We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a nice surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   505 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654 (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 15%
Ranked #8 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“What a nice surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I wasn't expecting this hotel to be great. I was even hesitant to say the name of the hotel when my coworkers asked where we were staying. It turned out that this is one of the best hotels we've ever stayed at. We couldn't check in early but that was just fine because they have a big lobby where you can just surf the internet using the hotel's WiFi (free if you are a Kimpton member). The internet connection is great as I was using that to connect to a VPN when I have to work from the hotel. I like that I can easily walk to the red line to go to the loop. Good restaurants are only a few blocks away. Same with the Magnificent Mile. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Luie Luie:

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. We truly appreciate it and are so glad that we were a nice surprise. We hope to see you again soon.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,325
    364
    49
    13
    5
See reviews for
393
647
92
319
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
boston, ma
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I paid a fraction of what I recently paid at the Wit for a much nicer room, spotlessly clean, with a pool, excellent restaurant, and great location. First the room, beds were very comfortable, beautiful linens and towels, very good toiletries, and the room was cleaned early and quickly every day. There was not much of a view from the room (10th floor) but it was very quiet and our sleep was not disturbed by either street noise or neighboring rooms. Check-in was perfect and the professional and the very friendly staff made us feel welcomed and taken care of. I have only had service like this at the Ritz Carlton. The amenities are fantastic, great workout room, very clean pool with towels and a very nice view, morning coffee, hot chocolate (delicious), and tea in a beautiful lounge/living room area with a fireplace. On Thanksgiving morning the hotel served a complementary continental breakfast because the restaurant was closed. The location is amazing, you can take the blue line from O'Hare to Jackson transfer to red line and get off across the street from the hotel for $2.50. We also took State Street bus down State to shopping, Millenium park, etc. Nordstrom is around the corner and all of Michigan Ave. is a few blocks away. We also walked four blocks to Whole Foods, one block to Starbucks, and two blocks to Frontera Grill. You are in the middle of everything here. Overall it was a great stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear tamcarol:

We can't thank you enough for such a detailed and positive review. That's what keeps us motivated every day, knowing that we are making the hotel a great place for our guests to stay.

We appreciate it and hope you will join us again soon.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George, South Africa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed with my husband for 4 nights and loved Chicago. The concierge was very helpful. Nice, clean, quiet, comfortable hotel. We could walk everywhere we wanted to go. Great service, good breakfast. Waited for the elevators at times.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Irma48:

Thank you so much for the review. Glad to see you had a great time in Chicago and enjoyed our hotel. We hope we can do it all again soon.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

Great from the start. Our cab pulled up and although we were early, they gave us a room. Check-in was smooth and we recieved a wonderful room. The room service was pretty good also. The location is great. Everything is within walking distance. They do have a licensed smoking patio and you can bring your own alcohol or get it from the bar/restaurant located in the hotel. It's nice to people watch and relax.....especially when raining. Chicago is very clean and same goes for this hotel. The outside terrase located on the upper floor was misleading a bit, as it isnt as big as I thought it would be and there wasn't much out there. There is also a great breakfast place that the hotel recommended. Would I stay here again??? Most definitely :))

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear opasna24:

Thank you so much for the review and for the postive endorsement - we could not agree more that Chicago is a clean and beautiful city.

We hope to see you again soon.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

Jake, the assistant manager made our stay great. He sent us a special treat since we were just married a week ago. And since our flight was coming in so late they placed the order for our giordanos pizza and kept it warm for us. Impeccable service. Extremely pleased. The hotel was perfect, clean and the restaurant was yummy. Shrimp and gotta on a cold day.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear eneetra:

Congratulations on your recent marriage - and thank you for chosing to stay with us for such a special occasion. We are so glad Jake made sure to spoil you.

Maybe you should come back for your anniversary??

Hope to see you soon.

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

My daughter and I spent just one night at the Kimpton's Palomar Hotel and, I for one, was sold! Even though they have hundreds of customers on a daily basis, they treated me as if they personally knew me. Everything was clean, tasteful, and friendly!

The hotel is centrally located near north Michigan ave and the river north area. Directions to anywhere are readily available from the front desk. Sable, the Hotel's restaurant was, for a hotel restaurant, very nice with an appealing menu. I wish I could have bought a dozen bran muffins as they were wonderful!! ( a crispy top with a soft center)

Now that I have found the Palomar in Chicago, I won't stay anywhere else when visiting!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Diana H:

We really appreciate the kind words, and thank you also for calling out Sable Kitchen and Bar, our wonderful restaurant - it is quite a local favorite and we are so lucky to have them as our partners.

We can't wait to see you again.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brazil
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful rooms, great service, fantastic location and staff that go out of their way to make your stay perfect.
I'm a tough critic, but there's nothing that needs improving with this hotel!
Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear aguedes:

Thank you for the short but sweet review - we are so glad we could please even the toughest of critics. We look forward to having you stay with us again.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 505 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palomar is a luxury, boutique hotel in Chicago's River North surrounded by the city's top attractions, restaurants & destinations. Guestrooms offer stunning contemporary decor and hotel guests enjoy the 17th floor pool & terrace with workout facilities. Guests also delight in the Sable Kitchen & Bar featuring new American cuisine, one of the city's hottest bars and a popular weekend brunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Otel, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.