We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sandwich” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jimmy John's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Jimmy John's
1519 E 55th St, Chicago, IL 60615 (Near North Side)
(773) 241-5190
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,335 of 8,390 Restaurants in Chicago
Cuisines: Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Takeout, Delivery
Neighborhood: Near North Side
Chicago
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great sandwich”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

If you want a quick sandwich or their other ood go here. They can deliver . Very good value Maybe there is one where you work or live. Do not go out of your way to eat there. But nice clean places.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    3
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nothing tastes as good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

These sandwiches are so good, and literally made faster than any person who's ever assembled food at a McDonald's! we don't have this chain in California (that I know of) and when I come to the midwest, I've just gotta get it. Something about the combination of their bread, avocado spread, and provolone, it all brings back a good feeling! Fresh ingredients, friendly staff always, and so many good choices. The sandwich size is huge too! This is by far waaaaaaaaay better than Subway in many many ways. I love the bread, did I mention that yet?

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland!
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“chaos”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

this place (the one off michigan and Lake) was chaos at lunch. I guess a big order came in and noone knew whose sandwich was whose and they were overwhelmed with the big phone order. Took 20 minutes to order and get our sandwiches.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Quick and way better than Subway or Quiznos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

This place is fast. The good is one of the best for cold subs. The menu is somewhat limited but the way they combine the ingredients provides enough variety for a few different tastes. The subs are really good, but i can't always put my finger on exactly why. They just come together well. The single desert option, cookies, are also surprisingly amazing. Give it a try if you are in town, these babies are not available on the west coast!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mattoon, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great food, fast!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Not much different than any other JJ location!!! Good food, FAST!!! We enjoy eating at JJ!!!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jimmy John's also viewed

 

Been to Jimmy John's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jimmy John's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.