We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a business trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5615 N Cumberland Avenue, Chicago, IL 60631 (Formerly Clarion Hotel Barcelo - O'Hare Arpt) (O'Hare)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 20%
Ranked #115 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good for a business trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

I booked for 2 nights at this hotel. I had to pass a USMLE exam and service was good. Room was clean and they have frige, microwave, HD TV, two queen beds and nice view from the window.
The bad thing is there is heavy construction site near the hotel and nothing fancy to see.
The location is fairly close to many restaurants. Its about 20-25 minutes away from South Michigan Avenue.
I had a relaxing sleep at night before the start of my next test.
Best part of the hotel is the bar (Louie), the service was good. The bar scene looks great and they serve food. They also have nice people in there.


I recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard J, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review, September 30, 2014
Hi Bravo1982,

Thank you for your feedback, we truly appreciate it. We are pleased that you were able get a relaxing nights sleep before your USMLE exam. Thanks again and we hope to see your during your next trip to the Chicago area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    140
    89
    34
    30
See reviews for
73
75
60
125
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

The front desk staff is great, very friendly and helpful. Location is good, close ro the airport (which makes it a little loud). Rooms are clean but very old and in need of an update. Breakfast buffet is grose and way overpriced. I will not stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear girons,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. I am glad to see that you left some feed back on what you liked as well as what fell below your expectations. I certainly appreciate the compliments on the staff and the level of service provided. I am truly sorry to hear that the breakfast served during your travel did not live up to your expectations. Rest assured that the issues you have raised have been documented and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Stayed the night before my 6 am flight and left my car for 3 days. The check in was efficient and had posted times for the shuttle so I didn't need to worry about early morning transfer. Room was very clean and quiet. Parking on the second level was ok, but I couldn't find a direct access to the hotel from the lot and had to walk down the ramp and around to front entrance. The bath rum plumbing is coming out of the wall, but everything was clean, so not a big deal.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard J, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review, September 30, 2014
Hi JK2748,

Thank you for your feedback. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our clean and quiet rooms. I am sorry for the inconvenience you encountered entering our building from the 2nd floor parking garage. We value your feedback and will document and review these procedures. Thanks again and we hope to see you during your next trip to O'Hare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Travelled to Chicago to celebrate our son's graduation from Columbia College. Downtown options were ridiculous...so we ending up pushing closer to the airport where accommodations were at least reasonably priced for the area. The rooms were comfortable. Traffic was a bit of a challenge due to construction. There seemed to be more people than parking, but we managed. This was no frills, a little tired and definitely no free breakfast. We basically needed a place to sleep-and this worked fine for what we needed.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Kn00kie,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. It is pleasing to know that our comfortable rooms worked suitably for your needs. I am disappointed to know you did not enjoy your overall experience with us, and apologize for the parking situation. Thank you for bringing this up to our attention and rest assured, these issues will be looked into. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Charisse V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

If you don't plan to spend a lot of time in a hotel room but want to do the city at a reasonable price this is a usually a great deal.
Across the (busy) street you can easily get on the blue line and take it into the city. The rooms are clean. They do need to add more parking though and it would be nice if they did shuttle you to and from the park and ride because it is a short walk especially if it's really busy or dark.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard J, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review, September 30, 2014
Hi HMRUNI,

Thank you for your comments. I am glad that you were able to enjoy our close proximity to the Cumberland Blue Line station and our clean rooms. We hope that you will return during your next trip to the Chicago area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

This hotel is about three miles from the airport. I was put there by the airline after missing my connecting flight home on 4th July. The room was fine, but I was kept awake for hours by the noise of fireworks, so I am guessing that the double glazing is a bit tired.

The person on the front desk when I checked in was friendly and efficient, given that he had to handle a long line of tired people in the same situation I was in.

However, there were two issues that would make me hesitate to recommend the hotel, or stay there again. One was that I had to wait an inordinately long time for the shuttle - about an hour and a half - from making the first call. A couple waiting with me who had been bumped after an international flight were so frustrated by the wait that they paid to stay at the hotel in the terminal. We had both called reception a couple of times and were given ETAs that were simply not true.

The other issue was, given my shuttle experience the previous evening, I asked the person on duty the next morning to call a taxi for me as I had slept through my alarm and was running late. She argued that the shuttle would get me there on time. Finally she called the taxi company and, when she was given what turned out to be the accurate time of ten minutes, she said 'please cancel it' without consulting me, and put the phone down. This led to a further delay and ultimately I had to ask her once again to call the taxi, which did arrive before the shuttle left, and I caught my flight.

I think that there is a pressing need for customer care training and perhaps more effective supervision. It's a big hotel that probably handles hundreds of bumped passengers each year. I didn't feel respected and it left a poor impression of Chicago and that particular hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle R, Front Office Supervisor at Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
We regret that the service provide was not welcoming. Our priority is to ensure all guests receive superior customer service. We appreciate your comments and thank you for bringing these concerns to our attention. We hope you give us another opportunity on you next visit to Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We had several hotels to pick from but choose this holiday inn....bad choice. No mater what we asked for the answer was "no". Triple a discount...yes but not for you so, no. Clean bathtub? No silly traveler. But you have a hot tub? No. Ahh but you have breakfast? Yes if you want to pay $14 for the slop at bar louie. Oh we can eat at bar louie...great! Not really....food was horrible only outdone by poor service. Guy at counter was nice but if u want ANY inclusions...well keep riding to another hotel. We travel a lot and this is one of the worst we have stayed at....good news is we stayed at marriot the next night...as we travel our money will now go to marriot.

Room Tip: A good room is ANY other hotel inluding a super 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle R, Front Office Supervisor at Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Your feedback is very important to us. We apologize for the inconvenience during your stay. I assure you that our priority is to make all of our guest feel welcomed. If you have time, I would like to learn more about your visit to our property. You can contact me directly at 773-693-5800 or by email mramirez@lakhanihospitality.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare

Address: 5615 N Cumberland Avenue, Chicago, IL 60631 (Formerly Clarion Hotel Barcelo - O'Hare Arpt)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > O'Hare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare 3*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort meets convenience at Chicago O'Hare International Airport hotel. The Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare Airport Hotel (ORD), just minutes from downtown Chicago, offers you quality lodgings near the airport, making us your top choice for comfort and convenience in Chicago. Come and dine 24-hours in our new Bar Louie restaurant and bar. Bring your family to our Chicago O'Hare hotel, located just off I-90 with close proximity to all that Chicago has to offer. Nearby attractions include the Rosemont Theatre, Allstate Arena, Wrigley Field, Millennium Park, Sears Tower and shopping on the Magnificent Mile. Corporate travelers seeking prime Chicago O'Hare accommodations will not be disappointed in this hotel. O'Hare International Airport is just two miles away, and we are close to numerous businesses such as Career Builders, US Cellular, OCE, T-Mobile, the Big Ten Headquarters and the Donald E. Stephens Convention Center. The Blue Line of the subway is within walking distance of our Chicago Airport hotel. In addition, we offer a business center with a fax machine, copier, printer, computer and free high-speed Internet access. While staying at our Chicago O'Hare hotel, you can enjoy amenities including a heated, outdoor pool, a 24-hour fitness center, an ATM machine and Bar Louie, our new 24-hour restaurant and bar, where kids eat breakfast for free. While traveling, you can bring your furry friends to our pet friendly hotel near O'Hare Airport. Book your Chicago hotel reservations now to enjoy our great rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chicago o`Hare Hotel Chicago
Chicago Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.