We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to hang your hat for the night!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown

Save Saved
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 South Franklin, Chicago, IL 60606   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 169 Hotels in Chicago
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great place to hang your hat for the night!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Very nice for the price in the downtown area. Towels are fluffy. Rooms are clean and large enough for an overnight stay. Bathroom was clean and everything worked! Great location for my meeting in Sears Tower.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    241
    49
    14
    11
See reviews for
181
129
62
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago Heights, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Comfortable, great value, and such nice staff. Clean and affordable. Directly one block from train to anywhere. Good transportation. No need for car. Great breakfast and indoor pool. Great rooms too.

Staff is great and everything is clean and new and bright.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Went here for a quick trip over the Remembrance Day weekend. Used priceline to purchase since we weren't too picky as we were staying for only 3 nights. The location is great - it was just me and my boyfriend, so we walked everywhere, even to the Field Museum (45 mins along the water) and up and down Mag mile. it's right next to the Loop and there are always a ton of buses in Chicago, so it wouldn't be a bad location for families. However, the hotel can be a bit noisy at night (thinner walls, near the train) which didn't bother us - we live next to the train in an apt in downtown Toronto so we are used to the trade off between great location and noise pollution!

The breakfast buffet was good - had fruit/yogurt and cereal if you wanted to be good, and waffles/ biscuits, sausage and sausage gravy if you wanted to be bad, with things in between.

The staff were all helpful. At breakfast they served us with a smile and were joking with the guests, and the front desk called right away to make sure we got to our room okay, and then helped with dinner choices and jazz bars decisions.

Overall great location, a bit noisy, the rooms were small but not overly cramped, but the staff were helpful and nice. I'd come back here if the price was right.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, MI
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We just spent 3 nights at the Quinta Inn and Suites on Franklin Street, in near downtown Chi-town. We chose it because of its very convenient location to the Chicago Lyric Opera House which we attend yearly. The staff of the hotel is exceptionally friendly, especially Arianna who greeted breakfasters with big smiles and a cheerful banter. The room itself was very clean and if you don't want it serviced, you don't have to have it done. You can request just how much you want, from changing the linens to what ever. We've stayed at cheaper per night hotels, but they were farther from the Lyric and this was a big factor in choosing the Quinta, as well as it's close proximity to State Street, the theatre district and one of our favorite restaurants, The Berghoff.

Room Tip: A court room is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeast Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I arrived at LaQuinta a half hour before check-in and thought I would need to wait to check in and pay more time for the garage I had estashed the car in. But no, the man (manager?) standing in the bright, clean, modern lobby ushered me to the counter where I was quickly and happily checked in and directed to my room. The room was bright and spacious, toiletries were decent but spare.

All was fine until later that night when actual sleeping came into the picture. The double beds in my room were cheap and gave way too much in the middle when I tried both of them. Also, there's some sort of air circulation system that runs a very audible fan 24/7, making it sound like the heating/cooling unit is running. But compared to the H/C unit, it's a treat. When the heater comes on, it makes a repetitive electronic noise until it warms up (and you wake up). Good thing I was tired from walking each day or I wouldn't have slept much at all.

The breakfast room was large, bright and airy. There was a number of different types of food, but for some reason they can't bring themselves to serve eggs on the weekend (though there were biscuits, gravy, waffles). And the usual free breakfast annoyance was present - disposable everything - in addition to a tight 9 a.m. cut-off.

The area was very convenient to the Opera House and Sears/Willis Tower and there is an El stop one block away. However, if you want a sit-down restaurant beyond Chipotle, you'll need to start walking a number of blocks east or take advantage of the El stop.

This was a price/desperation booking for a weekend where hotels were mobbed, so I'm happy that I didn't get something really bad. However, I wouldn't pick this property again if I didn't have to.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed at the La Quinta Inn for a couples weekend and the hotel did not disappoint. The room was much larger than I had anticipated and was very clean! The breakfast spread was not your typical continental breakfast. There was both hot and cold cereal, eggs, bacon, toast sausage etc. The business center was great for my boyfriend, who had to fax something into work while on vacation. And most important, the hotel was set in a prime location. A short walk to the Skydeck and Millennium park and a 5 min. taxi drive to anywhere else! My only complaint is that the gentleman who worked the nighttime duty was not very pleasant. We arrived late on a Thursday evening and he was not very kind while we checked in. I assumed maybe he was tired, but his attitude continued every evening. However, he was surprisingly more pleasant during the early mornings when other staff members were around. Other than that, it was a wonderful trip and I would stay at this hotel again in the future!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

A great, professional staff who CARE about best quality for the value. A recently renovated hotel with excellent sound insulation. Breakfast bar was bright, clean and well presented. It's a bit far from Shedd and Lakefront, but the staff makes up for that shortcoming.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown

Address: 1 South Franklin, Chicago, IL 60606
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Family Hotel in Chicago
#41 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#49 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, LaQuinta, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
La Quinta Inn And Suites Chicago Downtown
La Quinta Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.