We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent city beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oak Street Beach

Oak Street Beach
1000 North Lake Shore Drive, Oak St (1000 N) and Lake Michigan, Chicago, IL 60611 (Streeterville)
312-747-0832
Improve this listing
Ranked #88 of 952 things to do in Chicago
Activities: Biking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Great place for water sports and biking.
Chicago
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Magnificent city beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

With the lake in front of you and the Mag Mile behind you this is the best the city has to offer in the summer. Views are stunning. Chair and bike rentals, outdoor casual cafe and takeout counter make this a great summer destination. As you would expect it is very popular and crowded in good weather. Bike path which rims the beach is congested. Take care crossing.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    44
    14
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Yet another really nice Chicago beach.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I have a hard time not giving any Chicago beaches a 5 star rating. Having spent a few years living in Chicago, the Lakefront was my seasonal home especially for riding the bike path. I simply love the surroundings, the people, the city. Even if you just park and take a walk, it is awesome. Now that I live in the suburbs, I bring the family every summer to enjoy the sights and sounds. I miss living near the beach, because there is something to be enjoyed every season.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
75 attraction reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Lovely Beach Right Down Town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Well the first thing I should say is that this is really a seasonal attraction. The second thing is it is a unique downtown attraction that is free, and easy to get to. That in itself is a luxury. Right at the top of the Miracle Mile this beach is within easy walk of visitors staying at any Michigan Avenue hotel, for those staying else where it can be reached by public transport.

By extending your range of activities from just sunbathing and building sand castles to walks on beach looking out over the lake in one direction and admiring the Chicago skyline all around you, you can extend it to most times of the year. Even a sunny still day in winter has it's charms. Walking on the sand on sunny cold day with a hot chocolate restores the soul.

The setting of a lovely wide sandy beach backed by skysrapers is something that still amazes me. In the summer there is a restaurant/snack bar, and plenty of places to buy a take out sandwich or coffee within a block or 2. A good place to decompress even if you have an hour or so to do so. Tailor your activities to the weather and your interests, relax, watch people, read a book, take in some "rays", paddle in the water, work out it's your choice.

Don't just stop at the beach, the whole lake shore park trails are a great place to walk, run or bike. This is a good place for people of all ages, who know are looking for a change of pace from the city behind them.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

One of the best beaches to visit in Chicago. It's clean, close to downtown, easy to find and walk to, and has a restaurant/bar on beach!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Illinois, United States
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
65 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“pollution central”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

typically closed due to polluted water. people leave garbage all over. i will not take my kids back. alot of fights seem to be at this beach. not family friendly and not well patrolled.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oak Street Beach also viewed

 

Been to Oak Street Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oak Street Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.