We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deserves Its Number 1 Rating” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waldorf Astoria Chicago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Waldorf Astoria Chicago to your Saves list
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 East Walton, Chicago, IL 60611 (Formerly Elysian Hotel Chicago) (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Suite Savings - 15% off
Ranked #6 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Deserves Its Number 1 Rating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

I have spent my entire life traveling on business...I am truly George Clooney in "Up In The Air" - In one year, I flew to Europe 40 times, Japan multiple times. This is a lovely hotel, the service is just amazing, as is the location. This is a great hotel for business, and for romance, and since I am here for both, what an amazing experience. It competes because of its personal, "Abu Dhabi" like service. I struggled to imagine that it could out-perform the Peninsula around the hotel, but the Elysian locks it down on infrastructure and service. Top scores from a frequent traveler - maybe the Elysian can bring the Concorde back...

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,164
    129
    58
    10
    11
See reviews for
291
597
78
259
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

We held a customer conference at the Elysian in March 2011. The hotel and its staff are first rate and our client event was a huge success thanks to their efforts. Highly recommend this hotel for any purpose when in Chicago.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zville
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is great. The service is amazing and the rooms are fantastic.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

Everything was wonderful ! We celebrated our 50 th with our family ......children,spouses, and grandchildren. Servive was great....staff warm and welcoming...we were 15 , ranging in age from 10 mos to 81 years.....so enjoyed every moment.
Being close to everything, plus having this beautiful hotel , made for a most memorable time !

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton GA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

My daughter recently treated us to a girls weekend at this hotel. The suite was a perfect place to relax and and yet be close enough to the action that we never missed a beat. Tremendous spa with reasonable charges for services. Great bar, house car to take you for free within a 2 mile radius of hotel- huge plus over taking a cab, and very upscale furnishings including a fireplace. There are great restaurants nearby - tons of them- and we had fun exploring Michigan Ave, Lincoln Park, took a cab to a cool, new church in the West Loop called Soul City Church, enjoyed drinks on the top of the Hancock Bldg., visited the Art Institute Impressionist exhibit and took a stroll down Lake Shore to the Lincoln Park Zoo. What a hotel and what a city!!

Room Tip: Had a high floor(15th) which offered nice views and not much street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

Having travelled to many hotels across the globe,I conclude as many this is a fantastic hotel and experience.

The service is outstanding in all operations of the hotel warm welcoming yet not pushy.The room was comfortable clean warm .I had breakfast several days and the choice although limited was freshly prepared and very tasty,the spa and gym is very speacil and should not be missed outstanding facilities and one of the best massages I have had.

I can not say enough positives about the Elysian...Guys you are doing a great job if you go I am certain there will be no disappointments.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

I admit it. I'm a Park Hyatt junkie and judge most other hotels by their property near Michigan Avenue. How does the Elysian measure up? Close in some respects and miles away in others.

Location: Rush and Walton- close enough to the hustle and bustle but just far enough away to be much quieter. A great courtyard which makes in and out much easier. The view from my pricey but worth it suite can't hold a candle to the spectacular views of Lake Michigan from the Hyatt, but that deficiency is somewhat offset by the suite's balcony which allows for fresh air enjoyment.

Lobby: Cold (literally and figuratively) and uninviting. A real shame. Maybe I missed it but no beverage service either. Too bad.

Reception: Outstanding front desk service. The service at the property is beyond good. The Elysian is one of the best staffed hotels I have ever experienced.

Rooms: None finer. Great layout. Terrific amenities. Great beds. Nice muted decor. Superb bathroom. Double sinks, terrific tub and shower. Neat and clean as a pin and quiet. A plus grade.

Spa: My friend enjoyed a facial and said it was first class. The gym is weak Real weak. No weights save some dumbbells and only one bench and zero space. Park Hyatt gym rocks compared to this place. Locker room clean and well equipped.

Food: The main restaurant was closed. Breakfast was good and staff great. Nomi at the Hyatt still sets the standard with good food and terrific views, with the Elysian real close but not quite there. Still, a great breakfast experience which will only improve with time.

Overall: A great hotel on the verge of truly great.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waldorf Astoria Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Chicago

Address: 11 East Walton, Chicago, IL 60611 (Formerly Elysian Hotel Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Five-Diamond Waldorf Astoria Chicago(formerly The Elysian Hotel)is located in the heart of the prestigious Gold Coast neighborhood amognst the Magnificent Mile and Oak Street famed restaurants, retailers and lakefront. The award-winning 188-room hotel through innovative services and technologies, creates a new experience in luxury – energetic and fashion forward, warm and welcoming, and fresh and engaging. Amenities include a 14,000 square-foot spa & health club; 4,500 square feet of private event space; European-inspired bistro, Balsan; haute bar Bernard's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Amex, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waldorf Astoria Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.