We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch at Xoco” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Xoco

Xoco
449 N. Clark St, Chicago, IL 60654
(312) 661-1434
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #155 of 8,390 Restaurants in Chicago
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
boston, ma
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lunch at Xoco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The concept behind Xoco (which translates to “little sister”) is “contemporary expressions of Mexico’s most beloved street food and snacks.” Basically, you come inside and tell the hostess how many people you have in your party. If they have a table available for you, they allow you to order at the counter and the food comes out steaming hot about 10 minutes later. If they don’t have a table available right away, you hang out until one is ready.

The staff is really knowledgeable and basically suggested everything that my boyfriend and I ended up ordering including: Chicharrones (fried pork rinds), carnitas soup (meal-in-a-bowl), pepitas torta (shortrib) and churros. Everything was beyond delicious. It was one of the best lunches I have ever had and I can't wait to come back over and over.

For more about my experience at Xoco - check out my blog post: http://youngfoodies.com/weekend-in-reviewpart-1-xoco/

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    135
    47
    15
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Quck delicous and spicy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I always bring out of town guests who are in River North here for lunch. The food is quick and delicious. Fresh churros, viscous hot chocolate, and the Cochinita Pibil sandwich comes with a salsa that burns beautifully. Can be crowded and you may have to sit at a counter, but the perfect spot in River North for a quick bite.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Average for me...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I would love to understand why people wait HOURS to get food from this place!! Flavors are not super spectacular, everything is super spicy and the line never ends!! I canunderstand that if it's really worth it, but I don't see this is the case for an averga sandwich/torta, etc.
Besides, I forgot my cell phone there, I came back 5 minutes later, and it was gone... one of the managers was super nice, but then I talked to another one that ended uo being extremely rude... I don't know, still don't gei the sucess of this place

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fresh and Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

I've eaten here a few times and the food is always fresh tasting and amazing. It does get very busy and the ordering/seating style is different than what you might expect, but the food is well worth it!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“great spicy breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I have never had breakfast at Xoco's until now. The huevos rancheros were great - not quite enough beans - but the tomato sauce was light and spicy. The chicken chilequiles were a bit too spicy for me, but were incredible anyway. And finally - the churros! Had one plain and one with pistachio sauce. Terrific! Everything is amazingly fresh.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Xoco also viewed

 

Been to Xoco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xoco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.