We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite Hotel in Chicago” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waldorf Astoria Chicago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Waldorf Astoria Chicago to your Saves list
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 East Walton, Chicago, IL 60611 (Formerly Elysian Hotel Chicago) (Gold Coast)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Suite Savings - 15% off
Ranked #5 of 179 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
New Canaan, United States
1 review
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Favorite Hotel in Chicago”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

By far the best service and most comfortable, luxurious accommodations. Conveniently located to shopping and restaurants. Food, bar and ambiance is great summer, winter, fall or spring. In room fireplaces add a nice touch. I stay for business and leisure.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Thomas A B,

Thank you so much for choosing us as your hotel of stay for your visits to the Windy city either on leisure or pleasure, and thank you as well for your review of your most recent stay. It gives me great pleasure to read that you find the hotel’s location convenient and that you enjoy the hotel’s ambiance and various amenities. We are truly thrilled to read that we have become your favorite hotel in the city of Chicago. We highly value your loyalty and can’t wait to serve you again should your travels bring you back our way.

Sincerely,

Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,303
    144
    62
    12
    11
See reviews for
330
639
86
297
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

My wife and I recently spent 3 days in Chicago to unwind. The staff at the Waldorf Astoria went out of their way to make sure our experience was nothing short of first rate. The hotel and our room were excellent, the SPA is first rate, and the proximity of the hotel is perfect. Close to everything but being 2 blocks away from Michigan Ave also means you don't get the constant wave of people. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear X695JGandrewp,

Thank you so much for choosing the Waldorf Astoria Chicago as your hotel of stay for your weekend to relax with your wife and for taking the time to share your candid feedback of your visit. I am pleased to read that you found comfort in your room, that you found the hotel’s location convenient, and that our team was successful in making your stay a little more memorable. We are thrilled to learn that you will be visiting with us again in the future. We highly value your loyalty and will look forward to serving you again, hopefully in the near future.

Sincerely,

Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

This place is amazing! My daughters and I stayed here for one night. A girls night out. We had an amazing time. The service was great, I liked the fact that they don't except tips. I didn't have to worry about keeping cash at hand. I would love to go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear lisa s,

Thank you so much for choosing the Waldorf Astoria Chicago as your hotel of stay for your girls’ night out with your daughters. It gives me great pleasure to read that you had a pleasant time with us and that you enjoyed our no tipping policy, but most importantly, we are delighted to learn that you would like to visit with us again in the future. Your loyalty is highly valued and appreciated. We will look forward to serving you again, hopefully in the not far future.

Sincerely,

Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KINGMAN
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Upon check in Nadeem welcomed us and since it was my birthday did an upgrade on our room!! He was friendly, helpful with our questions about our evening plans, and a joy to work with. The room wasn't quite ready (we were very early) and they called as soon as it was available. The room was outstanding!! Beautiful furnishings. Most impressive was the service at this hotel--we checked out next morning but they let us leave our car while we ran a last minute errand...met us at the door with our bags when we got back. We had room service and it was a terrific way to have breakfast. We also both had massages at the spa--very nice but they pushed a certain gratuity (which we did) but I would have liked to have decided this--this was my only complaint during the whole stay was that. We loved it here and would go back!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Queenbee4067,

Thank you so much for celebrating your birthday with us and for taking the time to share your candid feedback of your visit. I am delighted to read that you found comfort in your suite and that you enjoyed some of the various amenities the hotel has to offer, especially our Elysian Spa & Health Club and our In Room Dining Service. I regret to read about your experience when you checked out in our Elysian Spa. I will certainly address your concerns with our Spa Director. Thank you so much for your positive comments pertaining to our service team. Comments like yours truly inspire our team's continued efforts to make our guests’ stay more memorable. Your patronage and loyalty are highly valued. We will look forward to welcoming you back should your travels bring you back to the Windy City.

Sincerely,

Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

I arrived this past Friday around 5pm. I am a Hilton Gold member and stay almost exclusively at Hilton-branded hotels. When I arrived there, I was given a nice welcome and a bottle of water.

I found out my room was only on the 8th floor. I looked at the window and saw that my view was of nothing but a brick wall. I was pretty bummed about this so I called down to the desk to see if they could move me to a high-floor room. My preferences in my profile strictly say "king bed, high floor". At first the manager said that no rooms on higher floors were available, but then all of the sudden she said "oh wait, something just opened up!"

