We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view for fireworks”
Review of Navy Pier

600 E Grand Ave, Chicago, IL 60611 (Gold Coast)
312-595-7437
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #77 of 362 attractions in Chicago
Book a Tour

Type: Wharfs/ Piers/ Boardwalks, Parks
Activities: Shopping, Dining
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Navy Pier is the place where all of Chicagoland and tourists from around the world have come together since 1995 to enjoy the beauty and the thrills... more » Owner description: Navy Pier is the place where all of Chicagoland and tourists from around the world have come together since 1995 to enjoy the beauty and the thrills of a day on Lake Michigan. From rides to restaurants, exhibitions to entertainment, shopping to dining cruises and tour boats Navy Pier has it all - in a location unlike any other!There's so much to do in our 50 acres of parks, promenades, gardens, shops, eateries and attractions.Take a ride on our 15-story Ferris wheel. Catch a movie at the IMAX® Theatre. Visit three floors of hands-on fun at the Chicago Children's Museum inside the Family Pavilion. Experience any one of the cruise boat rides departing from Navy Pier's South Dock. Or just kick back and enjoy your favorite form of entertainment at the Pepsi Skyline Stage, Dock Street Stage, Landshark Beer Garden or Family Pavilion Stage.Come experience all that Navy Pier has to offer year-round! « less
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Write a Review

2,099 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    739
    714
    469
    129
    48
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Navy Pier
See the most recent reviews
Irving, Texas
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great view for fireworks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Wait in line to ride the Ferris wheel, great views from top and it moves slow enough to take pictures. Great restaurants along the pier. Gorgeous sailboats to watch. Wear walking shoes so some boards are uneven.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Best Chicago Landmark to see along the Lake Front”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

This pier contains several restaurants, stores, and family friendly activities such as boat rides, a ferris wheel and Imax facility. You get a great view of Chicago from this pier, its very tourist friendly, and its a good atmosphere. Add this to the Magnificent Mile and one of the towers to visit if youve only got one day to spend in Chicago.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fireworks on New Years Eve”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We stayed at a hotel about 4 blocks down from the pier. We walked over to the fireworks on New Year's Eve at about 11:30 pm. It was crowded and the area around the pier was under construction. I wish that i would have scoped out the area more thoroughly and or recognized that there were buses running so we would probably have not had to fight the considerable crowd. There were lots of police officers around providing guidance and a feeling of security. The fireworks themselves lasted about 15 -20 minutes .

We had originally thought to view the fireworks from our hotel room but I am not sure that any hotel would have provided a good view. Perhaps the W Hotel or one down on south Michigan(tho sort of distant). Certainly not the Embassy Suites.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Love Navy Pier”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We went to Navy Pier while waiting for 2 other people in our group to get out of a ballgame. It was so nice, great views of Chicago and the water. Winter Wonderland was beautiful. The employees there were so helpful when we asked a question. It is so nice to just walk around and view. I am sure it is much nicer in the summer when the Ferris Wheel is running and everything is going outside. We are so glad we visited and hope to get back one day to visit in the summer.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Architectural Cruise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We visited the Navy Pier and saw the ferris wheel and all the other games. We went on the architectural cruise that lasted 45 minutes. The boat went all around downtown Chicago and at the end had a fireworks show which we enjoyed a lot.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Navy Pier also viewed

 

Been to Navy Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Navy Pier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.