We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal of a 17 day vacation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lockwood Restaurant and Bar

Lockwood Restaurant and Bar
17 E. Monroe Street, Chicago, IL 60603
+1 312-917-3404
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Lockwood Restaurant and Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,179 of 8,392 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Between State & Wabash
Transit: Lockwood Restaurant and Bar is located steps from the Monroe (Red Line) stop, as well as the Green, Orange, Brown and Purple stop on Wabash - Adams stop.
Description: Executive Chef Mathew Wiltzius's menu focuses on seasonality where guests can enjoy upscale, fine-dining that is refined, innovative and exciting but still approachable and affordable. Matched with an equally impressive wine program, Lockwood is an idyllic downtown dining destination for both business and pleasure, open for afternoon tea, breakfast, lunch and dinner service. The Bar at Lockwood is perfect for those looking to catch a pre or post theater cocktail while nestled under the glow of the historic Palmer House lobby. In addition to the main dining space, Lockwood offers stunning private dining rooms, each serves as a preeminent space for private events and receptions throughout the year.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Best meal of a 17 day vacation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Superb service and food! Had the artisan cheese plate and brownie with chocolate Mousse and ice cream which was heavenly. My husband had a lobster roll and mango passion fruit cake and the Brazilian cocktail. We were very pleased with this meal. Thank you.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    52
    31
    8
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic History with Classy Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Located in the Palmer this is a fun place to visit. Just a short walk from many of the major Chicago Attractions. The ambiance is of an upscale older Chicago. If you're looking for great service in a historical building, definitely stop here for a drink or a meal. Food was over the top good. And the service staff was very attentive. Michael Cieslowski, the Manager, was awesome, even took a second out of his busy day to tell us the history of Mr. Palmer, his wife, and the lesser know history of why the building exist.
A great experience.

Special Thanks to Michael and his staff!

Sincerely,

Todd Metzger
Front Office Director
Domain Hotel * A Joie De Vivre Hotel
1085 E El Camino Real, Sunnyvale CA
Tel: 408-247-0800
Fax: 408-984-7120

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dakota, Illinois
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Breakfast buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Excellent choices on their breakfast buffet - we got it included with our room for a discounted price. The selections were fine, nothing too out of the ordinary, and the hotel coffee is excellent. We had eaten there a couple months before on another Chicago visit, and ate dinner. We had just planned on a light supper in the lobby (to eat bar food) but it was too crowded, so we went into the restaurant. They seated us quickly and got our food right out. The meals were tasty but portions were quite small.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachwood, Ohio, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Lockwood at Palmer House has excellent cuisine and friendly wait staff. We all had something different and we all enjoyed our choice.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Exceptional!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I've been to Lockwood with my family a few times, and we've always enjoyed it. But never as much as last weekend. The Lockwood staff made my daughter's 13th birthday extra-super-special. Wonderful service, a wonderful meal (try the lamb) and special attention for a special occasion. Lockwood is now in our top three! We'll definitely be back soon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lockwood Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 

Been to Lockwood Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lockwood Restaurant and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.