We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5615 N Cumberland Avenue, Chicago, IL 60631 (Formerly Clarion Hotel Barcelo - O'Hare Arpt) (O'Hare)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #115 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

I would commend the staff in general, but particularly a Ms. Michelle Ramirez, the Front Desk Manager on duty when we checked in. We were a little apprehensive about staying in Chicago and going anywhere. Her patients and tenacity to inform us on how to take the train downtown and things to do was admirable. Ms. Ramirez provided coupons to certain events that turned out to be outstanding attractions and worth seeing. These free coupons resulted in saving us over $150. Without a doubt our stay in Chicago turned out to be a memorable one due to Ms. Ramirez and her knowledge, initiative, motivation, and dependability which contributed to an effective and enjoyable final day of our vacation. Nothing is within walking distance that we saw. We crossed busy street to walk about 2 blocks to downtown train. We ate breakfast buffet at this hotel and it was decent.

Room Tip: Make sure room is not across from elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle R, Front Office Supervisor at Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with. I'm happy I was able to help make your stay in Chicago memorable. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    137
    85
    34
    30
See reviews for
69
74
58
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

I stay at Holiday Inns often, both for business and when on vacation. Generally, I’ve found that the bigger and busier the HI, the poorer the service. The HI Chicago O’Hare is no exception. In fact, this was one of the worst stays at an HI I have ever experienced.

First, the location: The only reason I chose to stay at this hotel is because it billed itself as being within easy walking distance of the Blue Line Cumberland train station. Although I would say it was within walking distance, it was a pretty far walk (particularly for my elderly parents), and across a very busy highway exit intersection. “Far” is relative, but this was close to a kilometer away, particularly because the entire area was under construction as well. Even without the construction, it still would have been 10+ minute walk. It was definitely not a convenient location. They do have a shuttle bus that will take you to the blue line station, but it leaves every 45 minutes (more on this later).

Second, service at this hotel ranged from unsatisfactory to very poor. One of the staff was quite rude to my wife upon checking in. Additionally, we had a horrible experience with their shuttle van. We took our parents by the hotel van to the airport as they were leaving a day earlier than us, and was told by the driver that he would pick us up at the arrival area (Gate 5E) a few minutes later. After waiting a few minutes, we called the hotel and asked when the van would pick us up. We were told (staff name was Maria) that it would be within 30 minutes. Half an hour came and went, and I called back again, only to be told by Maria that the van was dropping off some people at departures and would pick us up within 10 minutes. 20 minutes later, I called again, and was told the van would be there within 5-7 minutes. After another 20 or so minutes, I called again and demanded to talk to a manager. The same staff person (Maria) IGNORED my request to put me through to the manager, and told me that the van would be there within 15 minutes. After waiting a few more minutes (we had waited a total of an hour and a half), we gave up and took the train back to the hotel (again having to endure a 15 minute walk through a busy intersection under construction). This occurred on May 31, in the late morning around 11 AM.

As for the rest of the hotel, I would say it was very average. The room was nice and seemed clean, although the bathroom toilet was very noisy. The attached pub had good food, but note there is no complimentary breakfast (the breakfast buffet was about $12 per person and pretty average quality). The good things about this hotel were that the internet connection was very good, and there was a Mariano’s grocery store a 3 minute drive away just north of the intersection. Otherwise, this place was pretty flat.

Staying at this hotel was the low point of our trip to Chicago, and I would never recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear TLAM99,

Thank you for taking the time to relay your comments regarding our property during your recent stay. I am pleased to hear that you found your room clean and the Internet connection good.

Please accept our sincere apologies the overall dissatisfaction you had experienced and if our hotel fell below your expectations in many aspects. Also, I am sorry for the unsatisfactory staff service you have received. We greatly appreciate your feedback as this gives us an avenue to improve our guest satisfaction.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and we hope to have the honor to serve you again should your travels bring you back to Chicago.

