We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place to Stay, Off the Beaten Track” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bridgeport Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Bridgeport Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Bridgeport Bed and Breakfast
3322 South Morgan Street, 2nd and 3rd Floors, Chicago, IL 60608 (Southwest Side)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 26 Chicago B&B and Inns
San Francisco
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Great Place to Stay, Off the Beaten Track”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

It's hard to find a comfortable, economical place to stay in Chicago: The Bridgeport B&B is it! Spacious, clean and comfortable rooms, in a building that is full of character, in a neighborhood that is full of character. Dave and his staff are also full of character. They are full of recommendations for whatever you need, and it was always good advice. They went way above and beyond to make us comfortable and to make our trip a success. Reasonable cab fares to downtown, etc., and VERY well located if you like public transportation. Great food in the restaurant on-site.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
9
4
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Stayed here for a weekend because most of the traditional hotels were fully booked and ridiculously expensive. It was our first time at a B&B. We had a suite with two bedrooms, a small kitchenette, and a bathroom. Our rate also included full breakfasts at Dave's Polo Cafe (downstairs) and free parking. Our flight was delayed for two hours and we did not get in till almost midnight on a Friday night. We did call Dave, the owner, from the airport to let him know we would be late. Dave was very kind and understanding and was there to receive us when we arrived. The building is old (90 years old, according to Dave) so plumbling and the interior were a bit dated. The suite was relatively clean, though the carpet could use a good vaccuming especially underneath the queen-sized bed. There was also no toiletries in the bathroom but there was plenty of towels and a hairdryer. The breakfast on our first morning there (Saturday) was very good. We could order anything from the brunch menu. We had the Creme Brulee French Toast, Chilichilles and Eggs Benedict which were all very delicious, especially the Creme Brulee French Toast. Our second morning there, we were under the impression that we could order anything from the breakfast menu but was told by Kevin (Dave's right hand man/manager) that we only had two choices - Creme Brulee French Toast or scrambled eggs, potatoes and bacon. Our stay was pleasant. Dave is an awesome host. He is very hospitable, kind and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin. Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Stayed here a few weeks ago because all of the traditional hotels were booked solid and insanely expensive due to a trade show being in town. Ended up having a fantastic time! We had a suite with two bedrooms, a full kitchen, and a bathroom.

Dave, the owner, is very kind and happy to give you all sorts of tips for a great weekend in Chicago. The breakfast in the morning is included at the downstairs Polo Cafe, as is parking. The breakfast is really good, although the omelet could have used more cheese.

Even with taking cabs to and from the city (about $12 each way), you will save a bundle by staying out here. The location is the only downside - it's in a neighborhood with not a lot happening nearby. It's also fun to learn about the history of the place from Dave and to hear his stories about how the place has changed through the years. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

Dave and Kevin were exceptionally enthusiastic hosts! We booked out the B&B on behalf of small business owners from across North America attending a convention, and all were in agreement the food and service were well beyond expectations. The breakfasts were spectacular and they provided shuttle service daily to McCormick Centre. The restaurant is not operated every day, however they opened up just for our group of 11 and provided a meal that would rival any top 10 Toronto restaurant! The facility is ideal for hosting clients & suppliers alike. Lots of parking. Great value & ambience overall versus the downtown hotels. I will make certain to stay there next trip to Chicago.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhart, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

If you are planning a trip to Chicago, I encourage you to give the Bridgeport Bed and Breakfast a try. It is minutes from downtown, and very close to I94 and 55. Or, if you are in town to enjoy a White Sox game, the B&B is just a few blocks from the stadium.

Spacious rooms, mixed with great service, and the best breakfast you have ever had. Whether it is a family trip, a quick get away, or a business trip (which was my reason for staying) you can't go wrong with this gem.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

While in Chicago on a business trip, I stayed at the Bridgeport Bed and Breakfast Hotel. Owner Dave Sambler greeted me in his first floor restuarant (Polo Cafe) and served up the most delicious certified angus beef burger known to man. This was just the beginning of a three day stay that left me with a lasting impression of Bridgeport B and B. Bridgeport is close to McCormick Convention Center, White Sox Stadium, and several bus and train lines. The immediate neighborhood is middle class and was perfect for my stay. Dave and his staff delivered such personalized service, that I felt like more than just a guest. Daily gourmet breakfast (omlettes, steak and eggs) was included in the price and the serving time was flexible to meet my schedule. What more could I ask for? i had my own key to come and go as I pleased, and I the space itself was a suite/apartment with more room than I needed (2 bdrms, kitchen area, sitting room, etc. When it came time to check out and return home, I had become friends with Dave and his amazing staff. Personalized places like Bridgeport are hard to find these days. I will stay here again!
Chris Connor, NYC

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2010

Polo Cafe is known for offering Something Different ... Something Wonderful - we have agreed with this as we enjoyed their offerings at the cafe and Taste of Chicago booth. This weekend, we also got to experience David's famous French Toast in the morning following our stay above the cafe in one of the bedrooms restored to honor Bridgeport's history. Top line linens, artist painted Field of Dreams mural, autographed pics and other White Sox memorabilia were featured in our room.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bridgeport Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridgeport Bed and Breakfast

Address: 3322 South Morgan Street, 2nd and 3rd Floors, Chicago, IL 60608
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Southwest Side
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Above his legendary restaurant, Polo Care and Catering Bridgeport U.S.A., chef-owner, and now innkeeper, Dave Samber continues to offer "something different...something wonderful!" in his spacious 2 and 3 bedroom themed suites with private bath and complimentary lighted parking, plus free shuttle service TO local trains and McCormick Place. You'll also be treated to Dave's scrumptious breakfasts and his weekend brunches: Bloody Mary Brunch on Saturday and HALLELUJAH!! Bridgeport GOSPEL Brunch on Sunday. It's all part of their real Chicago Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Bridgeport Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bridgeport Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.