We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place and value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5615 N Cumberland Avenue, Chicago, IL 60631 (Formerly Clarion Hotel Barcelo - O'Hare Arpt) (Northwest Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #110 of 167 hotels in Chicago
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great place and value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights. Nice hotel. Great restaurant (Bar Louie) on first floor. Clean room. Good service. 3 minute walk to CTA Blue Line for service to Downtown and O'Hare. I would stay again for sure!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you Mark11204 for choosing our hotel and selecting us for a future stay! We at the Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare look forward to the next time you stay with us.

-Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    124
    78
    32
    26
See reviews for
62
68
55
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bexbach
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
144 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

the Hotel is located at the airport , it offers a free shutte service - but ask for the time . The shuttle could not be pre booked . downtown is easy to reach by subway.
the room are spacious quiet and good equipt.
The room and the bathroom is very clean .
The bead and the sleep comfort good too .
a good choice for a short layover .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
I've said it before and I'll say it again, it is all about the location! Thank you khzuerich, for ranting and raving about the services we provided to you. I want to promise you one thing, next time you stay with us I want it to be a great choice for a layover.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I had a late flight into O'Hare and needed a close place to crash for the night. This Holiday Inn on Cumberland worked out for us. Free parking is good, and they have a real restaurant, Bar Louie, vs. a bad generic place, so that is a plus. The hotel as it self is just OK. No frills. It's clean and the bathrooms in the rooms are updates. I also liked that we had a microwave and a "big" small fridge in the room if needed. Vending machines took coins or credit cards - no bills. I found that strange, but no big deal. My only real issue is that the windows are not well insulated. Since you are right on the flight path for O'Hare you can hear the planes landing all day / night long. Though the airport does slow down between 11 pm and 5 am.

If you are coming in from the City or headed downtown, this location is very close to the Blue LIne's Cumberland stop. Depending on the amount of luggage you have, it's an easy walk. They do have an airport shuttle - but I did not use it at all.

All in all, this hotel is what it is. A typically Holiday Inn with a nice restaurant - sports bar really. Tons of TVs. Oh, I did get free breakfast, or as my father-in-law says, "it was included in the price."

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
It is all about the amenities, mpauli! We hit a lot of high points with you during your stay and I do see that we have a couple areas of improvement we need to hit. But you loved our location, restaurant, and our breakfast. I would love for you to be our guest again, so we can really WOW you. Thank you for your review and we look forward to hosting you again.

-Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The hotel is ok. it needs some major refurbishment. as a PC platinum member I did get a nicer room on the top floor. The breakfast buffet was good. The bar is nice although one bar tender need to refrain from making judgements about people based on statements the customers make about certain cities. The tap beer selection was excellent.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

After a cancelled flight and a crazy set of events at O’Hare, we were provided accommodation at this facility (note, not a hotel). Although the staff were courteous, the location was not very pleasing in terms of the actual rooms. Noises throught the bathroom vents - yep, you could hear people "down there"?? We were there for a very short stay and were happy to leave. I was a little peeved when I asked for a taxi and he ordered a limo service, who do not like credit cards. Well I guess I will not be back if I ever need to stay near the airport. From the outside OK, inside, it needs some serious work.

Room Tip: Not hear the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you ossieosborn for taking the time to write us. It seems like your day overall was very hectic due to your flight cancellation. Our staff definately trys to ensure that all of are guests are in a nice warm bed at the end of the night. I hope you had a better rest of your trip and got home safetly. If you do decide to come to Chicago and are in the area I would love for you to be our guests again and hopefully under better terms.


