We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully luxurious stay at a beautiful hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waldorf Astoria Chicago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Waldorf Astoria Chicago to your Saves list
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 East Walton, Chicago, IL 60611 (Formerly Elysian Hotel Chicago) (Gold Coast)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Suite Savings - 15% off
Ranked #5 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tinley Park, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderfully luxurious stay at a beautiful hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here this past Saturday night as a short get away. We live local so this was quite the treat! I had read the reviews here and heard about the press in Conde Nast and we were truly pleased beyond our expectations. The hotel itself is stunning both outside as well as inside. Everyone treats you warmly and kindly and goes out of their way to make sure all your needs are met. A toothbrush kit including mouthwash was immediately brought up by housekeeping as soon as I called.
We stayed in the Astoria king one bedroom suite which was huge! 2 bathrooms, amazing soaker tub, super comfy couch, warm fireplace, lovely large balcony. Decor is serene with gray and white tones throughout. Bed is absolutely comfortable and linens are soft and white. Plenty of room to stay one night or one week.
The house car service was perfect and Art got us to our destination with time to spare. We had a lovely conversation on the way over- he is truly a gem!
We had breakfast at Balsan which was delicious--coffee and oj were perfect. Thought it was great that the staff reminded us that gratuity was included.

The ONLY unfortunate things which are do minuscule but I must bring up (because I know the hotel manager reads these) are:
The slippers they provide do not even fit on your feet. I am a task girl but the slipper could not go beyond the width of my foot, let alone the length! We kind of laughed that one off. Invest in new larger, wider slippers!

And our phone rang at 3:30 am- it was in room dining confirming our order for food....unfortunately we were sound asleep. Those calls are never fun but I kindly let them know they had the wrong room and that we were sleeping. ( must've been a VIP to get room service at that time...or a bad prank). Either way, those were the only negatives.

We wish we had more time to stay and we hope we can make it back there one day soon. We do not get away much, especially without our children, and we learned that this is definitely the way to go it and the hotel we would live to return to.

Sincerely
Waldorf Fans

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Jennifer o,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay at the Waldorf Astoria Chicago on TripAdvisor. I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed your Astoria suite with all of its different amenities, the hotel’s décor, our House Car service and our restaurant Balsan. Thank you for your kind comments regarding Art. I will certainly share them with the entire team.

I regret, however, to read about the late phone call you had and the problem with your slippers. I truly apologize for the inconvenience the phone call caused. In regard to the slippers, we do have them in a small and a large size. The team would have been pleased to bring you a more comfortable pair. On your next visit, do not hesitate to request a different pair should you need to. We truly value your loyalty and can’t wait to welcome you back, hopefully very soon.

Sincerely,
Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Tel: (312) 646-1300
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,271
    140
    61
    11
    11
See reviews for
320
631
85
286
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

My wife and I recently spent a night in Chicago at the Waldorf Astoria. We were upgraded to a suite which was incredible. Room service was very good - the food arrived in time and HOT! They have a no tip policy for the staff. We cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear houston1949,

Thank you for your review of recent stay with us. I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed your suite, our In Room Dining service and our no tipping policy. We truly value your loyalty and will look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully in the very near future!

Sincerely,
Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Tel: (312) 646-1300
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Nicest big city hotel I've stayed in. As good or better than the Palmer House suite I had years ago. The Waldorf is a little out of the way, about 2-3 blocks off Miichigan and maybe 12 blocks north of the river. Easy walk to many nice store if it is not too cold. The hotel, the room, the spa were all 5 star. Sophisticated, well healed, and friendly. I would stay there again. Yeah, it is expensive, and so is the food. But it is the Waldorf and it is in the one of the top 5 cities in North America. It was great.

Room Tip: I was upgraded to a king suite for a hundred dollars. It was worth it. BUt, I think they were a litt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear P S,

Thank you for posting your review of your recent at the Waldorf Astoria Chicago on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed your suite, the Elysian Spa and the hotel’s décor and ambiance. We will look forward to welcoming you back when your travels next bring you to Chicago either on business or pleasure!

Sincerely,
Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Tel: (312) 646-1300
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We stayed in the Waldorf Astoria for one night in September this year on our visit to Chicago. we pulled up at the hotel and the polite valet welcomed us and took our car and we was checked into the hotel promptly by the desk staff. We was shown to our room and the bellboy offered to take our bags.

The twin room was huge by city standards and felt very fresh and modern. The room was equipped with a huge tv, speaker with ipod dock and even a tv in the bathroom mirror! Unfortunately i didn't have time for a bath so didn't make use of the novelty.

We arrived in the afternoon and went out for dinner in the city so didn't make use of the Hotel's restaurant. I did use the hotel minibar which had a great collection but wasn't priced as bad as you'd expect from a hotel of this quality. The beds were really comfy and i had one of the most amazing nights sleep i've ever had. While we was out the maid serviced our room in the evening.

