We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and perfect location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waldorf Astoria Chicago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Waldorf Astoria Chicago to your Saves list
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 East Walton, Chicago, IL 60611 (Formerly Elysian Hotel Chicago) (Gold Coast)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Suite Savings - 15% off
Ranked #6 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great hotel and perfect location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Would definitely recommend the Waldorf Astoria - luxurious hotel and perfectly situated close to the magnificent mile for easy access to the best shops and restaurants! Staff were friendly, rooms were spacious and views from the rooms are great. Wifi was super fast. Whilst there, definitely make a trip to the John Hancock building for dinner at The Signature Room. Also great to go for a run in the morning, alongside Lake Michigan. Sprinkles cupcakes are just around the corner!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Shayna C,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback of your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor. It gives me great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your suite, the hotel’s location and the different unique amenities the Waldorf has to offer. We truly value your patronage and can’t wait to welcome back, hopefully in the not far future.

Sincerely,
Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,151
    126
    56
    10
    11
See reviews for
289
589
77
256
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Chicago Waldorf is ok but not great. Maid service might or might not happen. Breakfast room dark. Before we arrived we told them one of our children is allergic to dairy so they brought up buttered popcorn. The best part of the hotel is the spa which is very nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear William M,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Waldorf Astoria Chicago. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed our Elysian Spa. On the other hand, I am terribly disappointed and concerned about the various inconveniences you experienced throughout your visit, especially with regard to our housekeeping services and our lack of acknowledgement of the dietary restrictions you had shared with us for one of your children. I certainly hope you can give us another opportunity to properly serve you so that we can provide you and your family with the True Waldorf Service I know our team can deliver. We will look forward to welcoming you back should your travels bring you back our way.

Sincerely,
Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, Connecticut
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I am a corporate relations director for a large IT firm and we host reception/dinner events all over the country. We had our annual dinner function for 200 guests on the 23rd of July and The Waldorf made it effortless for me. The staff from beginning to end were fantastic, creative and responded 24/7 to any questions I had. The night was seamless, the food was excellent, well presented and enjoyed by all. We had the Sommelier suggest wines for us and they were perfect. Do not hesitate to make this the venue for any function you may be having whether it is corporate or personal. You will most certainly be impressed. We also had a 16ft ice carving raw bar which was over the top. The local company we used was "Art Below Zero"... worldclass, anything you could imagine they can put together for you... Again the Waldorf worked with my vision, enhanced it and delivered without a hitch. Thank you Waldorf for making me look so good. See you again next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear alexisev,

Thank you so much for visiting us again at the Waldorf Astoria Chicago and for choosing our hotel to host your event. I am truly delighted to read that our team was able to successfully execute your reception the way you needed. Thank you for your kind remarks pertaining to our catering and food and beverage team. We highly value and appreciate your patronage and loyalty. We will look forward to welcoming you and your guests back next year.

Sincerely,
Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Just like very other review, WHOA, I might even say this is the best hotel we have stayed in, the service was excellent (and the no tip policy is fantastic for someone unfamiliar with the US tipping system), the rooms were brilliant, we were upgraded to a suite and the size was similar to a small unit!

I think any hotel can have a 5star standard of rooms, but what makes this stand out was the seamless service it provided, that's what makes this hotel stand out as one of the best hotels, and without doubt the one I would stay at in Chicago.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear neiljrodgers,

Thank you so much for your review of our recent stay with us and for your kind words pertaining to our service team and the quality of our rooms. I am delighted to read that we were able to offer you an upgrade, but most importantly, that you enjoyed your suite and our no tipping policy. It is our service philosophy to serve without expecting anything in return, except our guests’ desire to visit with us again. I will certainly share your kind comments with the entire staff as I know they will be equally pleased to learn of your recognition of their efforts to meet our guests’ needs and exceed their expectations. Your patronage and loyalty are highly valued and appreciated. We will look forward to welcoming back soon.

Sincerely,
Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Everything was perfect-we'd arranged for a suite and got upgraded to a bigger suite at check in. Nice! The room was large and everything appeared brand new. The spa and workout room are really nice, too. The location is perfect, easy to negotiate/walk the Mag Mile/Gold Coast/RiverNorth areas. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Mark R,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor. It gives me great pleasure to read that we were able to offer you an upgrade and that you enjoyed your suite, our Elysian Spa and the hotel’s location. Thank you for recommending our hotel. Your patronage is highly valued. We will look forward to welcoming you back when your travels bring you back our way.

Sincerely,
Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We started to staying at this hotel a few years ago when it was the Elysian. We have stayed at luxury hotels all over the world and this one of the best! Can not beat the amenities or the location. Not to mention the service!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Tina J,

Thank you for sharing your review of your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor and for visiting with us again. I am thrilled to read that you enjoy the hotel’s amenities, our service standards and location. Your loyalty is highly valued and appreciated. We will look forward to serving you again, hopefully sometime in the near future.

Sincerely,
Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I cannot say anything but wonderful things about my expericence at the Waldorf Astoria in Chicago! I cannot recommend one single thing that I recommend doing any better! I highly recommend staying at this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Sandra Y,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your positive feedback of your most recent stay with us on TripAdvisor. It gives me great pleasure to learn that you had a memorable experience. I will certainly share your kind remarks with the entire team, for comments like yours inspire our continued pursuit of excellence in everything we do. We will look forward to our next opportunity to serve you when your travels bring you back to Chicago, hopefully in the not far future.

Sincerely,
Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waldorf Astoria Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Chicago

Address: 11 East Walton, Chicago, IL 60611 (Formerly Elysian Hotel Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Five-Diamond Waldorf Astoria Chicago(formerly The Elysian Hotel)is located in the heart of the prestigious Gold Coast neighborhood amognst the Magnificent Mile and Oak Street famed restaurants, retailers and lakefront. The award-winning 188-room hotel through innovative services and technologies, creates a new experience in luxury – energetic and fashion forward, warm and welcoming, and fresh and engaging. Amenities include a 14,000 square-foot spa & health club; 4,500 square feet of private event space; European-inspired bistro, Balsan; haute bar Bernard's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waldorf Astoria Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.