We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shopping bag thrown away.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mercadito

Mercadito
108 W Kinzie Street, Chicago, IL 60654 (Near North Side)
312.329.9555
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Mercadito is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #666 of 8,382 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Near North Side
Cross street: Kinzie between N Clark and N La Salle
Transit: Merchandise Mart stops Purple and Brown Line and 156 Bus LaSalle.
1 review
“Shopping bag thrown away.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

What a night! In a tiny bar, our party of two waited two hours to be seated. Then as i wiggled my way into a tiny two seater, spilled water on myself. The final, worst part of the night, was I left my shopping bag behind. Left the restaurant for 5 min and came back to find it in the TRASH! How horrifying for a restaurant to throw away a customer's possessions. Shame on you. On the only positive note- the Carne tacos were delicious.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    111
    33
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
La Grange, Illinois
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Overpriced tacos; stuffy, snobby clientele; PLUS A TIME LIMIT? Never going back again”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

The tacos are very good. They just put them on fancy dishes, but they're not worth 15 dollars for four! The restaurant decor is nice, but they play top 40 music at a mexican restaurant. The place was fully of snobby people and women that just got plastic surgery. Worst of all, if you have reservations, for example, at 5:30, they tell you you have to leave at 7:30. I don't think I'll be going back there.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northbrook, Illinois
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Yummy food and good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We recently visited Mercadito on a Sunday night. We have been to this restaurant many times and always like it. We ordered a trio of guacamoles- the elote, the mango, and the poblano. Each were tasty and served with chips. Next we ordered two salsas- the chipotle and the tomatillo. These were actually disappointed. They were too sweet, pureed, and runny. The tacos were delicious, especially the mahi mahi and the carne. The wait support staff routinely cleared our dirty plates and brought fresh ones without us asking. I really like this restaurant but find it a bit pricey.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden Valley, Minnesota
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Something has changed and not for the better”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I've been to Mercadito numerous times and this was by far my least favorite experience. The food was outstanding, as always, so no complaints there. We went on a Tuesday night and the music was so loud we could barely hear each other. I eventually lost my voice because I had to practically yell throughout the meal. The server was aggressively pushing us from the moment we sat down to the moment we left. It got so ridiculous with the number of times he came to the table that we finally just told him to order whatever he wanted for us. Despite the fact that I love their food, this is likely the last time I go to this restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Cool restaurant, just not for families”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

My 2 kids, husband and I arrived early, and were seated in the front corner, in what felt like a bar area. As the restaurant filled up, our area remained empty. We couldn't help but feel like second class tourist citizens despite the drinks, appetizer and dinnesr we ordered.
The small plates were, well, let's just say they are aptly named, and very expensive. The only saving grace of the meal were the corn masa quesadillas, which were absolutely delicious.
I had been looking forward to trying this restaurant for quite some time, and it couldn't have been more of a disappointment.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mercadito also viewed

 

Been to Mercadito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercadito, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.