We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second stay..great stay..will stay again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 South Franklin, Chicago, IL 60606 (Downtown / The Loop)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    293
    64
    18
    13
See reviews for
213
151
74
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

The location of the hotel is very convenient to almost anything downtown. The room was excellent in terms of size, cleanliness and comfort. The free internet was great - good speed and no login required. The breakfast was excellent - plenty of choices. And there is a Starbucks across the street as well as many restaurant choices in the neighborhood. The front dek staff was very friendly. The only problem I had was the room location. Please be aware that if you sleep lightly, like I do, make sure that your room is not on the right side (as you face the hotel entrance), where there is an alley. Trash trucks are in and out of the alley, and they cycle trash bins in the middle of the night. It is extremely loud. Both nights I was there, my sleep was interrupted around 2am and 4am. I realize this was not the hotel's fault. The first night I was there, when one of the trash trucks was cycling a bin around 10:30pm, I called the front desk to ask if this was going to happen during the night, and she said that she had not heard a complaint about this before and didn't know if it would happen during the night. One other minor issue was that the hot water in the shower varied while I was showering - I had to keep adjusting the shower lever so that it would not be too cold or too hot. This was a minor issue.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side (right side of the hotel as you face the hotel entrance) face an alley, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hammond, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

LaQuinta Downtown is our go to place to stay when we are looking for a quick weekend getaway - great location, complimentary breakfast, clean rooms, comfortable beds, and a keurig in your room with Caribou coffee (my favorite!). The staff is welcoming and always looking out to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This hotel has a perfect location and the best price in downtown. if you need to go further, you are just one block from the subway station. It is a pet friendly hotel, no extra charges for your fido. Our dog loved :-)
The 4 stars is because the parking, $50 if you want to park your car in the hotel. I know it is downtown, but it still expensive.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This hotel was extremely clean and the breakfast was amazing! The staff were friendly and helpful with any request I had.

The room was a bit more than I like to pay but I felt it was worth it.

The hotel is in walking distance to many area attractions, including cloud gate, the Miracle Mile and Navy Pier.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown

Address: 1 South Franklin, Chicago, IL 60606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#43 Family Hotel in Chicago
#61 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 241
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, LaQuinta, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Chicago Downtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
La Quinta Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.