We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Stay, and Good Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 South Franklin, Chicago, IL 60606   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Dallas, TX
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Very Nice Stay, and Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I stayed here for a work event right around the corner. I was surprised that there was a La Quinta in downtown Chicago. It was surprisingly nice in design and cleanliness. The check in was efficient - if somewhat brusque. (There was a long line as our group all descended at once - I think they were just trying to get through it as fast as possible.) The room was spacious, well designed, and very clean. The only negatives were with the in room supplies. 1. There was no conditioner in the room. A coworker of mine called down and asked for some. The desk clerk said that she could come down and get it, but she asked for it to be brought up. The clerk gave her a little attitude and sighed that he'd have security bring it up. 2. In my room, there was only one coffee packet (single serve) and no tea at all. Other than those items, the stay was quite good, and next time I'm in Chicago, I'm quite likely to stay there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    269
    56
    17
    12
See reviews for
202
138
66
175
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

My wife and I recently spent a night here and were pleasantly surprised. The hotel was in a convenient location, it was clean, and the room was bigger than expected. The morning breakfast was not bad either. We would definately stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Grove
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

All I have to say is lawrence and the rest of the staff should be given a raise and promoted at this hotel! Lawrence was an amazing host and went above and beyond for me and my son while we stayed at the hotel! He along with the rest of the staff should be HIGHLY commended for there never ending compansion,passion and "down home" cander! Food was great,room was great and again Lawrence is the man!!!! Tony and Griffin Norton appreciate you Lawrence!!!

Room Tip: See Lawrence....He is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I just completed a 2 night stay at this hotel. I was pleasantly surprised with the room, very spacious with updated furnishings (great TV channels with multiple HBO options). The bed was very comfortable. The work space was great, very large desk against the window overlooking the street. It was large enough that they had 2 chairs set up and multiple desk lamps. The free wi-fi also worked very well. very conveniently located to the El (about a block walk to the loop trains). I was only on the 2nd floor and concerned that there would be street noise but it wasn't even noticeable at night. I didn't have much interaction with the front desk staff but what I did have was pleasant. For the money, a good option in a downtown hotel.

Room Tip: i was on the 2nd floor, street noise was fine at night. unfortunately I had a room right next door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown

Address: 1 South Franklin, Chicago, IL 60606
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Family Hotel in Chicago
#45 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#55 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 241
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, LaQuinta, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
La Quinta Inn And Suites Chicago Downtown
La Quinta Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.