We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Redemption!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waldorf Astoria Chicago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Waldorf Astoria Chicago to your Saves list
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 East Walton, Chicago, IL 60611 (Formerly Elysian Hotel Chicago) (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Suite Savings - 15% off
Ranked #6 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Bingham Farms, MI
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Redemption!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Just stayed at the Waldorf on another business trip and they fully lived up to their reputation! Friendly and accomodating service along with world-class accomodations - everything you would expect from a hotel of their caliber. If you are looking for the best place to stay in Chicago, the Waldorf Astoria is it hands down!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Jeff S,

Thank you so much for choosing the Waldorf Astoria Chicago as your hotel of stay during your last business trip into the Windy City. I am delighted to read that you felt welcome and that our service team was able to efficiently assist you throughout your visit. We truly value your patronage and can’t wait to welcome you back when your travels next bring you to Chicago either on business or pleasure.

Sincerely,
Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,163
    129
    58
    11
    11
See reviews for
291
597
78
259
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This hotel is one of the best hotels in Chicago. It is like being at home. It is extremely quiet, never a busy lobby and elegant in every way. Each room has a fireplace and the decor was very pleasing and tranquil. We would highly recommend this hotel and the location is absolutely perfect!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Debra S,

Thank you so much for your review of your recent stay at the Waldorf Astoria Chicago. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed the location and ambiance of the hotel and its overall décor, especially the warm residential feeling of our guest rooms. Thank you also for recommending our hotel. We will look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the very near future!

Sincerely,
Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I just completed a survey the hotel sent me and will repeat: Beautiful hotel, outstanding room/suite and Excellent staff! Life is short; everyone should stay at the Waldorf at least once. This is a real luxury hotel. Gorgeous lobby with stunning chandelier and marble floors. We had a huge suite with balcony, fireplace, microwave,refrigerator, freezer with ice. Even had a tiny tv in the luxurious bathroom- how great is that!.Suite was in pristine condition with comfortable bed, lovely soaking tub with very nice bath amenities and soft towels. It felt like a luxury apartment/condo and I told the staff we were moving in permanently! Turn down service every evening consisted of complimentary bottled water and a card with next days weather report. Hotel is in an excellent location, just couple blocks to Michigan Ave, close to 900 Shops and Water Tower Place. Near lots of great restaurants on Rush Street. One of the best perks is ability to use their friendly and gracious drivers for visits within 2 miles (based on availability). All the staff we encountered from front desk, door attendants, concierge, drivers and housekeeping were pleasant and professional. A special thanks to Martin who checked us in and was so very welcoming and helpful during our stay; and to Al the excellent concierge who went out of his way to track down a magazine I asked for (above and beyond the call of duty and truly appreciated!) and to our personable and friendly driver, Joe, who we enjoyed some short rides with. Door staff and front desk always greeted us with a warm smile when we returned to hotel and it made us feel very welcome. We travel fairly frequently for business and pleasure and this was one of our best hotel stays, ever! A very memorable visit.The Waldorf Astoria Chicago rocks! We can't wait to return.

Room Tip: If you book a suite, they are huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear FloridaTravelerG,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor and for completing the hotel’s survey as well. Your feedback is tremendously important to us. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your suite, with all of its unique amenities, the hotel’s location, and that our team was able to efficiently assist you throughout your stay. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our service team, but especially with regard to Martin, Al and Joe. I will certainly share your remarks with the rest of the staff. We truly value your loyalty and can’t wait to our next opportunity to create another memorable experience for you and your family!

Sincerely,
Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I came to the hotel with the highest expectations of any 5 start hotel. My girlfriend and I stayed 2 nights, both of which the pool and bar were not functioning. We were directed to a pool a block away; I mean this is Chicago in January people.. Our first night there we were told the bar was out, at this point I felt like half the hotels amenities were not working. We were told an engineer would come to the suite and take the sound system from the bedroom to the living area, never happened! We also told someone would come up with buckets of ice, that took 3 phone calls to get. No one mentioned a comp or anything, only a few extra bottles of water at checkout. I'm not much of complainer but this wasn't what I expected at all.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear tisco113,

First of all, thank you for your candid feedback of your stay with us. I thank you for selecting our hotel for such a special occasion as your birthday and truly apologize that we did not meet expectations. We always aim to ensure every guest feels cared for, valued and respected. Your feedback will help us deliver this brand promise. I truly apologize that some of our amenities were not available for you and your girlfriend during the time you stayed with us.

