We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic - I'm a loyal customer now!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   505 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654 (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 15%
Ranked #8 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersSilver level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic - I'm a loyal customer now!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

This is a wonderful boutique hotel with amazing customer service, comfort and lovely decor (plus fun animal print robes). The beds and bedding are luxuriously comfortable. You'll enjoy the complimentary morning coffee/tea in the lounge and happy hour in the evening. The location is very conveniently located if you plan on visiting the heart of Chicago. There's a fun bar on the first floor. The staff is extremely helpful if you have any questions and they are happy to make dinner reservations for you before your visit (try the Publican).

I will definitely look for Palmar hotels and the other Kimpton owned hotels on future trips.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear NYCtraveler9999:

We are so glad you had a fun time with us and were able to experience a Kimpton Hotel. We always try to do things a bit differently but always while having fun and meeting your needs.

Thank you for becoming a loyal Kimptonite - we are so proud and won't let you down. The Kimpton Nation is out there and ready for you to explore.

All the best.

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,344
    373
    49
    13
    5
See reviews for
399
659
93
323
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belmont Shore, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Kimption does it again!! OK, I looked at so many hotels in Chicago before I booked. I have a preference for the Kimpton brand (They deliver...great stays in D.C, San Francisco-two properties there and NOW Chicago) So happy I booked again with them!!
Here is what you will get:
1.Comfortable cozy rooms and robes the rooms are large and beds comfortable.
2.Service: EVERYONE at this property was amazing, great recommendations etc if you sign up for their preferred customer program: an email before you arrive with any requests:newspaper delivery daily, reservations, and a guide to the city written by the hotel employees
3. Coffee in the am and wine at night-I am a coffee and wine snob and still loved both.
4. The lobby restaurant was always packed with a fun crowd and great drinks and food.
5. Heated pool did not even use it but looked great.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Runderful:

You make us blush with all of the wonderful comments that you bestowed upon us. We truly appreciate it and hope you will do us the honor of coming back and visiting soon.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Just returned from a 3 night stay at the Palomar and we couldn't have asked for a better hotel. The rooms were beautiful, the location was great, and Sable restaurant was excellent. I have to say though, that the staff really made this hotel special. The concierges, Bobby and Mark truly go out of their way to make sure that your every need is taken care of and all of the front desk staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The entire experience was first class.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Susan H:

Thank you for the review. We love when we host the girls weekends here. The location is perfect and with the help of Bobby and Mark our concierges, anything is possible. Not to forget Sable, our adjacent restaurant and bar. It is just the right place to get a night started.

We hope you come back and do it all again soon.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We selected The Palomar for our wedding weekend room block because we had a lot of out of town guests, and we wanted to make sure they were in a great location to be able to take advantage of the city while they weren't busy celebrating us.
We always love Kimpton hotels for their level of customer service and their super fun and unique decor. This one is no different.
We worked closely with April, who was such a breeze to work with. With all that goes into wedding planning, things can easily get stressful. This was not one of those things, thanks to April being so friendly, helpful, and communicative.
The Palomar is modern, super clean, equipped with a great lounge area and top notch restaurant (try the truffled deviled eggs).
Our guests LOVED our choice.
I loved that we were on the same floor as the pool and the deck- great way to start your wedding weekend with a refreshing swim! The deck was the perfect setting for our "first look".
Oh, and they allow dogs!! I was so thrilled to have our flower-pug there with me while I was getting ready.

All in all, the Palomar was the perfect choice for our special weekend.

Room Tip: The pool and deck are on the 17th floor. If you want to be able to get some fresh air just by walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear marni p:

We are so honored that you spent your wedding weekend with us and to hear that all of your guests had a great time makes it even better.

You are correct - April in our sales department is a gem, we love her and couldn't agree more with what you had to say.

So, congratulations on your wedding and maybe you can come back and have some more fun soon.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I'll be honest, I was initially surprised that Kimpton had such a high rank on TA. Our room was quite nice, but no nicer than other top hotels. The lobby is gorgeous but quite small. But then I realized - it's the service and the amenities that make Kimpton a top choice. Every single employee that we met was friendly, polite and competent. Each one seemed to genuinely care that we have a great time in Chicago. We had a major reservation problem (thanks to my booking agent) and Mike, the Asst Mgr, handled it with professionalism and courtesy - even though it wasn't Kimpton's fault. He saved our vacation. Other hotels may have complimentary coffee - but only Kimpton has artisanal hot chocolate with white chocolate shavings. It was better than the fancy stuff at Frontera! And the free pizza in the evening was haute cuisine - with toppings like carmelized onions, arugula and asiago cheese. And besides having a long list of free room items - when you order them, they get delivered in minutes.

One minor nag - when we wanted a light snack, like perhaps nuts or a granola bar, we could only find candy in the snack bar. Other than that, a perfect stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear dp_2000NewYork:

Thank you so much for your review and for letting us know how much you enjoyed staying here. I am glad Michael was able to help you with the reservation issue and that you found all of our staff to be friendly, polite and competent.

We look forward to your return.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My fiancee and I stayed at the Palomar for a birthday getaway. From beginning to end, our experience was consistently excellent. A bottle of white wine on ice and a special birthday note greeted us on arrival. Our room was clean and well-appointed, which, along with all the extra touches (wine happy hour, NY Times at our door in the AM, friendly and extremely competent staff) made for a wonderful stay.

We would recommend the Palomar without hesitation!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Dustin Y:

Thank you so much for posting such a great review and for spending your birthday with us!!. We truly appreciate it. Let's make it an annual tradition.

See you soon.

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

I am returning from a two night stay at HPC. It met every expectation I had and then some!! It's an absolutely beautiful hotel with great rooms and even better service! I will be making this my go to Chicago hotel.

A couple of highlights include:

-very friendly staff
-comfortable beds
-iPhone charger that actually works in every room
-complimentary shoe shines
-fully stocked mini bar
-little to no street noise in rooms (considering the bussling location)
-nice gym
-pool and sky deck on the 17th floor with floor to ceiling windows
-connected hotel bar and restaurant
-walking distance to Michigan Ave shopping
-free coffee and free wine happy hour every night
-amazing value considering all of the above

Thank you for an amazing stay!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear CarmelINTraveler:

Thank you so much for your review - we truly appreciate it and we sure love that list of highlights - makes for some great reading.

Please come back soon, so we can keep that list going.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
Gm - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 505 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palomar is a luxury, boutique hotel in Chicago's River North surrounded by the city's top attractions, restaurants & destinations. Guestrooms offer stunning contemporary decor and hotel guests enjoy the 17th floor pool & terrace with workout facilities. Guests also delight in the Sable Kitchen & Bar featuring new American cuisine, one of the city's hottest bars and a popular weekend brunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.