We checked out late morning stress free, apart from the valet bill which was over $50 for one night! I did try to tip the valet driver but he turned it down (probably felt sorry for me for forking out so much!).

Summarised this is a great hotel in a great location in the heart of Chicago and is definitely recommended. It's quite pricey as you'd expect, but compared to other 5* Hotels it wasn't priced badly at all really. Would definitely return

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Aearin,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay at the Waldorf Astoria Chicago. I am truly excited to learn that you and your family enjoyed your room, especially the comfort of our beds, the hotel’s location, and that our service team efficiently assisted you throughout your visit. We truly value your loyalty and can’t wait to welcome you and your family back hopefully in the very near future!

Sincerely,
Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Tel: (312) 646-1300
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Great location, amazing room, very large spacious bathroom with a huge tub and TV in the mirror, breakfast spot on and great food at lunch. The service was great overall, except for the front desk who seemed very bored or just very tired (we arrived around 11 pm).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear LorelaiUSA,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Waldorf Astoria Chicago. I am pleased to read that you found our guestrooms, especially the bath tub and the TV mirror, enjoyable and that the food from our restaurant Balsan was to your like. I apologize for the inconsistencies you experienced in the quality of our service. I have brought your concerns to the Guest Services Manager’s attention. Feedback like yours enables us to continue to improve our daily performance and quality of our product. We will look forward to our next opportunity to properly serve you when your travels next bring you to Chicago.

Sincerely,
Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Tel: (312) 646-1300
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I stayed at the Waldorf in Dec. 2012 and absolutely loved it. The location of the hotel cannot be beat--right in the Gold Coast area, around the corner from all the high-end stores and a short walk to Michigan Ave. I had the Astoria suite which was enormous--nice size living room with working fireplace and a good sized balcony overlooking the city and the lake, a litte bar area, a big bedroom with a separate dressing area, and an enormous bathroom with shower and separate soaking tub and a two sinked vanity. The overall decor is contemporary/modern but comfortable. The bed was also very comfortable and the amenities top-notch. The service was exceptional. For example, we asked for a taxi to go to a restaurant and the hotel drove us in the hotel car instead. The hotel is a "no tipping" hotel where all services are included in the rate. That took a little getting used (feels odd not to tip bellmen). There is free wi-fi in the room and the internet connection was very fast. The conceirge was extremely helpful in arranging transportation, restaurant recommendations, etc. All in all, an excellent hotel. I want to go back to Chicago just to stay in the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear 1LATraveler1,

Thank you so much for your review of your recent stay with us. I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed the privacy of our Astoria Suite and all of its unique amenities, the hotels décor, our house car service, and our no tipping policy. Thank you also for your kind comments regarding our service staff. I am happy to read that the team was able to efficiently assist you throughout your stay. We truly value your loyalty and we will look forward to serving you and your friends again in the very near future.

Sincerely,
Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Tel: (312) 646-1300
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This hotel was fabulous. I travel to Chicago almost every other week and was VERY fortunate to stay at the WA. The service was fantastic, we were running late to a meeting and they offered us the hotel car to get there in time. The rooms had great bathrooms (large showers, tv's in the mirror's), which every girl needs. I along with my coworkers all had suites, with living rooms, fire places, ice makers in the room and we all LOVED this hotel. It's close to walk to shopping, restaurants etc, The only thing we didn't love was the hotel bar, but since there are so many others so close, it was not an issue. A special thank you to Roman at the front desk, for helping to get our clients checked in so smoothly, above and beyond service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Ellen M,

Thank you so much for posting your review of your recent stay at the Waldorf Astoria Chicago on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed your suite, with its different amenities, the hotel’s location, and that our service team was able to efficiently assist you throughout your stay. Thank you for your kind words with regard to Roman’s performance. I will certainly share your comments with the entire team. I regret that our bar did not meet your expectations, but I am happy to learn that this didn’t affect your overall experience with us. We will look forward to our next opportunity to serve you when your travels next bring you to Chicago!

Sincerely,
Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Tel: (312) 646-1300
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waldorf Astoria Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Chicago

Address: 11 East Walton, Chicago, IL 60611 (Formerly Elysian Hotel Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Five-Diamond Waldorf Astoria Chicago(formerly The Elysian Hotel)is located in the heart of the prestigious Gold Coast neighborhood amognst the Magnificent Mile and Oak Street famed restaurants, retailers and lakefront. The award-winning 188-room hotel through innovative services and technologies, creates a new experience in luxury – energetic and fashion forward, warm and welcoming, and fresh and engaging. Amenities include a 14,000 square-foot spa & health club; 4,500 square feet of private event space; European-inspired bistro, Balsan; haute bar Bernard's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Amex, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waldorf Astoria Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.