We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A new diamond in Chicago's crown!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waldorf Astoria Chicago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Waldorf Astoria Chicago to your Saves list
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 East Walton, Chicago, IL 60611 (Formerly Elysian Hotel Chicago) (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Suite Savings - 15% off
Ranked #6 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Libertyville, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A new diamond in Chicago's crown!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

Every moment of our stay here was wonderful....the staff is very welcoming and helpful, the hotel in every detail is beautiful...we loved our stay here! They have a complimentary driver who will take you anywhere in the city you would like to go, which is a real treat! The rooms that we had adjoined and were very spacious (one had a fireplace) and the bathrooms were gorgeous; no detail has been overlooked! We also used the workout area which is also very well done with great equipment . Thank you, Elysian for coming to Chicago and giving us a world class place to stay...we will definately come back.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,169
    130
    59
    10
    11
See reviews for
294
599
78
261
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

Let me start off by saying this is a fine hotel and my rating is based on a comparison to other hotels at this price point.

My qualm with recommending this hotel lies in the price point. For the rack rate, better options abound in Chicago. This hotel just seems to be missing the small details that make a luxury hotel luxury. The hotel desperatley wants to be a luxury hotel, but I find their efforts wanting. I much prefer the understated and confident luxury of other well known luxury hotels in the city-especially those with a longer track record who have proven year after year to be able to meet the expectations of a decerning traveller.

There are two elevators servicing all floors, and they are s-l-o-w. I frequently waited upwards of 5-7 minutes per trip, and then had to stop at each floor to which other guests were travelling, making the total commute time from lobby to my room upwards of 10-15 minutes each leg. This adds up, particularly when you add in the unusually slow service at the front desk.

And while the bathrooms are nice, there are no towel bars or even a hook on which to hang a towel when coming out of the shower. Details like this should not be overlooked in a hotel that charges this much.

Again, I realize these are minute details, but when booking a luxury hotel, I expect these details to be noticed, not passed over.

Overall, a very pleasant hotel, but not one that I will go out of my way to stay at again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElysianHotel, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, March 31, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time and interest in writing about your recent stay with us. We use feedback such as yours and others to evaluate the achievement of our service promise.

I apologize for the elevator wait you experienced. While we strive for excellence at all levels, including elevator speed, it was clear we fell short of expectations and our engineering team has now been tasked with ensuring proper speed. We are also looking to add an additional bathrobe hook adjacent to the shower for convenience. While you consider these points to be minute details, we consider them missed opportunities to serve you with a flawless stay.

I will connect with you privately and seek a chance to speak with you in hopes of restoring your confidence to the point of earning a return visit.

Regards,
Kevin Robinson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

The Elysian is a very recent (2009) 60 story hotel. The premier gold coast suites feature a balcony, a fireplace on the living room, 2 HD TVs, and an incredible room with a very confortable bed and you can even choose the type of pillow that you want, simply 5*. There is also a very nice restaurant (Ria) and bar (Bernard’s). The SPA (at least on the men’s side) features a 20m pool, massage rooms, steam room, sauna, Jacuzzi, and is one of the best I have ever seen. And if you’re feeling lazy and don’t want to shave, there is a great barber service on the 4th floor that will make you feel. And a word for the staff, who were absolutely amazing.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

If you're in need of feeling pampered, adored, and utterly cared for, or if you simply want confirmation that yes, you are the only guest on the planet, this is the hotel for you. Clearly the staff have had extensive training coupled with ongoing excellent leadership, as I felt warmly welcomed from the moment the driver (whom Conceirge arranged) met me at the airport. The Elysian team intuitively understand how a guest wants to feel (special), and they certainly made every effort to ensure I felt like the princess I know I am. My room was astonishingly large, gorgeous, and sound-proof. The main bathroom was surely designed and decorated by someone who appreciates bubble baths for two, a shower large enough to wash the kids and the dog at the same time (okay, I don't have a dog and I didn't bring my son, but the shower is a fabulous size), a private area for one's personal business, and double sinks spaced far enough away from each other that while I'm applying eye liner, my man isn't elbowing me while he shaves. And there are electrical outlets on the walls of each sink (often there is only one outlet). The large balconly off the living room and windows in the bedroom which open allowed for fresh air when desired. The food - Oh, the FOOD - was not only beautifully presented, it was "nobody-is-looking-so-let-me-lick-the-plate" delicious. The gym was sparkling clean with state-of-the-art equipment, and the business centre was extremely helpful. My "drug of choice" dealer (Starbucks chai latte) is right around the corner; all the very best shops are within 5-7 minutes of walking, and yet you're off the beaten track of tourists (a huge plus). I could go on, but you get the idea. Seriously, what are you waiting for? Book your stay with this exquisite boutique hotel, and get ready to be welcomed with love.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

I had a free night's stay and was treated like a king! All was great, extras were memorable (fireplace in room, walk in shower, offer of free morning newspaper, free coffee delivery to room, very tasty snacks available in the bar, a staff that not only always remembered my name but they refused a tip!)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinsdale, Illinois
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

Excellent service & accomodations, from the 2 flat screen TVs to the gigantic bath & shower rooms. Also, the staff was very helpful in every regard, including providing information on the top sights of Chicago. My wife & I look forward in staying there again in the near future.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW WI
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

As out-of-state parents, we were delighted by daughter & son-in-law's elegant, first-choice wedding site. Nooo comparison to other places they'd researched. Elysian's staff was incredible, from thoroughly organized on-site coordinator, gracious front desk and inspired chef to wedding night serving staff and doormen. Everyone seemed happily vested in providing the best possible service for our very special week.

The Elysian ironed out details w/ the Chicago affianced so well that MOB had time to meditate, munch & sip tea in the spa lounge while bride2B & sis worked out in the spacious gym on wedding morning. Fine on-site salon allowed nails/ hair appointments w/out winter taxi rides elsewhere. Rapid repair of plumbing issue on night of arrival (no hot water to soaking tub) meant we could relax after long drive after all. Our suite was where extended family from each coast gravitated before and after the wedding. Room service provided munchies/ coffee/ tea so we barely needed to leave. The Elysian even provided kids games, but ring-bearers more entranced by television in bathroom mirror.

2011 was welcomed in best possible way—lovely ambiance for inspiring ceremony; wonderful food; balcony for fathers' toasts/ cigars overlooking city lights; dance space + sound sleep after it all. Thanks, Elysian!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waldorf Astoria Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Chicago

Address: 11 East Walton, Chicago, IL 60611 (Formerly Elysian Hotel Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Five-Diamond Waldorf Astoria Chicago(formerly The Elysian Hotel)is located in the heart of the prestigious Gold Coast neighborhood amognst the Magnificent Mile and Oak Street famed restaurants, retailers and lakefront. The award-winning 188-room hotel through innovative services and technologies, creates a new experience in luxury – energetic and fashion forward, warm and welcoming, and fresh and engaging. Amenities include a 14,000 square-foot spa & health club; 4,500 square feet of private event space; European-inspired bistro, Balsan; haute bar Bernard's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waldorf Astoria Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.