We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FUN” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Navy Pier

Navy Pier
600 E Grand Ave, Chicago, IL 60611 (Streeterville)
312-595-7437
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Navy Pier like an insider
Special Offer
$85*
and up
Go Chicago Card
Ranked #80 of 961 things to do in Chicago
Activities: Shopping, Dining
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Navy Pier is the place where all of Chicagoland and tourists from around the world have come together since 1995 to enjoy the beauty and the thrills of a day on Lake Michigan. From rides to restaurants, exhibitions to entertainment, shopping to dining cruises and tour boats Navy Pier has it all - in a location unlike any other!There's so much to do in our 50 acres of parks, promenades, gardens, shops, eateries and attractions.Take a ride on our 15-story Ferris wheel. Catch a movie at the IMAX® Theatre. Visit three floors of hands-on fun at the Chicago Children's Museum inside the Family Pavilion. Experience any one of the cruise boat rides departing from Navy Pier's South Dock. Or just kick back and enjoy your favorite form of entertainment at the Pepsi Skyline Stage, Dock Street Stage, Landshark Beer Garden or Family Pavilion Stage.Come experience all that Navy Pier has to offer year-round!
Useful Information: Activities for young children
little neck
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“FUN”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

The Navy Pier juts out into Lake Michigan, so it is fun to walk to the end. Inside is mostly like a mall of sorts with shops and kiosks. The Ferris Wheel is there, as is the IMAX theater, which is always a treat. I loved the Stained Glass Museum (free). What a collection.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,596 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,132
    1,239
    859
    276
    90
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Nice walk ...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

It was a nice walk ..good view of the city skyline.... Very commercial very dirty and very crowded...

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Take a walk on the Navy Pier”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Great weather...great day on the Navy Pier. There is so much entertainment and markets to enjoy that you can stay a whole day on the Pier.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Great hangout spot on a summer weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

This attraction has quite a bit of history behind it and all the commercial and historical significance aside, its just a great place to walk around and enjoy with family & friends.
I am inclined to say Summer would be a better time to go there for obvious reasons, but again, i am not from Chicago and i have never been here during winter so i cannot vouch for your winter experience.

My take on this attraction:
Allow about 4 to 5 hours to leisurely enjoy the place.. its huge.
Try not to drive if you can.. if you do, be prepared to pay a few bucks for parking
[i think its around $ 30 for the day during summer time]

Not too far from most of the other attractions in the City

Take the Ferris wheel to get great views of the City

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“don't count on the trolley”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We visited Chicago on a very cold day in December expecting to catch the trolley on Illinois st as advertised online. It never showed up. Our walk was well over 30 minutes and the trolley did not come by. I don't mind the walk but the kids were very cold and tired by the time they got there. We did not research the bus routes because we were counting on the trolley.
The Winter Wonderfest is always nice, but has become so crowded that kids stand in line for 30-45 minutes for some of the rides.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Navy Pier also viewed

 

Been to Navy Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Navy Pier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.