We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great overall experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   505 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654 (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-15%
Ranked #7 of 171 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great overall experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Palomar is a great hotel. The room (king) is quite adequate. There is an exercise room and a swimming pool on the top floor. The lounge area is also comfortable. There is free coffee in the AM and if you need a refill later you can go to the restaurant. The service was stellar-no problems. As others have written the location is great. If you want some munchies you can raid the room cabinet or go downstairs to Jewel-Osco.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear raynan:

Thank you for the review you just sent in - we appreciate it - River North is such a central location to everything in Chicago with many great hotel options. We are so glad you chose to stay with us.

See you soon.

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,305
    355
    48
    13
    5
See reviews for
388
637
91
311
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cavalier, North Dakota
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

The best part about the hotel is its location. The redline is across the street, orange a few blocks south, and Miracle Mile also just blocks away. It is also near a lot of great restaurants, bars, and cafes.
The stay was also great with a comfortable bed, large room, and a lot of items to request if you forgot something.
The staff was top notch from check in to checkout.
The only minor downside is a large fire station is nearby so you will hear sirens but thats standard for any large city. I will certainly stay again on my next trip.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear TransitNerd83:

Thank you so much for the review and we appreciate the stellar feedback. I could not agree more that this is a fantastic area - we love being in the middle of it all.

We hope to see you again soon.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The Palomar hotel is a fantastic property. The staff is very friendly but not overbearing. The location of the hotel is fantastic and you can walk to hundreds of bars and restaurants.

I did have a similar "shocking" experience as another reviewer mentioned; the elevator button static shocked me every single time. Another thing I might recommend to the hotel is to install doorbells for the larger rooms; I had housekeeping walk in a few times because you could not hear knocking on the door at all from the bedroom....it was extremely annoying. Please, please, please get doorbells for the suites, it is very uncomfortable for both parties.

We did have room service for breakfast which was fantastic. Also, the Sable restaurant downstairs was very pleasing.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 1627, which was a Luxury 1 bedroom suite. It had pretty good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Derek B:

Thank you so much for the review and most of all for the recommendations. We will look in to the idea seriously and possibly install if it makes sense for us.

We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

My husband and I chose this hotel for our first visit to Chicago based on trip advisor reviews. We found this hotel to be so good that we decided to stay again on our return through the Windy City the next weekend.
The location is very good with so many things within walking distance. The well decorated rooms are spacious, modern, spotless and quiet. The reception lounge with its huge fireplace gives a very nice vibe, especially when guests gather for wine and pizza in the late afternoon. There is coffee and hot chocolate available in the morning. We signed up to be Kimpton members and received a daily newspaper at our door and a mini bar credit as well as free wifi! We only had breakfast at the Sable Restaurant as it was packed with a lively crowd every evening.
The best part of this hotel though is the front desk and front door staff. Everyone was upbeat and friendly and best of all.... smart! Bobby worked very hard to try and find us tickets for the Book Of Mormon and Cory got us all the information we needed for a foray out to the Frank Lloyd Wright area. Every person connected with the hotel every day gave us the feeling that we mattered. We had not expected that in Chicago.
After such a positive experience at this Kimpton Hotel, we will be on the lookout for them in our future travels.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Sara M:

Thank you so much for the detailed and thorough review - we appreciate the feedback and we truly are glad that you enjoyed the time you had in Chicago. Book of Mormon is a hot ticket in town. Also, becoming a Kimpton in Touch member is very much worth it with free wi-fi and a $10 Raid the Mini-bar card. Thank you also for calling out Bobby and Cody - they are wonderful members of our team.

Please come back and visit soon.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Elgin, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My husband, 10year old daughter and I wanted to stay downtown in the city for a long weekend.
I can't say enough about how pleasant and helpful all the staff was to us. They always greeted you with a smile and gave you good advice on places to eat and things to do. The hotel was very clean and in a great location.
We really enjoyed the complimentary wine reception that the hotel offered every evening and my daughter liked that they had hot apple cider.
We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Wendi H:

We are so thrilled that the three of you had a great long weekend - and apple cider is always a crowd pleaser. Please come back and stay again soon.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

My husband and I came up to see a play at the Steppenwolf Theatre and dine over a long weekend. We were intrigued by the great reviews, great prices, and perfect location of this hotel, so we booked it. The staff were so friendly and helpful, and our corner room on the 8th floor was quiet and very comfortable. We were able to walk to Topolobampo our first night, and shop along Michigan Avenue. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a wonderful experience at a fabulous price.

Room Tip: We had a corner room which might be slightly larger, and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Leslie F:

Thank you so much for the great review - we appreciate it and are so glad that you and your husband had a fun weekend with us. Let's do it all again soon.

Best regards,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I travel for business often and have fallen in love with Kimpton properties for a number of reasons. This is certainly the "best of the best" of the Kimpton hotels. I recently stayed at the Palomar Dallas, and it doesn't even come close to this chicago Kimpton (Palomar hotel).

Previous to finding this hotel, I've stayed at a number of properties in Chicago. After finding this one, I will stick with Palomar. Here is why:
- not that one should expect to check in early, ...but as a business traveler when I arrive early, they always have a room available for me.
- the service is top knotch and welcoming
-the rooms are spotless
-the room service food is always clean, light and fresh. one can get sick of starchy, heavy room service food when traveling for business and the weight starts packing on. it's nice to know that when you arrive exhausted and want to order room service, that there are healthy, fresh, delicious and well portioned items to choose from.
-Of course, the free wine at cocktail hour is a huge plus
- and some of the other kimpton perks are wonderful too (the "raid the mini bar" promo, etc)

This particular hotel is safe & centrally located. I just really like it and it has a good feel to it. The best in chicago.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Lives4Travel:

Thank you for such a favorable review - we truly appreciate it - always motivates us even more when we can tell that our hard work is being recognized. The detail in your review is sure to be a big help to the TA community when they make a hotel choice.

Thanks again and we hope to see you soon.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 505 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 171 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palomar is a luxury, boutique hotel in Chicago's River North surrounded by the city's top attractions, restaurants & destinations. Guestrooms offer stunning contemporary decor and hotel guests enjoy the 17th floor pool & terrace with workout facilities. Guests also delight in the Sable Kitchen & Bar featuring new American cuisine, one of the city's hottest bars and a popular weekend brunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Amex, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.