We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Goodman Theater” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Goodman Theater

Goodman Theater
170 North Dearborn St., Chicago, IL 60601
312-443-3800
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 365 attractions in Chicago
Type: Theaters
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Acclaimed local theater productions and theater education.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Goodman Theater”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

The productions are uneven in quality. Not always acceptable for younger audience members. Sometimes unexpectedly faced with nudity on the stage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    41
    13
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Goodman”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I love the various performances so much at the Goodman that several years ago I because a volunteer usher. I encourage anyone visiting Chicago to take in a play there because I have never gone to one that I didn't enjoy. Anyone moving to Chicago and want to meet new people, if you have a love of the arts volunteer.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Top notch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Great shows, great performers. If you enjoy the arts, give the Goodman a chance and go see a show. The only thing stopping me from rating this excellent is that I had attended a performance that was filled with stand ins. I know, I am being picky but when you put out for show tickets, you expect the best....especially at a place like the Goodman.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Other Desert Cities is a must see play.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

This is a great play and there are no bad seats in the house. At some places, you have to have good seats to see anything. Not here. The story has a serious theme and the humor blends well with wonderful characters. Acting was superb.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A beautiful theater with excellent productions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

For the first time we became subscribers to the Goodman theater and have now seen two of five productions. The theater is great and the plays are very professional including an eclectic choice of subjects. So far the plays have been excellent.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Goodman Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goodman Theater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Goodman Theater to your Saves list