We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waldorf Astoria Chicago” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waldorf Astoria Chicago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Waldorf Astoria Chicago to your Saves list
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 East Walton, Chicago, IL 60611 (Formerly Elysian Hotel Chicago) (Gold Coast)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Suite Savings - 15% off
Ranked #4 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Diego, Ca
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
“Waldorf Astoria Chicago”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

THis is a beautiful hotel. The beds are very comfortable and the service is great. They are always ready and willing to help with a smile. The concierge service is very helpful with ideas, booking tours and follow through. They should have a desk with a nice chair for him and for me. We had to stand a long time to book a tour after a long day of sightseeing. The location of this hotel is very convenient with shopping nearby and the John Hancock center a few blocks away. I love the rich history of Chicago.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,284
    140
    61
    11
    11
See reviews for
323
634
86
289
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I give extreme thank you 2 the staff and Edward in particular for making sure my needs were met. Not only did i have a great stay but i was constantly checked on in a respectful manner and given proper advice when i asked for it. Above and beyond , i am thankful to have been at this particular hotel and look forward to staying at a Waldorf Astoria anywhere in the world! Lots of Love , B.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Brandon H,

Thank you so much for choosing the Waldorf Astoria Chicago as your hotel of stay during your business trip to the Windy City. It gives me great pleasure to read that our service team assisted making your stay more comfortable, especially our concierge, Edward. Thank you for all your kind comments pertaining to our quality of service. I have shared them with the entire team for I know they will find equally rewarding to read of your acknowledgement of their efforts to make your visit more enjoyable. Your loyalty to our Waldorf Astoria brand is highly appreciated. We will look forward to our next opportunity to serve you.

Sincerely,

Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Michigan
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This was our second stay! Service was impeccable! The room could not be faulted. We were on the 23rd floor facing the lake. The hotel is in the Gold Coast area, my favorite area of Chicago. Close to great upscale shopping and great restaurants! Always a treat to stay here!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Latty,

Thank you so much for visiting with us again at the Waldorf Astoria Chicago and for sharing your candid feedback. I am truly pleased to read that you enjoyed your suite and that our service team has been consistently helpful. I am also glad to learn that you have enjoyed exploring the Gold Coast. It is indeed a quite charming and chic area of the city with so much to offer. We highly value and appreciate your loyalty and will look forward to welcoming you back should your travels bring you back to the Chicago, hopefully in the not far future.

Sincerely,

Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davie, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed here for a long weekend. This hotel is simply beautiful. We had an executive suite on the 24th floor. The room was large and very comfortable The room featured a large bathroom, good size living room with fireplace, wet bar, and a spacious bedroom. The spa is first class with two steam rooms, jacuzzi, showers, massage rooms, workout room and lap pool. Location is excellent as it is near Rush and State Streets where there is plenty of nightliffe and is also near the shopping district on Michigan Avenue.

Only downside was the bed was not the best as it was not firm enough for my liking.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Ken D,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback of your most recent visit to the Waldorf Astoria Chicago. It gives me great pleasure to learn that you found your suite comfortable and that you enjoyed the various amenities it had to offer, such as its fireplace and wet bar. Thank you for your positive comments about our Spa & Health Club. I am truly happy to read that you were able to take advantage of it and that you also enjoyed our neighborhood. The Gold Coast is indeed a truly charming and chic part of the city with amazing shops and delightful culinary options. Thank you for your feedback pertaining to our beds. Your concerns have been shared with our Executive Team. I hope you could still get some rest and enjoy your visit. We will look forward to welcoming you back should your travels bring you back to Chicago.

Sincerely,

Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Beautiful rooms, lobby, restaurants. Great personal service, and perfect location. Being an interior designer I am more critical than most about the aesthetics of hotel rooms and common areas. Comfort is also important. This hotel met or exceeded my expectations!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear 588cherieh,

Thank you so much for sharing your candid feedback of your most recent visit to the Waldorf Astoria Chicago. I am truly pleased to read that you found comfort in your suite and that you enjoyed the hotel’s ambiance and décor. Thank you also for your positive comments pertaining to our service team and our restaurant Balsan. We are thrilled to read that we exceeded your expectations and will look forward to our next opportunity to serve you should your travels bring you back our way.

Sincerely,

Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, United States
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It is beautiful. I stayed with my family and all of us were treated well and had a great trip. The location is also ideal for shopping and restaurants. They even gave my daughter a stuffed walrus when she arrived. A simple, but nice touch that started off our stay on a great note.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Catherine B,

Thank you so much for choosing the Waldorf Astoria Chicago as your hotel of stay for your family trip to the Windy City and thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. I’m delighted to read that you enjoyed the convenience of our location. Our neighborhood, the Gold Coast, is truly a magnificent part of the city that our guests love due to its charm, unique shops and delightful culinary options. We are all happy to read that your daughter enjoyed Wally’s company. We will look forward to welcoming you and your family back on your next visit to Chicago.

Sincerely,

Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

From the immaculate lobby to the spacious sweets to the wonderful amenities such as the complementary courtesy car (2015 Mercedes-Benz S-class), everything during our stay was completely luxurious and profoundly excellent! I would highly recommend this property and will routinely be coming back to this Waldorf Astoria for all future visits to Chicago.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Cody R,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your candid feedback of your most recent visit to the Waldorf Astoria Chicago on TripAdvisor. It gives me great pleasure to learn that you found comfort in one of our suites and that you truly enjoyed the amenities the hotel has to offer, especially our house car service. Thank you for your high recommendation of our hotel. I am thrilled to read that you would like to stay with us on your future visits to the Windy City. We highly value and appreciate your loyalty and will look forward to welcoming you back when your travels bring you next to Chicago.

Sincerely,

Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waldorf Astoria Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Chicago

Address: 11 East Walton, Chicago, IL 60611 (Formerly Elysian Hotel Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Five-Diamond Waldorf Astoria Chicago(formerly The Elysian Hotel)is located in the heart of the prestigious Gold Coast neighborhood amognst the Magnificent Mile and Oak Street famed restaurants, retailers and lakefront. The award-winning 188-room hotel through innovative services and technologies, creates a new experience in luxury – energetic and fashion forward, warm and welcoming, and fresh and engaging. Amenities include a 14,000 square-foot spa & health club; 4,500 square feet of private event space; European-inspired bistro, Balsan; haute bar Bernard's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Amex, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waldorf Astoria Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.