We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, good value comparatively” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waldorf Astoria Chicago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Waldorf Astoria Chicago to your Saves list
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 East Walton, Chicago, IL 60611 (Formerly Elysian Hotel Chicago) (Gold Coast)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% OFF - Fall Suite Sale
Ranked #6 of 171 Hotels in Chicago
San Ramon, United States
1 review
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great service, good value comparatively”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The staff at the hotel provided excellent service. This hotel is not cheap, but when you compare the price to other comparable hotels in the area, it's actually not bad. We did feel that cellphone/wifi reception at the hotel (both in the room and in lobby area) was very spotty (although free).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Alfred P,

Thank you for sharing your feedback of your most recent stay at the Waldorf Astoria Chicago. It gives me great pleasure to read that our service team assisted you in an efficient and professional manner. I regret to read, however,that you had problems with your cell phone and wireless reception. I have shared your concerns with our Director of IT. I truly apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused. We value and appreciate your patronage and will look forward to serving you again should your travels bring you back our way.

Sincerely,

Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,115
    123
    55
    9
    11
See reviews for
281
577
77
246
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jindabyne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I recently stayed at this hotel for 5 nights and I must say it lived up to all my expectations and then some. I had reviewed this hotel before my visit and all the reviews were spot on. I was away for 7 weeks and all the properties I'd stayed at this was the best. It deserves it's 5 stars. From the moment I arrived it was first class all the way. Not often do you experience such a warm welcome, friendly and helpful staff. They couldn't do enough for me and as I was travelling on my own this support was very important and made my stay so much more enjoyable. What can I say about the suite I was lucky to be allocated as it was excellent in the amenities and ambience. I was very comfortable and any problems I had were swiftly seen to. The weather had turned cold and wet while I was there so the fire place was very welcome. I would highly recommend this property to other travellers and hope to return for another visit.

Room Tip: A high floor is a must to take advantage of the Chicago skyline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Lynn872,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your most recent stay with us on TripAdvisor. I am truly pleased to read that our team made you feel welcome and were able to efficiently assist you during your five night stay; I am also pleased to learn that you enjoyed your suite and its various amenities, especially its fireplace. Thank you so much for recommending our hotel. Your loyalty is highly valued and appreciated. We will look forward to our next opportunity to serve you.

Sincerely,

Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada, United States
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We expected the luxurious accommodations, but it was the personal attention and genuine care that impressed us the most. It's what makes a hotel destination special, and separates the best from the rest.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Ben, Lisa D,

Thank you so much for your positive comments pertaining to your most recent stay at the Waldorf Astoria Chicago. I am delighted to read that our team was efficient and made you feel welcome throughout your visit. I have shared your kind words with the entire team. We truly appreciate your patronage and will look forward to welcoming you back should your travels bring you back to Chicago.

Sincerely,

Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Obviously this hotel is not for those that are looking for an affordable hotel, its spendy. But, if you want a high class hotel that treats you like royalty and has everything you want, then this is the hotel for you.
Complementary everything, including car if someone else hasn't borrowed it.
The only downer was that they were working on the pool while we were there and I do enjoy pools.
Otherwise I will visit again.
Also easy access to Michigan Ave and lots of shopping & restaurants.

Room Tip: Higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear oxx155,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback of your most recent visit to the Waldorf Astoria Chicago. It gives me great pleasure to read that you found the hotel’s location convenient and that you enjoyed the various unique amenities the hotel has to offer. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused by our pool being out of order. Our Engineers are diligently working on it so that our guests can fully enjoy it again within the next few days. I hope you will give us a second opportunity to serve you so you can enjoy all of the amenities we offer, including the pool. We will look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Illinois
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We had a wonderful time in the opulence of the Waldorf Astoria. We decided to splurge on our hotel and we will definitely do it again.

We chose the Waldorf Astoria because it was one of the few 4-5 star hotels in the area that had 2 queen beds available. We also liked the convenient location. We walked to the John Hancock building and shopped at Water Tower Place. It was wonderful to not have to drive or find parking and we dropped shopping bags off at the hotel and went back out since it was so close, just a block off of Michigan Avenue.

