We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenience and friendly staffs!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   505 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654 (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save Up To 20% In 2014
Ranked #7 of 167 hotels in Chicago
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Convenience and friendly staffs!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Location-very convenience only few steps to Red-Grand train station and bus station is outside the hotel where you can take bus#29 to Navy Pier; because it is located in city center, you will hear club music, firefighter, and ambulance swing by day&night, so for ppl who have light sleep, make sure bring your ear plugs.

Staffs-all the staffs are friendly, front desk tried his best to accomplish my special request and checked me in 17th floor however, the room was closed to the gym, so it wasn't a quiet room. The staff was willing to move us to another room but on 7th floor...(I guess there just no such thing called perfect), but at least they tried.

Housekeeping had done a great job to keep the room clean.

Room Tip: Don't check in the room closed to the gym on 17th floor. Ear plugs are needed if you can sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Lileevien L:

Thank you for your review - and sorry about the noise from the gym.

We are glad you had a great stay and found our staff to be friendly - they are all good people who love doing what they do.

We hope to see you again soon.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,556 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,179
    319
    40
    14
    4
See reviews for
343
577
80
276
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

we stayed here for a weekend in december. it was a beautiful hotel in a great location. it was close enough that we were able to walk and see the nutcracker at the auditorium theatre. i love walking int he city! the evening wine hour is a nice little added bonus. especially for the great price we paid on expedia. they also have a wonderful pool on the top and the kids were quite impressed. they even gave all the kids a little bag with fun toys and things for them to do. it's nice when children are thought of and made felt welcome in such nice hotels. i will definitely go back to this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: the views are great when up high
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear likecake:

Although it was a while ago that you stayed - we are so glad you shared your feedback with the TA community. Please come back and visit again soon. Summer in Chicago is amazing.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed with another couple for four days in early May. It was sort of a spur of the minute type of trip and we selected Chicago and the Palomar because they had a Picasso pkg. We were not disappointed. The hotel staff was outstanding, especially Bobby the concierge, who was very helpful. The evening "Happy Hour" was a real treat as we were there on Cinqo de Mayo and they actually served beverages consistent with the Mexican theme. If we go back to Chicago, we will stay at the Palomar and also consider other Kimpton hotels.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear 82ed:

So glad you shared your Cinco de Mayo time with us and had fun in Chicago. Bobby our concierge is a great guy and has a true gift in helping our guests figure out what activities are right for them and their styles.

We hope you will come back soon and share some more time with us.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

This was our first visit to Chicago. The hotel is in a great location for walking the River North area. Only a few blocks from Michigan ave, a 15 minute walk to the Navy Pier/Millenium park/John Hancock Tower, 5 minutes from the House of Blues and close to many restaurants.

The area is very safe. We walked all around the area and didn't have any problems.

We didn't take dress clothes which proved to be a challenge in this area for finding a restaurant without a dress code. The Rock Bottom brewery is right across the screen. Great home brew and food. The House of Blues had really good food and great music. We aren't big deep dish pizza fans and found a little place called Bongiorno's Italian Pizzeria tucked behind the Trump Tower that served delicious thin crust pizza and gelato for dessert - It's a hidden gem for thin crust pizza fans!

We highly recommend the Chicago's First Lady Architectural boat ride. The volunteer guide was passionate about architecture and gave us a great 90 tour of the city.

The hotel was clean/quiet. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear ToddG57:

Sounds like you had a lot of things to do in Chicago and made the most of it - thank you for staying with us and enjoying the area. There sure is a lot to do.

We hope you will come back and visit us again soon.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, NE
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

The concierge staff at this hotel were outstanding! Extremely helpful and pleasant with every request we had. The location of this hotel was perfect and the room was quite comfortable, other than the bed which was a bit firmer than we'd prefer. The shower head was especially high which was a pleasant bonus for my tall husband. We did not partake in the nightly wine hour in the lounge off the lobby, but many guests did and that appears to be a wonderful, relaxing place to gather at the end of the day. We were unable to dine in the Sable Kitchen Restaurant without reservations, so that was a slight disappointment, but there are many other wonderful dining options within walking distance from this great location.

