We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Club Quarters Chicago -- Wacker at Michigan

Save Saved
You added Club Quarters Chicago -- Wacker at Michigan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Club Quarters Chicago -- Wacker at Michigan
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   75 East Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 167 hotels in Chicago
Chicago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Stayed over Thanksgiving weekend 2013. Room was individually purchased, not as a business member of the hotel chain. Booked online in the neighborhood of a hundred dollars a night. The room was small but clean and reasonably attractive. Notable amenities included free wifi, a lounge area with free coffee and cappuccino, Staff were quite friendly. Elevators were slow and card readers in them were difficult to use. Overall, considering the location, this was a steal. It's also nice to stay somewhere where you don't feel nickel-and-dimed for every little amenity.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    271
    198
    70
    16
    13
See reviews for
62
183
63
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Our clients are staying here next week and I needed to get some "Welcome to Chicago" gifts over before our clients checked in and the hotel front desk was amazing to work with. They were very courteous, helpful, knowledgeable, and clearly took the time to make sure all was in order for my clients. This is reason enough for me to recommend this hotel. If the staff is willing to go out of there way to help for something like this, I have no doubt in my mind that they would go out of their way to make everything perfect for guests. If I am in need of a hotel room in the city, I will definitely recommend Club Quarters because of this experience. Thanks to Roman, Jay, and Tonia for your help. You guys rock!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elwood, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

This little hotel was wonderful. The staff could not have been nicer. The room, while smallish, was very clean and had a great view of the river. The common areas are very bright and comfortable, giving the whole place a cozy feel. The location is fantastic, just a few steps from the Corner Bakery for a great breakfast and cup of coffee before starting out for the day. It has a totally different vibe than the bigger hotels like the Hyatt, Sheraton, Swisshotel, etc... You feel much more "at home" and everything is more laid back, and they act like they are glad to have you there. Not always true of the bigger hotels! I will definitely stay there again when coming into the city. Location can't be beat. Excellent value.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of the river and Marina Towers. Awesome when lit up at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I've said at the Club Quarters Wacker at Michigan several times in the past 6 years. The main draw is the location and the amenities that make it all so convenient for business in Chicago. The hotel is in a can't be beat location just off Michigan Avenue. It's on the Chicago river and if you're fortunate enough to get a room facing the river, you get a spectacular view of the Trump Tower. I love that there are water dispensers on every floor. Wifi connection is seamless and fast. The gym is small but adequate for a quick workout.

What I did notice, however, on this most recent visit was gradual deterioration of the property. Laminates on the desk in the room were peeling. So were the laminates on the closet door. Parts of the carpeting were fraying. The flow of the water dispenser was pathetic (took me more than a minute to fill a 500ml bottle).

I'd like to stay here in the future but the hotel needs to do a better job of maintenance.

Room Tip: River views rooms are spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indianapolis
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed at Club Quarters for one night and really enjoyed it. The people were incredibly friendly and easy to work with. We got to Chicago early and were able to get into our room a few hours early, with no problems whatsoever. It was a great hotel, very clean, with great access to Michigan Avenue. Again, wonderfully friendly people and very, very clean! The room we were in was small, but exactly what we needed. Roman checked us in and made sure that we had a great view and easy access to our room and Jay checked us out and gave us information on how to get a great deal next time we come. We highly recommend this hotel!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

You cannot beat this location (and the views) I felt like I was in a European hotel with the small room, but the layout was great. The streamlined automated checkin was a surprise but I liked the no frills approach for our trip. No lobby, but a great lounge for guests. Loved being in a historic building downtown.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Pedro and the team were singularly nice to work with after much travelling. They upgraded my room for free. The room was simple and nice and modern. The restaurant was fine and the location was perfect. Great service and a good price! I've found my hotel in Chicago.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Club Quarters Chicago -- Wacker at Michigan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Quarters Chicago -- Wacker at Michigan

Address: 75 East Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#28 Family Hotel in Chicago
#40 Business Hotel in Chicago
#46 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Club Quarters Chicago -- Wacker at Michigan 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Club Quarters Chicago -- Wacker at Michigan is a superbly located hotel, which resides in the legendary Mather Tower. Built in 1928, the hotel features state-of-the-art amenities and attentive, but never overbearing, service. Just one block from the world-famous Magnificent Mile and steps from the Chicago River, guests will delight in the fact that the hotel is characteristically Chicago yet uncharacteristically priced. We look forward to your visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Amex, Reservation Counter, Tingo, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Club Quarters Chicago -- Wacker at Michigan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Quarters Chicago -- Wacker At Michigan Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Quarters Chicago -- Wacker at Michigan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.