She came up to my room and exchanged keys with me and gave me a key to a room in the 24th floor.

The room had a much better view, several comfortable chairs, an awesome bathtub, a shower, and toilet.

The bed was pretty comfortable and the room was nice and large.

I really appreciated the spa which had awesome locker rooms with a jacuzzi, steam room and sauna. I did not swim in the pool, but it was nice and warm water.

On the same level as the spa, there is a sundeck with chairs that gives a nice 4th floor view of the city.

Each time I had to call the desk, the attendants were kind. They pronounced my last name correctly, which isn't easy.

I appreciated the extra foam pillows delivered to my room, as I have a stiff neck and need firm pillows.

The only thing that I would have liked would have been the Gold Upgrade, which is usually never a problem at Hilton hotels. I guess the place was packed.

The prices are awfully high at this property but worth it. It's located in a great and safe neighborhood so no worry about crime.

Room Tip: High floors, facing the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear R.C. W,

Thank you for sharing your feedback of your most recent visit with us. I regret to learn that the view from your suite initially was not to your like; however, I am pleased to read that we were able to change your room to a higher level and that the view was much more pleasant. Thank you for your positive comments pertaining to our Elysian Spa & Health Club. It gives me great pleasure to learn that you enjoyed its amenities including the view from its terrace. I am sorry that we couldn’t offer you an upgrade during this last visit due to the hotel’s high occupancy. I hope you will consider visiting us again in the near future so maybe next time we can offer you the upgrade and you can enjoy a different suite.

Sincerely,

Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bettendorf, ia, United States
1 review
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

outstanding experience! Great staff, fantastic beds and perfect location for shopping and nightlife. Health club is nice, food experience was very good. very quiet rooms, very helpful staff. Truely a very top rate experience. we've stayed in most of the 'top tier' hotels in Chicago and this ranks at the top! Would highly recommend and will be our preferred place of stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Kent P,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your positive feedback of your most recent stay with us. It gives me great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your suite and the various amenities the hotel offers, especially our Elysian Spa & Health Club and our restaurant Balsan. Thank you for your positive comments pertaining to our service team. We are thrilled to read that we have become one of your top hotels in the city and that you will be staying with us again in the future. Your loyalty and patronage are highly valued and appreciated. We will look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully in the not far future.

Sincerely,

Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, AR
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I did not plan to stay in Chicago, but with the thunderstorm system moving through Chicago, I thought I would forcibly be stuck at O'Hare for the night. Luckily, there was an availability at the Waldorf Astoria. Checking in around midnight, I was greeted by a very welcoming and enthusiast staff at the front desk. As a HHonors Diamond member, I was very pleased to find out that my room was upgraded to the Luxury Suite. The room was beautifully appointed with a separate living area and a real fire-place. The bathroom had a TV in the mirror and was stocked with Salvatore Ferragamo toiletries. The bedroom was on a small side but the bed was just awesome.

Overall, Waldorf Astoria Chicago was able to turn my travel-craziness night into a wonderful relaxing time.The most impressive thing here is the service, the staff here really know hospitality and the little things that make their guests feel welcomed.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Wiwat L,

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback of your most recent visit with us. I am sorry that you were trapped in Chicago due to the thunderstorm; however, I am truly delighted to read that this gave you the opportunity to stay with us. I am glad that you enjoyed the Luxury suite, but most importantly, that our service team was able to make your stay more pleasant and that your stay made your unpleasant night more relaxing. Thank you again for giving us an opportunity to serve you; we will look forward to serving you again should your travels bring you back our way.

Sincerely,

Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Waldorf Astoria Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Chicago

Address: 11 East Walton, Chicago, IL 60611 (Formerly Elysian Hotel Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 179 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Five-Diamond Waldorf Astoria Chicago(formerly The Elysian Hotel)is located in the heart of the prestigious Gold Coast neighborhood amognst the Magnificent Mile and Oak Street famed restaurants, retailers and lakefront. The award-winning 188-room hotel through innovative services and technologies, creates a new experience in luxury – energetic and fashion forward, warm and welcoming, and fresh and engaging. Amenities include a 14,000 square-foot spa & health club; 4,500 square feet of private event space; European-inspired bistro, Balsan; haute bar Bernard's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Amex, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waldorf Astoria Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.