We ordered room service one night and got the most delicious Hucklberry Tart at 10 pm.

The TV hidden in the bathroom mirror was intriguing. It wasn't the best resolution, but the novelty was great.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Maria B,

Thank you for posting your review of your most recent visit to the Waldorf Astoria Chicago. I am pleased to read that we were able to accommodate your preference of a Double Queen Room, but most importantly, I am delighted to read that you and your family found comfort in it. I am also glad to read that you found the hotel’s location convenient and that you could comfortably do your shopping without worrying about parking or the stress of traffic. Thank you for your kind comments pertaining to our In Room Dining service. I will share your comments with our pastry Chef, Andrew. I am sure he will be thrilled to read that you truly enjoyed his Huckleberry Tart. Your patronage is highly valued. We will look forward to welcoming you back should your travels bring you back to the Windy City.

Sincerely,

Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, United States
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

The no tipping policy is a boon to the busy traveller; concierge was excellent, helpful, and ingenious. All glitches during stay were resolved or compensated: room service breakfast ordered the night before for a set time came 40 minutes late, leaving me no time in which to eat before had to leave in haste for my meetings (but cost was taken off final bill); ice box / freezer stopped working mid-way through stay and was still not working at time of departure). To be sure the breakfast (when it came on time the other days) was outstanding. Spa is very accommodating. Staff over all is helpful and cheerful. Business center (two computers with printer) is actually very good; cozy, quiet, and efficient. They are trying really really hard at the Chicago Waldorf Asotria and should get it all together in due course. Definitely will give them another try next time in Chicago because overall it is a good atmosphere and top-flight accommodation. Best I have found in this city, and I have tried at least 7 other comparable hotels.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear William E E,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your candid feedback of your most recent visit to the Waldorf Astoria Chicago on TripAdvisor. It gives me great pleasure to read that you enjoyed the various amenities the hotel has to offer, especially our Elysian Spa & Health Club, our In Room Dining Service and our Concierge services. However, I would like to extend my sincere apologies for the glitches you encountered during your stay, especially pertaining to our delayed breakfast delivery and the malfunction in your suite ice box. I sincerely thank you for your kind patience and for your positive remarks with regard to our service team. Your patronage and loyalty is highly valued and appreciated. I am thrilled to read that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. We will look forward to our next opportunity to provide you with our True Waldorf Service.

Sincerely,

Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

I had a friend/business associate in Chicago for a three day stay at this hotel. From top to bottom every detail was great. Starting with concierge Edward Tobin, to head of marketing/PR Lori Hacker, to the front desk, to the car valets, to the room service staff and to the house keeping staff every single person was courteous, friendly and accommodating.

This is our new hotel home in Chicago. My middle name is "5 star" so for me to bestow these compliments on a hotel means a great deal.

It gives me great pleasure to write to TripAdvisor about the Waldorf Astoria Chicago.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Bonnie K,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share such positive remarks of your most recent visit to the Waldorf Astoria Chicago on TripAdvisor. It gives me great pleasure to read that all of our service team members you encountered during your stay were courteous, friendly and accommodating. I have shared your positive remarks with the entire team as I know they will find equally rewarding to read of your acknowledgement of their efforts to make your stay more enjoyable. We are thrilled to learn that we have become your new hotel home in Chicago. Your family at the Waldorf will look forward to serving you again, hopefully in the not far future.

Sincerely,

Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waldorf Astoria Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Chicago

Address: 11 East Walton, Chicago, IL 60611 (Formerly Elysian Hotel Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 171 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Five-Diamond Waldorf Astoria Chicago(formerly The Elysian Hotel)is located in the heart of the prestigious Gold Coast neighborhood amognst the Magnificent Mile and Oak Street famed restaurants, retailers and lakefront. The award-winning 188-room hotel through innovative services and technologies, creates a new experience in luxury – energetic and fashion forward, warm and welcoming, and fresh and engaging. Amenities include a 14,000 square-foot spa & health club; 4,500 square feet of private event space; European-inspired bistro, Balsan; haute bar Bernard's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Amex, Priceline, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waldorf Astoria Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.