We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view for fireworks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Navy Pier

Navy Pier
600 E Grand Ave, Chicago, IL 60611 (Streeterville)
312-595-7437
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Navy Pier like an insider
Special Offer
$85*
and up
Go Chicago Card
Ranked #77 of 952 things to do in Chicago
Activities: Shopping, Dining
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Navy Pier is the place where all of Chicagoland and tourists from around the world have come together since 1995 to enjoy the beauty and the thrills of a day on Lake Michigan. From rides to restaurants, exhibitions to entertainment, shopping to dining cruises and tour boats Navy Pier has it all - in a location unlike any other!There's so much to do in our 50 acres of parks, promenades, gardens, shops, eateries and attractions.Take a ride on our 15-story Ferris wheel. Catch a movie at the IMAX® Theatre. Visit three floors of hands-on fun at the Chicago Children's Museum inside the Family Pavilion. Experience any one of the cruise boat rides departing from Navy Pier's South Dock. Or just kick back and enjoy your favorite form of entertainment at the Pepsi Skyline Stage, Dock Street Stage, Landshark Beer Garden or Family Pavilion Stage.Come experience all that Navy Pier has to offer year-round!
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Coppell, Texas
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great view for fireworks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Wait in line to ride the Ferris wheel, great views from top and it moves slow enough to take pictures. Great restaurants along the pier. Gorgeous sailboats to watch. Wear walking shoes so some boards are uneven.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,493 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,105
    1,217
    825
    260
    86
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, Georgia
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
116 attraction reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
202 helpful votes 202 helpful votes
“Best Chicago Landmark to see along the Lake Front”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

This pier contains several restaurants, stores, and family friendly activities such as boat rides, a ferris wheel and Imax facility. You get a great view of Chicago from this pier, its very tourist friendly, and its a good atmosphere. Add this to the Magnificent Mile and one of the towers to visit if youve only got one day to spend in Chicago.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fireworks on New Years Eve”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We stayed at a hotel about 4 blocks down from the pier. We walked over to the fireworks on New Year's Eve at about 11:30 pm. It was crowded and the area around the pier was under construction. I wish that i would have scoped out the area more thoroughly and or recognized that there were buses running so we would probably have not had to fight the considerable crowd. There were lots of police officers around providing guidance and a feeling of security. The fireworks themselves lasted about 15 -20 minutes .

We had originally thought to view the fireworks from our hotel room but I am not sure that any hotel would have provided a good view. Perhaps the W Hotel or one down on south Michigan(tho sort of distant). Certainly not the Embassy Suites.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“Love Navy Pier”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We went to Navy Pier while waiting for 2 other people in our group to get out of a ballgame. It was so nice, great views of Chicago and the water. Winter Wonderland was beautiful. The employees there were so helpful when we asked a question. It is so nice to just walk around and view. I am sure it is much nicer in the summer when the Ferris Wheel is running and everything is going outside. We are so glad we visited and hope to get back one day to visit in the summer.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Architectural Cruise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We visited the Navy Pier and saw the ferris wheel and all the other games. We went on the architectural cruise that lasted 45 minutes. The boat went all around downtown Chicago and at the end had a fireworks show which we enjoyed a lot.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Navy Pier also viewed

 

Been to Navy Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Navy Pier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.