Room Tip: We did not hear much traffic noise from the 17th floor and the fitness room/pool areas were convenie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear SusieG1965:

Thank you for sharing your anniversary with us - glad you had a good time - sorry we could not accommodate you at Sable - it does get crazy busy most of the time.

We hope to see you again soon.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

The Palomar is a self-confidently chic place to stay -- unlike a lot of boutiques, it doesn't scream and shout about its cool factor. It doesn't need to.
From the moment you enter the compact, handsomely modern lobby with its (pleasantly) scented air, you know this place is on top of its game. The staff members, particularly the doormen, are very cordial. (The front desk staff is a bit more reserved, but not unfriendly).
Check-in was relatively quick and easy, with plenty of information provided about the hotel's offerings. There's a bit of a squeeze for space with the elevators and popular bar just behind the front desk.
There are three elevators in the hotel, but only two of them service the room floors (at least the higher ones), so waiting on an elevator could be slow at times. (My only real gripe with the hotel). Once you arrive on the room floors (again with the delightfully scented hallways), Hollywood marquee style signs over the rooms display the room numbers.
My room, a king single, was very Chiquita Banana ("cool" in French parlance). It was about average in size, but with stylish furnishings and a smart use of space. The closet was ample, and came equipped a leopard-print robe and extras such as socks.
The 37-inch HDTV featured plenty of channels, and the radio was equipped with an iPod dock. The workdesk provided plenty of space for working on my laptop. The WiFi connection speed was very good. (To get free WiFi, just sign up for the Kimpton InTouch loyalty program. )
Sleeping on the dreamy bed was a joy. The usual array of (too many) pillows greeted me as I got into bed. Two minutes after lying down, I was knocked out and snoring.
Bathrooms at the Palomar are also very nice, with marble floors, good towels, excellent water pressure and wonderful, clean-scented Etro bath products.
I didn't sample room service or adjoining Sable Kitchen restaurant, but the menus looked enticing. For java fiends like me, there was complimentary (and very good) coffee every morning and a wine hour every evening in the hotel's plush, elegant lobby lounge. There was also a good fitness center and a pool.
The Palomar is located in a bustling, very commercial area of downtown's River North district. There's plenty to eat, drink and buy in the area, although it's kind of heavy on chains. (Starbucks, Chili's, Nordstrom etc etc). If you're using the CTA to get around, the Grand/State station of the Chicago L (Red Line) is just to your right as you exit the hotel. The Palomar is an easy walk from everything on the Mag Mile, the north Loop and River North.

Room Tip: Higher floors = better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear michiganmarlon:

I love the way you describe your experience at our hotel - really detailed and talking about all the fun, quirky and unique things we do at Kimpton Hotels and Restaurants. Thank you for being a fan, and we will definitely keep working on getting more elevators :)

All the best,

Nabil Mouabyed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Myself, my wife, and 3 dear friends from Indiana stayed here during a visit to Chicago in July 2012. This hotel was absolutely perfect - every i dotted, and every t crossed. The location in downtown Chicago was very close to all of the attractions we wanted to visit, as well as being convenient to the subway system for longer trips. We brought the car on this trip, and found the valet to be very convenient and quick. The room was spotless, the bed extremely comfy, the view stunning. The hotel staff were very helpful with directions and extremely friendly. Absolutely the nicest hotel I've stayed at in Chicago, and one of my favorites anywhere. Highly, highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Greg N:

We are so thrilled to have made your stay so perfect - that is music to our ears. Thank you for the kind words and we truly hope to see you again soon.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 505 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 167 hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palomar is a luxury, boutique hotel in Chicago's River North surrounded by the city's top attractions, restaurants & destinations. Guestrooms offer stunning contemporary decor and hotel guests enjoy the 17th floor pool & terrace with workout facilities. Guests also delight in the Sable Kitchen & Bar featuring new American cuisine, one of the city's hottest bars and a popular weekend brunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Amex, Otel, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.