We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury + Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waldorf Astoria Chicago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Waldorf Astoria Chicago to your Saves list
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 East Walton, Chicago, IL 60611 (Formerly Elysian Hotel Chicago) (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Suite Savings - 15% off
Ranked #6 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Luxury + Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

This hotel was a wonderful getaway for us. We had wanted to visit Chicago again for several years and the team at this hotel made it all so special. I contacted the concierge before our trip and he was so very helpful from that point forward. Everyone at the concierge desk wanted to hear how our day had gone and how they could help with more plans. The rooms were luxurious--bathrooms are a dream. Room service brought a coffee maker to our room and refilled our fresh ground coffee everyday. Only negative was the room did not have a view at all--we were facing old buildings very close to us. We just kept the drapes closed. We were there 4 days and loved it. Location was so close to the Magnificent Mile and many great restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the old vacant building next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear TXFoodie75230,

Thank you for taking the time to share your candid feedback of your most recent visit to the Waldorf Astoria Chicago. I am truly pleased to read that you found comfort in your suite and that you enjoyed the various amenities the hotel has to offer, especially our Concierge services and our In Room Dining. Thank you for your positive remarks with regard to our service team. I am delighted to learn that the team was able to make this special visit a little more memorable. I regret to learn, however, that the view from your suite was not enjoyable. I hope you will consider visiting with us again in the near future so you can enjoy a better view from a suite in a higher level. We will look forward to welcoming you and your travel companion back soon.

Sincerely,

Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,168
    130
    59
    10
    11
See reviews for
293
599
78
261
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Top Contributor
248 reviews 248 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The Chicago Waldorf was a distressed property when it was purchased. That didn't make it bad, It just was a smart move to pick up a super-lux property that was finished during the Great Recession. One gets a sense of the property by just entering the driveway. The staff calmly wait your needs with a big "how are you today" look on their face. Once inside the guest will see a building that is new and appointed beautifully. The rooms were as expected with wonderful beds and pillows. I did not eat there because there are too many fine restaurants and cages in just 2 blocks. I will go back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Pixelpanderer,

Thank you for your review of your most recent visit to the Waldorf Astoria Chicago. I am delighted to read that you enjoy the hotel‘s décor and that you found comfort in your suite. Thank you for your positive comments with regard to our service team. I am pleased to read that our team was able to make you feel welcome and provided you with a warm yet efficient service. We are thrilled to read that you will be visiting with us again in the future. We will look forward to our next opportunity to serve you.

Sincerely,

Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, United States
1 review
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The staff at the hotel provided excellent service. This hotel is not cheap, but when you compare the price to other comparable hotels in the area, it's actually not bad. We did feel that cellphone/wifi reception at the hotel (both in the room and in lobby area) was very spotty (although free).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Alfred P,

Thank you for sharing your feedback of your most recent stay at the Waldorf Astoria Chicago. It gives me great pleasure to read that our service team assisted you in an efficient and professional manner. I regret to read, however,that you had problems with your cell phone and wireless reception. I have shared your concerns with our Director of IT. I truly apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused. We value and appreciate your patronage and will look forward to serving you again should your travels bring you back our way.

Sincerely,

Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jindabyne, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I recently stayed at this hotel for 5 nights and I must say it lived up to all my expectations and then some. I had reviewed this hotel before my visit and all the reviews were spot on. I was away for 7 weeks and all the properties I'd stayed at this was the best. It deserves it's 5 stars. From the moment I arrived it was first class all the way. Not often do you experience such a warm welcome, friendly and helpful staff. They couldn't do enough for me and as I was travelling on my own this support was very important and made my stay so much more enjoyable. What can I say about the suite I was lucky to be allocated as it was excellent in the amenities and ambience. I was very comfortable and any problems I had were swiftly seen to. The weather had turned cold and wet while I was there so the fire place was very welcome. I would highly recommend this property to other travellers and hope to return for another visit.

Room Tip: A high floor is a must to take advantage of the Chicago skyline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Lynn872,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your most recent stay with us on TripAdvisor. I am truly pleased to read that our team made you feel welcome and were able to efficiently assist you during your five night stay; I am also pleased to learn that you enjoyed your suite and its various amenities, especially its fireplace. Thank you so much for recommending our hotel. Your loyalty is highly valued and appreciated. We will look forward to our next opportunity to serve you.

Sincerely,

Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada, United States
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We expected the luxurious accommodations, but it was the personal attention and genuine care that impressed us the most. It's what makes a hotel destination special, and separates the best from the rest.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Ben, Lisa D,

Thank you so much for your positive comments pertaining to your most recent stay at the Waldorf Astoria Chicago. I am delighted to read that our team was efficient and made you feel welcome throughout your visit. I have shared your kind words with the entire team. We truly appreciate your patronage and will look forward to welcoming you back should your travels bring you back to Chicago.

Sincerely,

Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Obviously this hotel is not for those that are looking for an affordable hotel, its spendy. But, if you want a high class hotel that treats you like royalty and has everything you want, then this is the hotel for you.
Complementary everything, including car if someone else hasn't borrowed it.
The only downer was that they were working on the pool while we were there and I do enjoy pools.
Otherwise I will visit again.
Also easy access to Michigan Ave and lots of shopping & restaurants.

Room Tip: Higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear oxx155,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback of your most recent visit to the Waldorf Astoria Chicago. It gives me great pleasure to read that you found the hotel’s location convenient and that you enjoyed the various unique amenities the hotel has to offer. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused by our pool being out of order. Our Engineers are diligently working on it so that our guests can fully enjoy it again within the next few days. I hope you will give us a second opportunity to serve you so you can enjoy all of the amenities we offer, including the pool. We will look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Illinois
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We had a wonderful time in the opulence of the Waldorf Astoria. We decided to splurge on our hotel and we will definitely do it again.

We chose the Waldorf Astoria because it was one of the few 4-5 star hotels in the area that had 2 queen beds available. We also liked the convenient location. We walked to the John Hancock building and shopped at Water Tower Place. It was wonderful to not have to drive or find parking and we dropped shopping bags off at the hotel and went back out since it was so close, just a block off of Michigan Avenue.

We ordered room service one night and got the most delicious Hucklberry Tart at 10 pm.

The TV hidden in the bathroom mirror was intriguing. It wasn't the best resolution, but the novelty was great.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Maria B,

Thank you for posting your review of your most recent visit to the Waldorf Astoria Chicago. I am pleased to read that we were able to accommodate your preference of a Double Queen Room, but most importantly, I am delighted to read that you and your family found comfort in it. I am also glad to read that you found the hotel’s location convenient and that you could comfortably do your shopping without worrying about parking or the stress of traffic. Thank you for your kind comments pertaining to our In Room Dining service. I will share your comments with our pastry Chef, Andrew. I am sure he will be thrilled to read that you truly enjoyed his Huckleberry Tart. Your patronage is highly valued. We will look forward to welcoming you back should your travels bring you back to the Windy City.

Sincerely,

Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waldorf Astoria Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Chicago

Address: 11 East Walton, Chicago, IL 60611 (Formerly Elysian Hotel Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Five-Diamond Waldorf Astoria Chicago(formerly The Elysian Hotel)is located in the heart of the prestigious Gold Coast neighborhood amognst the Magnificent Mile and Oak Street famed restaurants, retailers and lakefront. The award-winning 188-room hotel through innovative services and technologies, creates a new experience in luxury – energetic and fashion forward, warm and welcoming, and fresh and engaging. Amenities include a 14,000 square-foot spa & health club; 4,500 square feet of private event space; European-inspired bistro, Balsan; haute bar Bernard's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waldorf Astoria Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.