Best Regards,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Booked using points after flight cancellation. Walk in room to find a used towel on floor. Front desk attempted to call housekeeping. I requested another room all together. It was raining hard outside. The 2nd room had water pouring in through wall above window. I had to place towels on top of AC unit to catch all the water. I stayed here before, and expected better.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Mark11204,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the room conditions prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We checked in very late, and only stayed for one night, so we were probably in the room for a total of 10 hours. We checked in so late that we got a handicap access room (#327), which was fine. (The bathroom has some bars and a large doorway.)
Overall, it is a Holiday Inn, a hotel with very standard rooms.
The one thing that stood out was the shower. The water pressure was incredible, which was really nice after getting off of a somewhat stressful flight.
The only negative was that the walls may have been a bit thin. We did hear a couple in the next room, um, expressing their feelings for each other. Perhaps they also really liked the shower.

Room Tip: The handicap access rooms are totally fine, and maybe they don't get as much use as the other ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle R, Front Desk Supervisor at Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time out to write this review. We are so glad you were able to relax and enjoy your stay with us. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Hotel isn't bad. Shuttle driver cracked me up. Weather in Chicago made all the hotels full, but overall service was still good enough. The hotel bar/restaurant is pretty good, actually a really good burger. Beer was cold. Nothing special here, but nothing horrible either.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Scott C,

We continually strive to give great service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we have met your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment. Thank you for your feedback.


Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Overall, a very pleasant experience. All of the staff I interacted with were friendly and helpful. The property is easy to get to. Parking was plentiful. The room was always very clean, and averaged size for a hotel. My room had a small refrigerator and microwave, which was handy. The biggest drawback was the mattress, which I believe was at the end of it's useful life. It was acceptable, but nowhere near the nicest hotel mattress I've slept on. Also, bring earplugs...being so close to O'Hare, there is plenty of plane noise. The fitness center was nice, and had enough equipment. Breakfast buffet was average...had some hot items as well as standard breads, etc.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scandia, Minnesota
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
141 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
328 helpful votes 328 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

The hotel's location is great and the shuttle time is quick. The rooms and service are fine but for me the true selling point is Bar Louie which is a HUGE upgrade over the previous franchise. There was a great beer selection, excellent food and reasonably priced. This will be the tipping point and this will be my new storm hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle R, Front Desk Supervisor at Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we will be waiting for your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare

Address: 5615 N Cumberland Avenue, Chicago, IL 60631 (Formerly Clarion Hotel Barcelo - O'Hare Arpt)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > O'Hare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare 3*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort meets convenience at Chicago O'Hare International Airport hotel. The Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare Airport Hotel (ORD), just minutes from downtown Chicago, offers you quality lodgings near the airport, making us your top choice for comfort and convenience in Chicago. Come and dine 24-hours in our new Bar Louie restaurant and bar. Bring your family to our Chicago O'Hare hotel, located just off I-90 with close proximity to all that Chicago has to offer. Nearby attractions include the Rosemont Theatre, Allstate Arena, Wrigley Field, Millennium Park, Sears Tower and shopping on the Magnificent Mile. Corporate travelers seeking prime Chicago O'Hare accommodations will not be disappointed in this hotel. O'Hare International Airport is just two miles away, and we are close to numerous businesses such as Career Builders, US Cellular, OCE, T-Mobile, the Big Ten Headquarters and the Donald E. Stephens Convention Center. The Blue Line of the subway is within walking distance of our Chicago Airport hotel. In addition, we offer a business center with a fax machine, copier, printer, computer and free high-speed Internet access. While staying at our Chicago O'Hare hotel, you can enjoy amenities including a heated, outdoor pool, a 24-hour fitness center, an ATM machine and Bar Louie, our new 24-hour restaurant and bar, where kids eat breakfast for free. While traveling, you can bring your furry friends to our pet friendly hotel near O'Hare Airport. Book your Chicago hotel reservations now to enjoy our great rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chicago o`Hare Hotel Chicago
Chicago Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.