We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay as usual.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   505 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654 (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct: Get 20% Off!
Ranked #8 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Great Stay as usual.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I have stayed at the Palomar a few times and every time it has been a pleasure.
The staff is outstanding. The front desk staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are great.

I never stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Albert H:

We truly appreciate your loyalty and honesty. Please let us know if we can ever do anything more to make your stays even more enjoyable.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,856 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,392
    389
    56
    14
    5
See reviews for
414
682
99
337
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This was my second opportunity to stay at the Palomar and I hope not my last. This property is just the right size, not too big to be overwhelming and diminished service yet not too small to have a positive "vibe" and wonderful on site amenities. Superior location and easily accessibility to the Red Line. The staff is very accommodating, professional and friendly. The King Spa rooms are simply wonderful. Be sure to join the Kimpton loyalty program for special perks.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Tbouy:

Thank you so much for staying with us again. We truly appreciate your business and are honored that you will be coming back to see us soon.

All the best.

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I've had the great good fortune to stay at this hotel before. Yet again it performs above and beyond expectations. Best concierge team I've ever come across, in fact you just can't fault any of the staff, they are all charming, friendly, helpful. You also cannot fault the hotel's premier position close to many of the fine dining hot spots in Chicago. It's a gem of a place and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear BalhamBlonde:

Thank you for your kind words about our hotel and especially our concierge team. We could not agree more, they are fantastic.

We hope to see you again soon.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I wasn't expecting this hotel to be great. I was even hesitant to say the name of the hotel when my coworkers asked where we were staying. It turned out that this is one of the best hotels we've ever stayed at. We couldn't check in early but that was just fine because they have a big lobby where you can just surf the internet using the hotel's WiFi (free if you are a Kimpton member). The internet connection is great as I was using that to connect to a VPN when I have to work from the hotel. I like that I can easily walk to the red line to go to the loop. Good restaurants are only a few blocks away. Same with the Magnificent Mile. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Luie Luie:

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. We truly appreciate it and are so glad that we were a nice surprise. We hope to see you again soon.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, ma
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I paid a fraction of what I recently paid at the Wit for a much nicer room, spotlessly clean, with a pool, excellent restaurant, and great location. First the room, beds were very comfortable, beautiful linens and towels, very good toiletries, and the room was cleaned early and quickly every day. There was not much of a view from the room (10th floor) but it was very quiet and our sleep was not disturbed by either street noise or neighboring rooms. Check-in was perfect and the professional and the very friendly staff made us feel welcomed and taken care of. I have only had service like this at the Ritz Carlton. The amenities are fantastic, great workout room, very clean pool with towels and a very nice view, morning coffee, hot chocolate (delicious), and tea in a beautiful lounge/living room area with a fireplace. On Thanksgiving morning the hotel served a complementary continental breakfast because the restaurant was closed. The location is amazing, you can take the blue line from O'Hare to Jackson transfer to red line and get off across the street from the hotel for $2.50. We also took State Street bus down State to shopping, Millenium park, etc. Nordstrom is around the corner and all of Michigan Ave. is a few blocks away. We also walked four blocks to Whole Foods, one block to Starbucks, and two blocks to Frontera Grill. You are in the middle of everything here. Overall it was a great stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear tamcarol:

We can't thank you enough for such a detailed and positive review. That's what keeps us motivated every day, knowing that we are making the hotel a great place for our guests to stay.

We appreciate it and hope you will join us again soon.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George, South Africa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed with my husband for 4 nights and loved Chicago. The concierge was very helpful. Nice, clean, quiet, comfortable hotel. We could walk everywhere we wanted to go. Great service, good breakfast. Waited for the elevators at times.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Irma48:

Thank you so much for the review. Glad to see you had a great time in Chicago and enjoyed our hotel. We hope we can do it all again soon.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

Great from the start. Our cab pulled up and although we were early, they gave us a room. Check-in was smooth and we recieved a wonderful room. The room service was pretty good also. The location is great. Everything is within walking distance. They do have a licensed smoking patio and you can bring your own alcohol or get it from the bar/restaurant located in the hotel. It's nice to people watch and relax.....especially when raining. Chicago is very clean and same goes for this hotel. The outside terrase located on the upper floor was misleading a bit, as it isnt as big as I thought it would be and there wasn't much out there. There is also a great breakfast place that the hotel recommended. Would I stay here again??? Most definitely :))

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear opasna24:

Thank you so much for the review and for the postive endorsement - we could not agree more that Chicago is a clean and beautiful city.

We hope to see you again soon.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 505 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palomar is a luxury, boutique hotel in Chicago's River North surrounded by the city's top attractions, restaurants & destinations. Guestrooms offer stunning contemporary decor and hotel guests enjoy the 17th floor pool & terrace with workout facilities. Guests also delight in the Sable Kitchen & Bar featuring new American cuisine, one of the city's hottest bars and a popular weekend brunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Amex, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Otel, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.