We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   505 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654 (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-15%
Ranked #8 of 169 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersSilver level
Canmore, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We spent a wonderful 3 nights at the Hotel Palomar and highly recommend it for a romantic get-away! One of us was celebrating a 50th birthday and the extras the hotel provided were much appreciated. We had a great room on the 17th floor with nice views, very luxurious and comfortable. The staff were all helpful and friendly but Mark, the concierge, went above and beyond by suggesting things to do, places to eat and making reservations for us. The hotel is well located within walking distance of the Mag Mile, The Loop, Millenium Park, the Art Institute, River Walk and lots of restaurants. Sable Restaurant and Lounge in the hotel is excellent (don't miss the scallops)! We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Pam J:

Thank you so much for your "perfect" review - it is always rewarding to see that the hard work and effort that we all put in, usually pays off. We could not be more pleased that your romantic getaway worked out so well.

Thank you also for calling out Mark our concierge and Sable our tremendous neighboring restaurant. Both are a can't miss when you visit the Palomar.

We hope to see you again soon.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,287
    351
    48
    13
    5
See reviews for
381
631
88
310
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

hip and trendy restaurant, happy hour and roof top will be your allure - but the room not so much. Front desk check in very nice. For larger king suite - shower head terrible (and such a large bathroom). TV remote didn't work, left note, maid left garbage bag on top of the remote. Several very wet spots on carpet floor. Also a lamp we couldn't get to work. Room smelled of food from restaurant below. Don't need sizzling steak or bacon smell waffling into my room. Suite room was layout was great, bathroom was nice, den was nice. At checkout - they didn't ask how our stay was or how the room was, nor was there a little survey to complete - so here it is.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear abmilw:

It looks like we failed you in a few areas and I am very sorry for that. At the least we should have figured it out at check out and made the appropriate adjustments to make you feel like we were listening and rectifying the situation. Please allow us to make it up to you - feel free to contact me at 312-985-0761 or nabil.moubayed@kimptonhotels.com. I will be sure to make it right for you.

I hope you can see that this was clearly an abberation from the norm for us - so I hope you will give us another chance. I look forward to hearing from you soon.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Wonderful hotel. The room was well appointed and extremely quiet, I paid a little more for the larger room and it was well worth it. Also a plus: a good mattress (which is a priority for me). Excellent location. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Michelle R:

Thank you so much for your great review - we appreciate it and truly look forward to having you come back again.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We booked this hotel because we wanted a luxury experience at the start of our road trip, we were 2 couple, so we had a room together, 2 big double bed, and i had been onto the hotel befoxore hand, so we had robes and champagne on arrival, which was delayed 4 hours, a pain then, but claiming back.

We missed the wine tasting on the 1st night, so we just looked around had a few drink, and something to eat at a nearby brewhouse.

The next night we did make it to the free wine tasting, where we met Brad, he ask if we would like to go to watch the Chicago White Sox's, yes please, we are not baseball fans, but we are now, we were treated like the royals, and we even were let on the pitch.

Fab night, fab location, and the best hotel in Chicago, life is perfect, book now.

Lee Wood
www.pendlepictures.com

Room Tip: ask for a high floor room for the best view, and make sure you join the wine tasting. enjoy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Pendle P:

We can't thank you enough for such a great review - we are thrilled that we were such a big part of your successful trip to the US and especially Chicago, Illinois.

I hope we will see you again soon.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Honestly there is not a lot more a guest can wish in a hotel.
First of all the welcoming is great. Im an inner circle member and when i got in my room there were balloons, champagne and carrot cake.
The restaurant in the hotel is a fine modern cuisine. Rooms are very specious and clean. Location is great.
I give this hotel a 10/10. I was here for 2 nights and i would name this hotel perfection. I will be definately back!
Also thank you very much to the manager for the friendly letter in my room!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a big bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Emmanuel V:

Thank you so much for your review - as an Inner Circle member I am so pleased that you have been truly satisfied with your experiences at our hotel.

