We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time better than the first” 5 of 5 stars
Review of theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton to your Saves list
theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 N. State Street, Chicago, IL 60601 (Downtown / The Loop)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Intimate Escape Special
Ranked #41 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Plymouth, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Second time better than the first”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2009

After visiting for a second time, this time for multiple days/nights, I have to say this is my favorite hotel in Chicago. Upon arrival, I was offered an upgrade to a Lakeview Spa suite. Well worth the money.

Inside the door is foyer/kitchenette. On your right is a wall of cabinets with a sink, refrigerator and microwave. Wolfgang Puck coffee for the coffee maker. To the left are two large closets, one walk in and one appointed with an organization system.

The living/dining room is ahead and features the sofa sleeper, chair, coffee table and dining room table for four. The couch is comfortable, especially for being a fold-out sleeper. TV is huge- 46" I think, with true HD.

The bedroom combo desk and entertainment center has a separate stocked refrigerator in the minibar. The bed is comfortable & is perfectly aligned with the 46" HD TV.

Bathroom is incredible- shower with hand-held sprayer and large soaking tub. If you're careful not to splash, sink is functional enough. Lights are on a dimmer which is a great touch if you want a romantic soak in the tub!

I enjoyed an incredible massage in the spa. Spa was clean, well staffed & well appointed. They had a weekday, 50 minute massage special for $60 which runs through end of the year. Never had such a good, reasonably priced massage!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    858
    397
    138
    45
    34
See reviews for
231
490
90
444
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, CT
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2009

First time at theWit. Traveled with a group of 3 couples from Hartford--efficient check in, friendly staff, clean and quiet rooms, everything is new and fresh, great breakfast, and best of all a very reasonable price for a big city hotel. Would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somers, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2009

Stayed at the Wit with my wife during a business trip. We loved the hip decor and "happenin'" atmosphere. The lounge on the roof is very cool, transitions into an open air environment with torches for heat and light. A great place to chill and people watch.
The restaurant serves a really nice traditional breakfast and has a great "chill" atmosphere. I would recommend this place to anyone traveling to Chicago who want to "live it up".

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2009

TheWit is trying to be a trendy, hip hotel, but has forgotten the basics that guests are looking for--comfort & service. The rooms are uncomfortable--small, odd furniture, the bathroom sink is strangely shaped and so tiny that it fails to drain water. The bathroom door slides open, which was annoying and leaves for very little privacy. The service is spotty. We had requested items from housekeeping and had to call multiple times. In the interim, we received a rubix cube and jelly apple--fun touches, but would much rather have received the towels that were needed.

I can't imagine staying at this hotel on a business trip. The internet is not free and overall the hotel room is hard to function in, given the size and odd design of the bathroom. The hotel gym and rooftop bar were top notch, but not a reason to stay at the hotel or recommend it. Go elsewhere for a more polished and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2009

I stayed at the Wit at the recommendation of a friend, who told me that the hotel was new, the rooms were clean and the roof top bar was a great nighttime spot. While I agree with that description, there are a few critical items those considering the Wit should know. First, the rooms are TINY. Two of us could not move around at the same time comfortably. The bathroom is small and NOT functional. The sink is "modern" and absolutely ridiculous. Also, there was a charge for use of the Internet in the room, even for Platinum Hilton Honors members. Second, as a first time visitor to Chicago, I found the hotel to be in an undesirable location. Yes, it is near the El, but Chicago is not that big and is quite walkable (on a warm day). I would have much preferred to be on the other side of the river, closer to Lake Michigan and the Gold Coast shopping. Taxis are not expensive, so if you wish to visit sights in the Loop area, my recommendation is to stay elsewhere and make the quick trip over. The only plus of being near the El was being able to easily travel to Wicker Park, which was a great place to walk around and spend a day. But a taxi from Michigan Avenue to the center of Wicker Park cost less than $10. Finally, while the rooftop was fun and a nice place to get a drink, it is not reason to stay in the hotel. A hotel key grants you immediate access to the roof, but it did not appear that non-guests had to wait (and this was Friday night). Because we were there on points (this is a Hilton), we ended up checking out and walking across the river to the Conrad (also a Hilton) for a GREAT stay. Next time I visit Chicago, I plan to skip the Wit.
One positive note, the gym was clean, new and nice with TVs on each cardio machine and plenty of ellipticals, bikes and treadmills.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2009

Stayed at The Wit for 4 nights at the end of October with a friend. We had a room with 2 queen beds and a massive tv! Room was spacious and really clean, maids did a good job each day and not forgetting the beds which are soooo comfortable!

Hotel is a great location, can walk everywhere including to Navy Pier, Art Institute, Willis Tower and The John Hancock Centre (or as we were told in the lift as we came down, we could now call it 'The John' which slightly amused us 2 English people!).

The Hotel is right by the El but this didn't disturb us and we used it to get to the Aquarium.

Staff at the Hotel are very friendly and helpful, recommended places to eat, helped with our onward travel, no question was too small for them. Special mention to the door staff who welcomed you back each day as if you had always been there. And the cookies are good too!

I can't fault anything about this hotel and we had an amazing stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2009

I had heard amazing things about the spa at the Wit, so I decided to try it for myself. I loved it! The atmosphere was serene and the locker room was private (had it all to myself) and provided everything I needed and wanted. Even when I was waiting for my massage to begin, I had the most amazing tea. The Tranquil massage was such a treat, especially since I'm a dancer, so I need to keep my muscles healthy. Overall, I would definitely come back again. A pleasure!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton

Address: 201 N. State Street, Chicago, IL 60601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#27 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#28 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#28 Business Hotel in Chicago
#48 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
theWit is intelligently renewing one of the original "It" locations on the corner of State (the great) Street and Lake. Its history is rich with artists, theatre people, journalists and musicians as it is nestled between the theatre district and the river. Blending the amenities of a resort with the flair of a boutique hotel, theWit has brought a new energy and vitality to the downtown Chicago Loop. Striking design, unparalleled comfort, and remarkable services create a dramatic sensory experience. This is a destination for anyone who gets "It" or at least wants to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, EasyToBook, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thewit Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.