We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wish there was a Magnolia Studios everywhere I visited!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magnolia Studios

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chicago
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Magnolia Studios
Save
You added Magnolia Studios to your Saves list
5705 N Magnolia Ave, Chicago, IL 60660   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Vancouver, BC
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“I wish there was a Magnolia Studios everywhere I visited!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2009

This is exactly the kind of place I'd stay every time I traveled if I could: it is a simple but really nicely decorated and newly renovated studio apartment with everything you need. It is very private set back behind the host's house.

Kate is very helpful if you need anything but you probably won't -- everything is thought of and the place is super well-equipped including with a Keurig coffee maker and ample supply of Keurig k-cups, toiletries, all the kitchen things you might need to prepare a simple meal. The bed was super comfy. The shower was amazing. The garden and the setting were lovely. There was WiFi for our laptop or a netbook supplied if you didn't bring one. Even some games available.

I personally love being in a real neighborhood and getting a feel for the city that way instead of being in some tourist hotel in the middle of a tourist strip. The Andersonville neighborhood is great and there are lots of restaurants, shops, etc within walking distance or the whole city from the Bryn Mayr El Station which is just two blocks away.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
46
16
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

My husband and I prefer small inns and B&Bs to large, generic hotels, so we were happy to find Magnolia Studios as we were researching accommodations in Chicago for our five day stay. We were impressed with the lovely photos of the studios and small garden and pleasantly surprised to see the price per night.

Well, as it turns out, Magnolia Studios is exactly what we expected from our online research. The studio was homey, beautifully maintained, neat and tidy. It was also well-equipped, with a flat screen TV, fridge, oven and stovetop. There’s also a washer and dryer available. We were only there for four nights, but one could definitely stay there very comfortably for much longer. What we found very useful was the laptop with Internet connection. It made last minute planning a real cinch, to check opening times for museums, ticket costs etc. And the shower in the bathroom was super luxurious. Also, we really appreciated all of the drawers and cupboards to store our stuff. It kept us feeling organized throughout our stay.

In a nutshell, we couldn’t have been happier with and highly recommend Magnolia Studios. The owners are super sweet and helpful and definitely available should you need them. But you also feel totally free to come and go as you please, and to do your own thing, as the studios are separate from the main house. So, you get a lot more warm and fuzzy than a hotel, but more freedom and independence than at some B&Bs. It’s a perfect middle ground.

You should definitely check the place out. And while you’re in the neighborhood, may we also recommend Moody’s Pub for a beer. The place is dark and relaxed and a bit off beat. The burgers smelled great too! It’s just around the corner from the studios. Have fun in Chicago!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2009

Where to begin? I cannot tell you in enough good words how wonderful this place is. Kate and Ashley have put together a superb lodging option for anyone, no matter the purpose. Everything is top-of-the-line from the mini-stove to the luxurious shower--honestly, I would have gladly paid money just to use that alone! Everything you could ask for is provided: mini-toiletries, a cold bottle of water and soda waiting in your fridge, coffee maker--even free laundry facilities with high-efficiency appliances should you need them.

As for the owners, Kate and Ashley couldn't be more lovely. Anyone who would allow me into their home at night to chat (and I can be chatty) are worthy of high praise. Now if only they would allow us the use of their fantastic kitchen...I would whip up desserts to keep them happy for days to come!

Great neighborhood; not too far from the L and is certainly accessible to many of the popular Northern 'burb areas such as Andersonville, Edgewater and Boystown. Many restaurants from which to choose and, of course, recommendations from the happy couple are just a simple request away.

Overall, amazing value for an amazing accommodation; a diamond in the rough polished ten times over. When there are places like this around (and certainly, it seems there are few) why bother spending a ridiculous amount of money on an over-priced hotel that cannot come close to this kind of service? Thank you Kate and Ashley for a fantastic and memorable experience! I will be back!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2009

Kate and Ashley are wonderful, friendly hosts that we enjoyed , and would have loved more time with them. They want to continue to improve an already excellent accomodation. Nice street, quiet neighborhood, with several good restaurants, the EL , and the Lake very close. Stayed 11 days in studio apt. It was small, but all we needed.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2009

We stayed at Magnolia shortly after they first opened. Kate and Ashley were wonderful hosts -- warm, friendly and helpful.

The studios are in a guest house behind Kate and Ashley's own home, so you have total freedom to come and go as you like. You're a 2 minute walk from a subway station, as well as an awesome bakery (Flourish). You're also a reasonable walk / bus ride away from a bunch of other hip neighbourhoods in the northern part of the city, like Andersonville.

The studio itself is lovely. You have a well-appointed kitchenette, a small breakfast table, a laptop with internet, a nice TV, and a very modern bathroom. The bed is extremely comfortable. Downstairs from the two studios is a washer/dryer that's free to use.

We've been recommending this place to everyone we know who might want to go to Chicago! Honestly, why stay in an impersonal hotel when you could stay at a place like this, with such charm (AND a kitchen!), for less money? I couldn't recommend this place more highly.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2009

The kitchen is very spacious and well appointed. Complimentary wine, beers, coke and water waited our arrival in addition to the complimentary toiletries. The apartment has been decorated to a high standard, the supplied laptop with internet proved to be invaluable and the powerful shower was heaven. Also invaluable were the washer and tumble drier.

That the entrance is electronically operated and thus requires no keys is a big plus. It's location on a quiet street and it's proximity to local shops, public transport and nearby Anderson met all of our needs.

Kate (the proprietor) and her husband Ashley are very welcoming and friendly and couldn't do enough for us. All in all, it was a home away from home and would love to return one day. A very definite recommendation.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

My husband and I stayed in studio 1 in August while visiting family in the vicinity. The studio was very tastefully decorated, clean, light and cheerful -- a perfect sanctuary for us Everything we needed was there, down to the smallest detail, even paper towels in the kitchenette. Kate and her husband were friendly and very helpful and made us feel very welcome. The neighborhood is charming. We had a rental car to tote family around, and paid $10 more per night to have use of a garage accessible through an alley, which was a good value, since street parking was hard to find. A large car would not have fit into the garage but our rented Chevrolet HHR just fit. We would definitely return!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Magnolia Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Studios

Address: 5705 N Magnolia Ave, Chicago, IL 60660
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Guest House situated on a quiet, tree-lined street in Chicago’s Edgewater / Andersonville neighborhood, Magnolia Studios offers a choice of 3 unique Chicago suites, only five minutes from the beach and thirty minutes from downtown Chicago. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Magnolia Studios Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnolia Studios, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.