We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton to your Saves list
theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 N. State Street, Chicago, IL 60601 (Downtown / The Loop)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Intimate Escape Special
Ranked #40 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Marseilles, United States
1 review
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Everyone very helpful Great room , great location,.. I could not have hoped for a nicer place to stay. it was within walking distance from every place I needed to be. I would stay there again if there is another reason to go to Chicago.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Ronald P, Thank you for taking the time to review theWit Hotel Chicago. We are delighted that you enjoyed our great location, guest rooms, and helpful staff. We are lucky to have them. We hope to see you soon at theWit!-Kind Regards, theWit Guest Relations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    858
    396
    138
    45
    34
See reviews for
231
489
90
444
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

I have stayed three times at the Wit in downtown Chicago. The hotel is beautiful and wonderfully situated within walking distance of many restaurants, shopping and business. I will stay there again the next time I am in Chicago.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Christine T, theWit Hotel Chicago would like to thank you for your wonderful review. We are thrilled that you were able to enjoy our convenient location in the Chicago Loop. We look forward to welcoming you back soon to theWit! Best Regards, theWit Guest Relations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Excellent last minute choice. My hotel stay exceeded my expectations. I was greeted by an extremely courteous valet driver and it only got better when I arrived at the main desk to check-in. I had a corner view room with an amazing view and my room was high enough, so I did not hear any loud street noises. I may return, but I will definitely need to book in advance as my rate was more than I would usually pay to stay at a hotel in Chicago. As a Hilton Diamond member, I felt like the benefits were minimal, but the hotel was still very nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear MissToraT, T. We are humbled by your kind words and thank you for taking the time to review theWit Hotel Chicago. Our staff takes every opportunity to personalize theWit experience, especially those of our loyal Diamond members. We are glad that you were able to thoroughly enjoy your time with us and especially our great views from our guest rooms. We cannot wait to welcome you back soon to theWit!-Warm Regards, theWit Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

This property is in a prime location to either walk, catch a taxi or the train. The rooms, however, are only okay. The decor is modern and nice, but rooms are relatively small. This if fine for a single or couple's stay - not ideal for a family. We had the pleasure of receiving an upgrade for one of my nights due to Diamond status and availability. We moved to a corner room with a better view of the water and a separate shower and garden tub. The tub is huge and marvelous for relaxing; however, the actual room got smaller to accomodate the larger bathroom. While we enjoyed those amenities, I can't say I'd be willing to pay for such an "upgrade". The breakfast coupon was nice and the food was yummy; however, I mistakenly got charged for the full meal on my hotel bill. It was simple enough getting the charge reversed, but I did not note any extraordinary service. It was my boyfriend's birthday and I called concierge a few times to get assistance with getting a cake. I think of a concierge service as a "whatever you need, we'll find a way to get it" type of service. This was not the case. Each call I made was met with confusion or disinterest.

Overall, the facilities are modern and food is good. Service and wow-factor is only average. Still, I'd stay again for the convenience of the location and a clean place to lay my head.

Room Tip: Corner rooms offer better views and a luxurious bathtub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Jennifer B, theWit would like to thank you for taking the time to provide this review. We are disappointed to learn your stay was not up to your complete satisfaction despite our great location . As noted, our suites do have varied lay-outs and we try to accommodate guests with all preferences. We are sorry if you were not able to thoroughly enjoy your upgraded suite. As mentioned, our Concierge staff does take the “Whatever it takes” approach in order to accommodate each guest experience. We are sorry if your experience with our staff was less than desirable and we know that should you return, your next stay with us will be extraordinary. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back soon theWit.- Sincerely, theWit Guest Relations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stickney, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We had a great stay at the Witt. We were down town Chicago for a show. We booked our room online and hoped we choose a good place. We were so impressed we choose the upgrade option for 5.00 more and were surprised at check in that we were upgraded to a wonderful room. Everyone was very friendly from our check in with Danielle through out our stay. We enjoyed our stay so much we are planning another weekend stay! Couldn't have chosen a better hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Elizabeth A, We are thrilled to read your great review and thank you for providing this wonderful feedback. We are all proud of Danielle and her great service! We are glad that you were able to upgrade to one of our great suite options with our fantastic views. Once again, we thank you for choosing theWit and look forward to welcoming you back soon.- Warm Regards, theWit Guest Relations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
740 reviews 740 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
321 helpful votes 321 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

I like the Wit but for a Diamond member, there are others that are better. State & Lake used to be a huge benefit when you could basically order anything as part of the free breakfast. The food at any time of the day there is great but as cost cutting starts, so do the benefits for loyal visitors. Also, for as many times as I have stayed at this hotel, I have only been upgraded one time (and I have stayed there a dozen times or more). I understand that the hotel will only upgrade if availble but I think they are very stingy there and really don't try to go above and beyond.

The benefits are certainly the location, posh look and rooftop bar/restaurant, especially for couples & friends. I don't think this is a great hotel for families with small children. I would stay at the Conrad, Palmer House or another Hilton in a different location and not as loud and busy as this one.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Shelliu, Thank you for taking the time to review theWit hotel Chicago. We are disappointed to learn that your stay with us was less than extraordinary. We never take any guest patronage for granted and especially that of our most loyal Diamond Guests. Currently at theWit, Diamond Guests receive many great benefits including: Complimentary High speed Internet, two bottles of Evian water, a tasty local amenity from one of our Chicago merchants, Complimentary continental breakfast for up to two guests per room in our first floor restaurant, State and Lake Chicago Tavern OR $15.50 credit value per person towards another breakfast menu item, tax and gratuity not included, 1000 bonus points per stay, Guaranteed room with a reservation made at least 48/hours prior to arrival (some restrictions apply), Complimentary late check out up to 2:00pm, based upon availability, and a Complimentary upgrade, based upon availability. While certain benefits are based on availability we do always try to provide our Diamond members with first priority. We do try to accommodate all our guests including business travelers and family/leisure travelers alike. We do thank you for choosing theWit and we know, should you return, your next stay will be remarkable. –Best Regards, theWit Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Spent one night at TheWit last week for business. The staff was very friendly and welcoming. The hotel itself is not your average DoubleTree - it is funky and cool. I loved the colors and decor. My room was very spacious and clean, and I had a great view of Marina City. If I had to give one criticism, it would be that they charge for wifi. I don't understand why this isn't just built into every hotel rate at this point...

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Dawn F, We would like to thank you for your great review of the theWit Hotel Chicago. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay and the great views from our guest rooms. We do offer complimentary Internet on our first and second floors. Due to customer demand, we have installed exceptional Internet bandwidth so that all 310 guest rooms could be streaming a movie simultaneously and no one would get bounced. You will not find this level of bandwidth at any other option in the city. This premium connectivity, however, does come at a high cost and we must pass a very small part of that along to our guests. We are sorry for the inconvenience. Once again, we thank you for choosing theWit and highly look forward to welcoming you back. Best Regards, theWit Guest Relations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton

Address: 201 N. State Street, Chicago, IL 60601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#27 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#27 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#28 Business Hotel in Chicago
#48 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
theWit is intelligently renewing one of the original "It" locations on the corner of State (the great) Street and Lake. Its history is rich with artists, theatre people, journalists and musicians as it is nestled between the theatre district and the river. Blending the amenities of a resort with the flair of a boutique hotel, theWit has brought a new energy and vitality to the downtown Chicago Loop. Striking design, unparalleled comfort, and remarkable services create a dramatic sensory experience. This is a destination for anyone who gets "It" or at least wants to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, EasyToBook, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, getaroom.com and Hilton Hotels so you can book your theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thewit Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.