We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Club Quarters Chicago -- Wacker at Michigan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Club Quarters Chicago -- Wacker at Michigan to your Saves list
Club Quarters Chicago -- Wacker at Michigan
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   75 East Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
prescott, ontario
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great value and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

For the price this place is great. While the rooms are small, the location is great and service is very good. I have eaten at the Italian restaurant located on the first floor and the food was relatively inexpensive and adequate.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    255
    79
    24
    17
See reviews for
77
230
71
192
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Club Quarters could actually be a REALLY cool hotel. The building is old and the lobby has beautiful character. The rooms are TINY! I took my Mom to Chicago to celebrate her 60th birthday. The first room they placed us in was literally like a small room on a cruise ship with 1 bed. We requested to be switched to a room with 2 beds, they were happy to accomodate. We were surprised when we arrived to our new room that it was 2 TWIN beds!! I had never experienced that before...even in Europe! That being said, the room was clean (most important thing), value was great and it was close to the Mag Mile. So if you're looking for cheap and easy, I highly recommend. If the hotel does some minor upgrades I'd give it 4 stars!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

We were so impressed with the fabulous location -- just walk outside and across the and across the street and you're on the Magnificent Mile! Also super close to the House of Blues, Trump Towers, and other great Chicago icons like the Chicago Tribune and NBC building. So many options within a 5-10 minute walk.

Rooms were nicely-appointed, clean, and quiet. Like most CQ locations, rooms were on the smaller size, but still have everything you need. The 2nd floor "Club Living Room" had great work spaces, free printing and wifi and rentable iPads.

We loved the inexpensive restaurants inside the hotel lobby (a cute, comfy Italian cafe and bar) and next door (the Corner Cafe, a casual dining similar to Panera, but less commercial, with delicious hot chocolate, baked goods, soups, pastas and sandwiches).

Best of all -- we got a great deal for the night. Less than $150, including parking, which is great for this location!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicagoland, Illinois
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

I stay here when I am in Chicago for an overnight shopping or theater weekend stay. There is not a grand lobby or staircase but a small comfortable elevator lobby. The rooms are on the smallish side but are well appointed, clean and comfortable. I was recently assigned a room with a lovely view of the Chicago River. The hotel is only steps away from the magnificent mile in one direction and about the same distance from the loop and the theater district in the other direction. I have found staff to be efficient and professional. I think this is the best hotel value in the city.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This is a budget hotel and does that VERY well. It is extremely well designed, with sleek, well coordinated and contemporary room interiors, combined with a dreamy white marble entry staircase, and elegant artwork. But it is the extra features I appreciate, such as good lighting and adequate shelving in the bathroom, in addition to all standard items. The location can't be beat. I was sent here when I came for a meeting by a national organization and they chose well. The hotel feels like a boutique hotel, with its friendly staff and cozy second floor, lounge, with LOTS of free munchies, coffee, tea and sodas. One feels at home. Unless you have five star pretentions, make Club Quarters at 75 Wacker your choice for downtown Chicago.

Room Tip: Rooms toward the river are a bit more expensive than those toward the back. We were offered an upgr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kokomo, Indiana
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This hotel is unique in many ways. The rooms have an uncanny size, and a key card is needed once inside the elevator to get to your desired floor. Outside of that, my stay was great. The $35 valet is highly recommended. Service was speedy (provided that you call 15-20 mins prior to picking up your vehicle so that it's ready when you come out of the door). In/out privileges are unlimited and the valet staff was professional and friendly. The hotel staff made check-in and checkout expedient as well. The room itself (a Superior Suite) was comfortable for its size with a nice, artsy sliding door for the bathroom, a spacious closet and decent fridge and fancy desk area. The cream of the crop is the breath-stealing view of the Chicago River with its might historic drawbridges and the bustle of city life below. The windows to the rooms open completely and do not lock in the raised position, so be careful (especially with your camera when taking pictures out of the window). Great value. The small size of the rooms is made up for with all of the great things to do for blocks, or even feet away.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed 1 night, 2 rooms (1 Suite $164/night + 1 Club/small size with partial river view $119/night) in Nov 2012. It's $100+ cheaper vs. other hotels for that 1 night

+ Excellent location, we walked everywhere and easy to get to by bus. It is right by Hotel 71, and easy access to bus - 6, 124, 146, and anything on Michigan Ave
+ Free wi-fi, club lounge (coffee)
+ Rooms are clean, decent size even for Club size (Double bed instead of Queen advertised though)
+ River view is pretty, even better if you have "full unblocked view". Our 1205 was blocked about 30%, facing the Trump tower directly
+ They offered luggage storage after check-out in a locked room. You need to get someone to help you though


- Rooms without views, given its great location, kinda disappoint. I went up to the tower for some views but none found in Stairs

* Late-check is $35 to 3 pm standard rate; $84(?) to 6 pm

Room Tip: Check lobby for upgrade rates. It was $15/night to Superior and $25/night to Suite for our night..so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Quarters Chicago -- Wacker at Michigan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Quarters Chicago -- Wacker at Michigan

Address: 75 East Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#43 Family Hotel in Chicago
#53 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#57 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Club Quarters Chicago -- Wacker at Michigan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Club Quarters Chicago -- Wacker at Michigan is a superbly located hotel, which resides in the legendary Mather Tower. Built in 1928, the hotel features state-of-the-art amenities and attentive, but never overbearing, service. Just one block from the world-famous Magnificent Mile and steps from the Chicago River, guests will delight in the fact that the hotel is characteristically Chicago yet uncharacteristically priced. We look forward to your visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Club Quarters Chicago -- Wacker at Michigan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Quarters Chicago -- Wacker At Michigan Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Quarters Chicago -- Wacker at Michigan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.