Thank You Again,

-Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Branch, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Had 2 rooms for 5 nights and 1 room for 2 nights (5 people). Front desk staff very courteous. Checked in on 3/11 and on 3/14, there was a large conference at the hotel. After being away from the hotel for the majority of the day, we returned approximately 5 PM and were unable to find a parking place anywhere on the hotel property. The lot in front of the hotel was full with every space both legal and illegal was full. The garage and the parking deck on the property was also full, with vehicles parked illegally in handicapped spaces (no visible handicapped plates or placards) and in clearly marked fire lanes and in front of fire dept standpipes. This is a major safety violation and management does not appear to show any concern for the safety of the hotel guests. The closest off property parking was over 3 blocks away, as the neighborhood parking by the hotel is restricted by residential permit only. Violators were subject to ticketing and or towing. Numerous hotel guests that were attempting to check in and I, voiced our "displeasure" to the front desk staff. They were most apologetic and courteous, but offered no solution to the problem. Suggested that we all just wait until the conference was over and that the parking probem should be resolved. I left the property for a few more hours and returned to find the situation was still the same. After parking over 3 blocks away, I hiked back to the hotel and asked to speak to the Manager on Duty. He offered no resolution to the problem, but was most apologetic and courteous. I can't help but wonder how they'll get repeat business, if this is the way paying guests are treated. Courtesy and apologies only go so far. M.O.D. did not even seem concerned that vehicles were illegally parked in handicapped spaces and in fire lanes and in front of fire dept standpipes on the property. I did notice later, that a Chicago Fire Dept Chief approached the lead of the valet parking group and asked why there were vehicles parked in the clearly marked fire lanes and in front of the standpipes. I don't know the outcome of the encounter, but there were parking spaces available later that evening.
Regarding the climate control, there was no happy medium. The controls on the heating unit appeared to be defective, as it was either too hot or too cold, even after multiple attempts to adjust the controls. There was also a terrible draft of outside air (cold) from around the heating unit. This matter was also discussed with the front desk staff and they assured me that they would have property maintenance look into it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Dennis S,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Check-in was smooth, staff friendly, food in Bar Louie was great, but not the service. Would have appreciated a complimentary breakfast, but that was not available.

Returning from a month in Mexico, my biggest priority was a comfy bed with good pillows. Holiday Inn delivered.

We appreciated the free airport shuttle, but had a long wait at the airport for it to arrive. Make sure you're taking the correct Holiday Inn shuttle as there are several.

The hotel is dated, but the rooms are clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
CanadaFlygirl thank you for your keen eye to detail. We at the Holiday Inn focus on friendliness, efficency and, most importantly, being at your service! I want to assure you that we almost completed the refresh of our hotel, so that we can provide the most enjoyable overall experience to all our guests. Thanks again for your kind words and we hope to see you soon!

-Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare

Address: 5615 N Cumberland Avenue, Chicago, IL 60631 (Formerly Clarion Hotel Barcelo - O'Hare Arpt)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Northwest Side , O'Hare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort meets convenience at Chicago O'Hare International Airport hotel. The Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare Airport Hotel (ORD), just minutes from downtown Chicago, offers you quality lodgings near the airport, making us your top choice for comfort and convenience in Chicago. Come and dine 24-hours in our new Bar Louie restaurant and bar. Bring your family to our Chicago O'Hare hotel, located just off I-90 with close proximity to all that Chicago has to offer. Nearby attractions include the Rosemont Theatre, Allstate Arena, Wrigley Field, Millennium Park, Sears Tower and shopping on the Magnificent Mile. Corporate travelers seeking prime Chicago O'Hare accommodations will not be disappointed in this hotel. O'Hare International Airport is just two miles away, and we are close to numerous businesses such as Career Builders, US Cellular, OCE, T-Mobile, the Big Ten Headquarters and the Donald E. Stephens Convention Center. The Blue Line of the subway is within walking distance of our Chicago Airport hotel. In addition, we offer a business center with a fax machine, copier, printer, computer and free high-speed Internet access. While staying at our Chicago O'Hare hotel, you can enjoy amenities including a heated, outdoor pool, a 24-hour fitness center, an ATM machine and Bar Louie, our new 24-hour restaurant and bar, where kids eat breakfast for free. While traveling, you can bring your furry friends to our pet friendly hotel near O'Hare Airport. Book your Chicago hotel reservations now to enjoy our great rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chicago o`Hare Hotel Chicago
Chicago Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.