We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant. Genuine. Gracious. Stylish. Perfection.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waldorf Astoria Chicago

Save Saved
You added Waldorf Astoria Chicago to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 East Walton, Chicago, IL 60611 (Formerly Elysian Hotel Chicago) (Gold Coast)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Fall Suite Sale!
Ranked #6 of 169 Hotels in Chicago
Walnut Creek, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Elegant. Genuine. Gracious. Stylish. Perfection.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

The Elysian sets the standard for which all other hotels should aspire. It is, quite simply, among the elite hotels not only in Chicago but in the world. My wife, myself and our three boys (8, 5 and 3) stayed 4 nights in a deluxe suite while I was in Chicago on business. We arrived at the hotel at 1:30 a.m. and were promptly met and assisted by no less than 4 members of the incredible staff. Within 5 minutes we were checked in and in the suite with the sofa bed already made up, a roll-away set up, a handwritten welcome note from the general manager and stuffed monkeys on the beds for the kids. There was also a bottle of Evian next to each of our beds (including the kids) which was a very nice touch. The suite was exquisite. The color scheme is dark gray and white and is very elegant but exceedingly comfortable. The suite was about 1200 sq. ft. with a living room with working fire place, sofa bed, desk and small dining table and wet bar. There is also a 42" tv over the fireplace. There was also a balcony off the living room. There was a powder room off the hall and then master bedroom. The master bedroom has two very large closets, a set off drawers, and very comfortable bed and a chair. There is a 42" plasma tv on the wall and plenty of space for luggage and storage. There is also an ipod docking station on the dresser. The master bathroom is huge. Separate tub and walk-in shower (the shower is huge), separate toilet room and a dual vanity sink with an LCD TV built into the mirror. There were plenty of towels and the generous sized Asprey amenities were great. The room was very quite and one could control all the lights from various panels as well as request privacy and that the room could be made up. There was also a large closet at the entry. Our view was o.k.--not great--but from the living room one could look straight towards the Hancock Tower. The furniture was also substantial and very comfortable. The room had free Wi-Fi which was had both a strong signal and fast (unlike many hotels) and did not require logging in each time. Everything worked and it was truly spotless. Dirt, dust and fingerprints were simply not tolerated as every day when we returned to the room it was spotless. While the rooms are incredible, it is really the service that sets the Elysian apart from its competitors. Having had the privilege to have stayed at various Four Seasons, Ritz-Carltons, Mandarins and Peninsulas, I found the service at the Elysian to be the most genuine service anywhere. The staff strike a perfect balance between being helpful but not intrusive. The service is not obsequious like it is in some Far Eastern Hotels nor formulaic as you sometimes get in the bigger chains. Every single interaction we had with members of the staff--whether it was check-in, check-out, room-service, the spa, the concierge or getting a taxi was memorable for one reason or another. The no-tipping policy is real--every time a tip was offered it was politely but firmly refused. (The only exception was in the restaurants and in-room dining where an 18% tip was automatically added. While some reviewers did not like this practice, we thought it was great and, based on our experience, totally warranted since the service was always excellent.) The staff were wonderful with the kids and really went the extra effort to make them feel welcomes--whether it was the stuffed monkeys on the bed, crayons and cards to color in the restaurant or simply holding the door and letting them enter while mom and dad still scrambled to get out of the taxi they really treated them as guests in their own right--to me this says something about how the hotel values all of their guests no matter how old or, in this case, young. I could go on and on about this hotel. Suffice it to stay, we have found our new hotel in Chicago and recommend it to everyone. While the hotel is not inexpensive, it is a great value. The location is perfect and it provides a great base from which to enjoy Chicago. It is an elegant, genuine, gracious, stylish and perfect hotel in Chicago.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,096
    119
    54
    9
    11
See reviews for
278
570
77
236
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

