuring new American cuisine, one of the city's hottest bars and a popular weekend brunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.