We look forward to your many returns to our property.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

I can't say enough good words about this hotel and the wonderful staff- they impressed me enough to write my first ever trip advisor review!
My Fiancé organised a family trip for 20 people to celebrate a family member's birthday. He was in touch with Bobby the concierge many times prior to our trip by email and phone and Bobby could not do enough for us. He helped arrange a boat tour, a highlight of our trip. He narrowed down the restaurant picks for us (Gibsons, Wildfire and Lou Malnati's) and all were excellent choices for our group. He organised golf and car rental, so there was very little for us to worry about when we touched down in Chicago and left us even more time to enjoy this beautiful city. The other staff members always greeted us with a friendly smile too and were on hand to help with anything we needed.
The hotel's location is excellent. We walked almost everywhere as there are plenty of restaurants and bars nearby, and the shops on Michigan are just a few blocks away.
The swimming pool is a great bonus to have in a city centre hotel, and was particularly enjoyed by the two children in our group. We all took advantage of the happy hour too- wine, lemonade and pizza was a lovely way to relax after a hard day shopping :-)
I will definitely be recommending this hotel to anyone going to Chicago, and ask for Bobby when you get there!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Rachel G:

What an honor that we are your first :)

We are so thrilled to read your review - and we can only but agree about Bobby - he is an amazing concierge. Thanks for calling him out.

I hope we will see you again soon, and bring the whole family again.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This Kimpton Property is a great place to stay when visiting Chicago. We were greated by a very friendly and professional young man named Robby at the reception desk. He checked us in swiftly, and our room was perfect. We stayed 4 night and had a blast in Chicago. The hotel has a restaurant on-site called the Sable Kitchen. We ate there TWICE!!! We never do that, but this place was fun, and the menu had so many interesting dishes, it was wonderful having it affiliated with the hotel. It made it perfect for our last meal, as we didn't feel rushed to catch our flight home. The hotel rooms wer comfortable, and the beds were perfect. The housekeeping was friendly and wonderful being conscientious of when we wanted to sleep in. I highly recommend becoming a member of the Kimpton's frequent guest program, as you can do it free on-line, and it will get you free wi-fi, and it also allows you to raid the mini-bar for free for $10 worth of items during your visit in Chicago. They also have great shampoos and other accessories, so you really feel like you get your money's worth, and a great night's sleep. My only criticism for the hotel was the car valet service. It is best if you can do without a car in Chicago, but it can be hard to get around otherwise. This location is great, so it is doable with a metro stop just a block away, and the Miracle Mile is just a couple of short blocks as well. But the parking situation is expensive ($50 per night) with a 25% discount if you drive a hybrid. There was twice that we gave our info to get our car, yet nothing happened until we came down to the front and then they ran to the lot to get our car. I believe this is a third-party service that the Kimpton sub-contracts. They also were a little confusing as they changed our valet ticket number during our visit. With a very small driveway it also complicates it a bit. So it is really just a minor thing overall, and it wouldn't prevent me from staying here again. Cabs are easy to get and the hotel staff that did work curbside were great. The hotel also had hot coffee in the lobby until 11:00 a.m. in the morning and they had complimentary wine between 5 & 6 p.m. They are just a block from Shaw's Crab House, which is a classic seafood restaurant that I also highly recommend. They have tons of other eating options in the area from Hot Dogs to High End Dining. You might also check on the Kimpton website before booking, as we were able to score an excellent rate with their 3 year anniversary promotion.

Room Tip: We had a corner room at the end of the hallway, which gave us lots of window viewing and a quiet nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear George M:

Thank you so much for your detailed review - we are so glad that you had a great experience at our property and that Sable made you go back twice. We are extremely proud to have them as or restaurant partner.

Thank you also for your comments aboutour valet parking - we continue to work on getting them to improve their services, but with a smaller driveway there can be some challenges at times.

We hope to see you again soon.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 505 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 169 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palomar is a luxury, boutique hotel in Chicago's River North surrounded by the city's top attractions, restaurants & destinations. Guestrooms offer stunning contemporary decor and hotel guests enjoy the 17th floor pool & terrace with workout facilities. Guests also delight in the Sable Kitchen & Bar featuring new American cuisine, one of the city's hottest bars and a popular weekend brunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.