The Elysian has thought about every detail before you do. The rooms are luscious. Perfect linens, perfect robes, perfect bathtub, perfect pillows. Room service was delightful. The gym equipment is terrific (and it doesn't hurt to be handed an Evian bottle while you're in the middle of a run on the treadmill). It's a small fortune, but if you have a big fortune or if you're celebrating something big, it's a terrific experience.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2010

We booked a 3 night stay purely on the basis of the fabulous reviews on trip advisor and kind of expected to be disappointed as every single review was saying this place was incredible. We are very well travelled and have stayed at some of the best hotels in the world and must say the Elysian has stolen the number one spot for us! Where do we begin? The service is absolutely outstanding. However, what makes a really refreshing change in USA is that the staff actually refuse tips so you don't get the feeling that all the smiles and friendliness are so the staff can make an extra buck. They GENUINELY want to help you have a more pleasurable stay and that counts for a lot.

The room we stayed in and the decor of the entire hotel was beautiful. The attention to detail was evident everywhere. From providing hair straighteners in the gym changing rooms( women will get me here) to having ice in the fridge with space to store your own drinks if you want to buy them from elsewhere rather than pay hotel prices.

The concierge team couldn't do enough for us. We got fantastic seats for a Chicago Bulls game with a couple of hours notice and they recommended some great daytime activities and great jazz clubs to visit.

We didn't dine at the hotel but we had our breakfast there every day. The service and food was fabulous.

We were sorry to leave and will definitely be returning. Don't be put off by the fact that the hotel is new. They have got everything right. I think having a team of staff so committed and passionate about their job and the company they work for makes the main difference to other places we've stayed. I hope when they get even more recognition the prices remain as reasonable as they are now. It's not cheap but very good value for money when taking into account the 5 star level of everything on offer at the Elysian.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Mar, CA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

Stayed at this property while my partner was on a Chicago business trip.
Everyone was very helpful and professional, the cocktails at both bars were
great, breakfast (room service) was prompt and tasty, concierges were very knowledgeable.
The rooms were extremely comfortable and quiet. Our experience may be a little biased as we were able to stay in a suite that had a fireplace and a balcony.
I can't imagine that there is a better place to stay in Chicago.
I loved the european feel of this property!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

This was the finest hotel I have ever stayed in. Fabulous electronics including a TV embedded in a bathroom mirror. (How do they do that?) Gas fireplace was electronically started. Furniture was very comfortable. The substantial staff was wonderful and attentive. Tips were not allowed for staff. No details were missed. The bar and restaurants were great. Drinks were made from scratch. No ready-mix here. The Spa/Healthclub was amazing. It had the finest equipment, service by attendants, perfectly temperatured whirlpool, sauna, and steam room. A great comfortable man-room. The food was fit for royalty. It was seasoned perfectly with sauces that amazed your taste buds.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

We stayed for 2 nights and would happily have extended the visit just to enjoy the hotel. The staff was very attentive. The rooms were beautifully appointed and the spa was lovely. I can't think of one thing that wasn't perfect and we have stayed at many luxurious hotels before but this one was definitely one of the best. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

My husband and I have chosen the Elysian as our first choice in Chicago. We have stayed in many other high end hotels in the city, and have found the Elysian to be the absolute best. The service is 5 star plus in all areas, and the rooms are impeccably clean and very comfortable. Great location, convenient to shopping and great restaurants. We visit the city frequently, and always stay at the Elysian and will continue to do so! Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waldorf Astoria Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Chicago

Address: 11 East Walton, Chicago, IL 60611 (Formerly Elysian Hotel Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 169 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Five-Diamond Waldorf Astoria Chicago(formerly The Elysian Hotel)is located in the heart of the prestigious Gold Coast neighborhood amognst the Magnificent Mile and Oak Street famed restaurants, retailers and lakefront. The award-winning 188-room hotel through innovative services and technologies, creates a new experience in luxury – energetic and fashion forward, warm and welcoming, and fresh and engaging. Amenities include a 14,000 square-foot spa & health club; 4,500 square feet of private event space; European-inspired bistro, Balsan; haute bar Bernard's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsClick, Hilton Hotels, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waldorf Astoria Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.