We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend to anyone traveling to Chicago, especially for several days.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magnolia Studios

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chicago
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Magnolia Studios
Save
You added Magnolia Studios to your Saves list
5705 N Magnolia Ave, Chicago, IL 60660   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Asheville, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommend to anyone traveling to Chicago, especially for several days.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2009

Kate and Ashley are wonderful, friendly hosts that we enjoyed , and would have loved more time with them. They want to continue to improve an already excellent accomodation. Nice street, quiet neighborhood, with several good restaurants, the EL , and the Lake very close. Stayed 11 days in studio apt. It was small, but all we needed.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
45
15
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2009

We stayed at Magnolia shortly after they first opened. Kate and Ashley were wonderful hosts -- warm, friendly and helpful.

The studios are in a guest house behind Kate and Ashley's own home, so you have total freedom to come and go as you like. You're a 2 minute walk from a subway station, as well as an awesome bakery (Flourish). You're also a reasonable walk / bus ride away from a bunch of other hip neighbourhoods in the northern part of the city, like Andersonville.

The studio itself is lovely. You have a well-appointed kitchenette, a small breakfast table, a laptop with internet, a nice TV, and a very modern bathroom. The bed is extremely comfortable. Downstairs from the two studios is a washer/dryer that's free to use.

We've been recommending this place to everyone we know who might want to go to Chicago! Honestly, why stay in an impersonal hotel when you could stay at a place like this, with such charm (AND a kitchen!), for less money? I couldn't recommend this place more highly.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2009

The kitchen is very spacious and well appointed. Complimentary wine, beers, coke and water waited our arrival in addition to the complimentary toiletries. The apartment has been decorated to a high standard, the supplied laptop with internet proved to be invaluable and the powerful shower was heaven. Also invaluable were the washer and tumble drier.

That the entrance is electronically operated and thus requires no keys is a big plus. It's location on a quiet street and it's proximity to local shops, public transport and nearby Anderson met all of our needs.

Kate (the proprietor) and her husband Ashley are very welcoming and friendly and couldn't do enough for us. All in all, it was a home away from home and would love to return one day. A very definite recommendation.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

My husband and I stayed in studio 1 in August while visiting family in the vicinity. The studio was very tastefully decorated, clean, light and cheerful -- a perfect sanctuary for us Everything we needed was there, down to the smallest detail, even paper towels in the kitchenette. Kate and her husband were friendly and very helpful and made us feel very welcome. The neighborhood is charming. We had a rental car to tote family around, and paid $10 more per night to have use of a garage accessible through an alley, which was a good value, since street parking was hard to find. A large car would not have fit into the garage but our rented Chevrolet HHR just fit. We would definitely return!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis, MO, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2009

My husband and I stayed at Magnolia Studios August 7th - 9th. The property is beautiful, and in a cute neighborhood. In Studio 1, the wood floors are beautiful and the bathroom is fabulous. The shower just helps you get in the "vacation" mode! Also, there are travel size bottles of lotion, shampoo, conditioner, etc for your use. There is a laptop (with an internet connection) in the room for guest's use, which was very convenient, since we normally travel with our laptop, but it was being repaired back in STL. The bed is extremely comfortable! There are dishes if you're going to eat in your room, along with a stove, microwave, and oven. There is tea/coffee/water/coke in the room that you can have whenever at no extra charge. Also, if you have stayed in Chicago and experienced tiny rooms, you will be very pleased to hear that the accommodations are extremely roomy.
You should plan on street parking if you stay here - but there are a few side streets very close to the house where we were able to find a spot to park.
If you make plans to stay here during your trip to Chicago, you will not regret it. The accommodations are great, the location nice, and the hosts are gracious.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

We simply loved the very new, European comfort and style. Clean, clean, clean! The bathroom, while not large, has beautiful slate floors, sleek modern fixtures, and large comfy towels. Heavenly bedding and mattress. There are many conveniences such as a stove, refrigerator, coffee maker, laptop with internet access, and a view of the enclosed garden. While minutes (seconds?) from Broadway, the studios in the carriage house were off-street, quiet, and private. We are very much looking forward to coming back and we have already recommended Magnolia Studios to our friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

My husband & I were in Chicago for a short visit in July. This was the first time we stayed at the Magnolia Studios. Apart from being convenient to lots of great restaurants,etc the studio that we stayed in was beautifully done! It was bright & immaculately clean. Added to all of this the very reasonable price made it an excellent choice .We hope to stay again & again when we're in Chicago . I have already recommended Magnolia Studios to friends planning to visit Chicago.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Magnolia Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Studios

Address: 5705 N Magnolia Ave, Chicago, IL 60660
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Guest House situated on a quiet, tree-lined street in Chicago’s Edgewater / Andersonville neighborhood, Magnolia Studios offers a choice of 3 unique Chicago suites, only five minutes from the beach and thirty minutes from downtown Chicago. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Magnolia Studios Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnolia Studios, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.