In addition, I very much regret that our staff was not more attentive to respond to your concerns and took so long to bring you the ice you requested. I can assure you that our main priority is for our guests to have an exceptional stay with us and we will do everything we need to do to ensure that these issues are corrected. I am always looking for reviews to provide insight into our guests experience and I will keep your review in mind.

Thank you again for your feedback and I invite you back to stay with us the next time your travels bring you to the area.

Sincerely,
Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

When this property first opened I was THAT guy who couldn't wait to book. My wife and I had driven by (previously The Elysian) the hotel and even walked in while they were still undergoing construction.

When we finally stayed, it was the best Hotel in America. It was beautiful but privately owned and in one of the largest cities in America. The Elysian was so good, it seemed there were not enough awards this hotel could win. We would even sneak into their Sunday supper for dinners, it was that good.

Then, the Waldorf bought them up. While the hotel remains the same, the dynamics have changed. The small boutique feel has vanished. When you call to book, your routed through the main Waldorf reservation system. Everything went standardized.

The restaurant lost its unique edge and well, it lost us. This is a story of great to good instead of good to great. I still recommend the hotel over Trump but it now rests in the same calibre as The Peninsula and Park Hyatt. These are all great hotels but like I said, Great to Good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAChicago, Director of Hotel Services at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear holaratcha,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

I am terribly sorry to learn that your experience did not live up to your expectations.
I would like the opportunity to personally speak to you and discuss what can be done to have you stay with us again in the future.

I look forward to the opportunity to regain your faith in our ability to properly serve you.

Apologetically,

Sincerely,
Kahtryn Day
Director of Hotel Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We liked this hotel so much we decided to make it our wedding venue. During our wedding planning, we even saw its transition from the Elysian to the Waldorf Astoria. The service and rooms here are impeccable.

The wedding process here was made so easy for my wife and I. Everything about the day was reflective of the hotel's overall attention to detail. The dinner service, especially, was spectacular. The new chef they brought in did a great job with our menu (as well as the pastry chef), incorporating some Asian flavors, heartier selections and a Lavender cake.

The coordinators, staff, servers and bartenders were amazing and our guests had a lot of fun.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear ml8878,

Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your last visit with us. We were truly honored to host such a special occasion for you and your spouse. We are grateful for all your kind remarks regarding our service team and our two culinary leaders. Our chefs will be so excited to learn that their playful culinary creations, both sweet and savory, were enjoyed. It is also rewarding to read that we succeeded in creating an unforgettable time for you and your guests. We truly value your loyalty and will be looking forward to celebrating with you again another memorable moment in your lives!

Sincerely,
Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauconda, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

From check in to check out our stay was wonderful. The service impeccable . Color palate relaxing and we want to duplicate in our home. This is one of the best hotels we have stay in and we hope to return soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Irene R,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. Thank you for your kind remarks regarding our service team. I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed the hotel’s décor and that is has been an inspiration for your home. We truly value your loyalty and can’t wait to welcome you and your travel companion back in the very near future!

Sincerely,
Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waldorf Astoria Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Chicago

Address: 11 East Walton, Chicago, IL 60611 (Formerly Elysian Hotel Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Five-Diamond Waldorf Astoria Chicago(formerly The Elysian Hotel)is located in the heart of the prestigious Gold Coast neighborhood amognst the Magnificent Mile and Oak Street famed restaurants, retailers and lakefront. The award-winning 188-room hotel through innovative services and technologies, creates a new experience in luxury – energetic and fashion forward, warm and welcoming, and fresh and engaging. Amenities include a 14,000 square-foot spa & health club; 4,500 square feet of private event space; European-inspired bistro, Balsan; haute bar Bernard's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Amex, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waldorf Astoria Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.