We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good news” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 South Franklin, Chicago, IL 60606   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    259
    54
    16
    12
See reviews for
194
137
63
171
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I stayed at La Quinta in Chicago on 03/29/13 and the customer service was AMAZING!! I had my special needs nephew with me, and he asks A LOT of questions. They were so kind to him and answered all his questions at the front desk. I was able to buy VIP tickets at the hotel for Shedd Aquarium, which was very helpful!! The pool is a little small, but my nephew had a great time! Free breakfast was outstanding, lots of options! Next time I am in Chicago I will stay here!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, MI
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed here during St. Patty's weekend. Yes, the decor was modern and it was relatively centrally located. However, we had a horrible experience with the maid service, or lack thereof. Let me start off by saying that when we checked in and went to our room - the room was NOT CLEANED. It was not at all prepared for guests - the bed was unmade, the bathroom towels had been used. We had arrived earlier in the day, and had been told that they were not ready to let us check-in. So when we returned around 10pm to check-in, we expected a prepared room. We went back down to the front desk, and I guess at that hour all they had was the front desk worker and the security guard/valet. We told him about the situation, and while he looked appalled, originally asked us, if all we would need was fresh sheets. When we explained that the entire room was not cleaned, he told us that he would not able to deal with the situation immediately because he was not allowed to leave the front desk until the other shift took over (approx 30 mins). He asked the security guard/valet if he knew how to make a bed, and the guard replied, "I don't step into the rooms." So there we were, at 10pm at night, with no clean room to sleep in, and because they were fully booked, there was no alternative room to place us in. Luckily, we had plans with friends, and told him we would be back in an hour to two, so we didn't have to wait around for our room to be cleaned. But seriously, imagine - a guest having to wait at 10pm for a room to be cleaned?! We come back around 11:30p, the room has been semi-tidied up by the front desk individual, but it's clear that it wasn't given a full cleaning given his lack of experience in housekeeping. While we appreciated his effort, we were essentially given a unprepared room for guests and technically slept in a DIRTY ROOM our first night given the lack of vacuuming and last-minute attempt at preparing the room for a guest.

The next morning we speak with the manager. We told him we wanted the room fully cleaned, as if a new guest was checking in, given the lack of preparation the previous night. He promised us that housekeeping would be straight up, and the head maid even popped into our room to let us know that they were on their way. OK, so we leave the hotel to tour the city. We come back at 4 pm, and what do we find? A DIRTY ROOM. Completely untouched. Despite the promise, the room had once again been left untouched and uncleaned by the maids. We were absolutely appalled. Basically, since checking in since 10 pm the previous night, we had been given a DIRTY ROOM THAT HAD NEVER BEEN CLEANED. We go down to talk to the same front desk worker from the previous night and luckily he was able to switch us to another room.

The following morning, we do down to see the manager to let him know that the room was NEVER CLEANED. He called down the head maid, who had the audacity to tell us that the room had been cleaned. So, I guess at this hotel, the definition of cleaning is an unmade bed, dirty towels, etc. When we told her no, no, trust us, the room was dirty, they told us they would follow-up with the maid service, that we would be given a survey and they would do an "internal investigation." Well, guess what, 2 weeks later - we have never been contacted by management. Basically, the management at this hotel does not follow-up. They tell one thing to guests, but who knows what goes on with the maid service.

So yes, while the decor of the this hotel is nice, I would question the level of cleanliness at this hotel. The fact that we were essentially given a dirty room from 10pm Friday to 4pm Saturday is absolutely unacceptable. And then on top of it all, to be told that they had cleaned the room, when they obviously had not, was just the cherry on top.

Beware - a DIRTY HOTEL and WITH MANAGEMENT THAT DOES NOT FOLLOW-UP.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This hotel is really outstanding and far beyond what I would expect from this brand. Very clean, new furnishings, and convenient. I've stayed here twice for $139 and at that price, it is a super value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

My first trip to Chicago was a great experience. The hotel was in a great location, clean and I felt very safe in the area. The breastfast in the morning was beyond expectations. The pool was a bit small but didn't come to Chicago to swim. Did have to take a taxi to Magnificent Mile and Shedd Aquarium but walked to Willis Tower.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Staff was helpfull and accomodating. Arianne prepped a nice breakfast for us. Even loaded me up on the bacon when I asked! Had to hang out for a couple of hours to wait for our train even after we checked out and the folks made it work.
Will go back!

Room Tip: Use the bus system each day to get to museums. 4 block walk - no problem - considered it my fitness...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I have stayed at this La Quinta on business and when I was looking for a hotel for a short family trip to Chicago decided that this was a great deal for downtown Chicago. It is close to the train so it is easy to get around. Also within walking distance of many attractions, including the French Market! Have young boys the pool is always a plus. And the free breakfast. Definitely recommend this hotel for a downtown stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown

Address: 1 South Franklin, Chicago, IL 60606
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Chicago
#43 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#55 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 241
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, LaQuinta, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
La Quinta Inn And Suites Chicago Downtown
La Quinta Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.